We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect inn outside Moab”
Review of Castle Valley Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moab
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castle Valley Inn
Ranked #4 of 15 Moab B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Near Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect inn outside Moab”
Reviewed 19 November 2007

We spent four nights at Castle Valley Inn in September, in the Hovenweep Bungalow. It was nice being outside the town but close enough to enjoy the restaurants and other offerings of Moab. Jim & Mary were perfect hosts. Great breakfasts and conversation with other guests each morning. Jim filled us in on petroglyph locations and tips on some hikes outside the parks. We enjoyed each evening sitting on our deck; it was the first time that we'd seen the Milky Way in the sky in many years! All in all a great place to stay.

  • Liked — Pretty much everything
  • Disliked — Minor complaint - a pump(?) under the room that came on at night needs sound insulation
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Buck999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    56
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
80
284
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Placerville, CA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2007

The Castle Valley Inn was exceptional in every aspect. I have now stayed there on 3 seperate occasions and each time was equally amazing. To be surrounded by such beauty of the red cliffs, changing leaves, and amazing skies was more than I could have asked for. I spent a lot of time swinging on a hammock watching the deer walk by. The Innkeepers made me feel like I was staying at home complete with a delicious breakfast to start off the day. I especially enjoyed the fact it was outside of the hustle and bustle of Moab, but close enough to everything I needed. We look forward to our next chance to visit the Castle Valley Inn.

  • Liked — Beautiful setting
  • Disliked — I wish I sould have stayed longer!
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank love_the_snow18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2007

We stayed at the Castle Valley to act as a base for Arches and Canyon Lands NP's. We were tempted to spend our entire 3 night stay at the B&B, beautiful setting against the Red Rocks with an immaculately presented suite. Out hosts were charming and the breakfasts superb ! We hope to return one day.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — having to leave
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Llanfrynach-on-Tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendersonville, TN
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2007

We were led to Castle Valley Inn due to the Half-Marathon and a horse
show filling up all the Moab motels. This turned out to be a blessing
in disquise. Originally intending to stay only 4 nights, we ended up staying Mar. 15-19, then returning Mar.31-Apr 1 at the end of our trip. The hosts, Jim & Mary Germain, are truly a wonderful couple! They are so genuinely friendly and helpful you feel like they are your mom & dad. They go out of their way to make your stay as enjoyable as it can possibly be. Other reviewer have commented on the quietness, animal life, views, etc, to which we can wholeheartedly attest, but no one has yet sufficiently described these wonderful people. Mary's breakfasts are delicious, and they stick with you right up to suppertime. We had the Wingate Room, spacious, and with everything we needed....comfort, quietness, and an atmosphere of complete peacefulness. I originally thought the distance from Moab would be an inconvenience, but found we welcomed the scenic drive back up UT 128 each evening. And since our activities were always in Arches, Canyonlands, or the backroads beyond Moab, we found it easy to eat supper there at our leisure. After our initial stay at Castle Valley, we traveled all over southern Utah, hiking, driving off-highway roads, etc., and put in some very, very full days. That is why we chose to come back to Castle Valley for our last 2 nights....to be with Jim & Mary, and just be able to really relax before our flight back to Nashville. If the price of the room was based on the quality and friendliness of the hosts, then our room would have been priceless! We will never forget the Germain's, nor their hospitality. Jim, thanks so much for loaning us the cooler while we ran all over Utah!

  • Liked — The hosts; The quietness.
  • Disliked — Absolutely nothing.
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rennoc91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2006

We just came back from 10 days touring the national parks in Utah. Castle Valley was one of the best inns we've ever stayed at. The new owners are terrific. It is wonderfully peaceful, fantastic food, great hot tub where you can watch the stars forever and a cherry orchard (my favorite fruit) where the cherries were ripe for picking. The view of the sun hitting the red cliffs in the morning was spectacular. The town of Moab, with some great restaurants (Bucks) is about 20 minutes away, as is the entrance to Arches National Park.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank soccersenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moab hotels
3.8 km away
Red Cliffs Lodge
Red Cliffs Lodge
#1 of 35 in Moab
2,861 reviews
14.7 km away
The Gonzo Inn
The Gonzo Inn
#5 of 35 in Moab
731 reviews
14.5 km away
Best Western Plus Canyonlands Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 km away
Moab Valley Inn
Moab Valley Inn
#13 of 35 in Moab
817 reviews
14.6 km away
Aarchway Inn
Aarchway Inn
#9 of 35 in Moab
1,341 reviews
24.1 km away
Under Canvas Moab
Under Canvas Moab
#3 of 35 in Moab
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Valley Inn

Property: Castle Valley Inn
Address: 424 Amber Lane, Moab, UT 84532
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Moab
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,100 - ₹ 14,127
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Valley Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Castle Valley Hotel Moab
Castle Valley Inn Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing