We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good Food and a Cozy Atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Anvil Restaurant

The Anvil Restaurant
Price range: US$ 6 - US$ 25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Casual dining in a rustic atmosphere. Established in 1985, local produce featured in season. OPEN Wednesday - Sunday 11am to 9pm, bar and slots open later. Will open for private parties of 40 or more on Monday or Tuesday. Private rooms available for groups small to 100 inside. Tented patio for special outdoor events up to 150
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Food and a Cozy Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

My husband and I ate here on February 17th. I had the surf and turf and he had the Steak Oscar. My surf and turf was good and his Steak Oscar was Excellent! Our waitress was attentive and friendly. Overall a pleasant dining experience.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scgil627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    106
    60
    33
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Frederick
Level Contributor
712 reviews
268 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 389 helpful votes
“One Word, "Mediocre"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

We ate lunch here once and it was indeed mediocre at best. We ordered crab cakes after having them recommended by the server and they were "Meh." As others have written, too much breading in the recipe. We've sampled regional crab cakes literally from coast to coast and an east coast restaurant which is boasting about their crab cake dishes should be able to deliver.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelkitty50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shepherd, Texas
1 review
“Great fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

My wife and I were passing through while on a road trip, and decided to try out the anvil because of its "rustic" appearance. It was a late afternoon on a Thursday, and the restaurant was quiet. We were pleasantly greeted by a waitress, and after we were seated and ordered our drinks, she offered us information on the daily specials, and asked us if we had any questions. We asked her some questions about the entrees, and she answered them well. We ordered a crab dip appetizer, when it arrived, my wife and I were surprised at its size. it was hot, bubbly and delicious, and very filling, but as we had both ordered a steak special, we figured we would soldier on.
Our salads came out and we had both ordered the house vinaigrette, and it was very tasty and nicely tangy.
Our steaks were delicious, and they were cooked exactly as we had ordered them.
Unfortunately, by this point we were stuffed and did not leave any room for desert.
We have both determined that if we travel through here again, we will make sure to stop in again.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles Town, West Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Sad to say - Gone downhill”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

Having been a longtime customer of the Anvil, I am sad to report that it has gone way down hill as a dining experience. We went on a Saturday night and the first thing I noticed is that it was pretty empty in the dining room. The service was terrible, the waitress forgot to bring out our salads, then kept our dinners under the warmer while we ate our salads. The crab cakes, which is their "signature dish", and which we've always enjoyed, were 90% bread!!! I have always recommended the Anvil to friends and family, but as of today, that will stop. It's a shame.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germantown, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good enough”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

We had lunch there recently. There was nothing special about the place. But I couldn't complain about anything either. If you happened to be in Harpers Ferry & needed a place for a quick meal, this would be one place to go.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank StanOre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Anvil Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Anvil Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing