We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Charming atmosphere and hearty sized north woods breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Egg Toss Bakery Cafe

The Egg Toss Bakery Cafe
Ranked #1 of 16 Restaurants in Bayfield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Portland, Maine
2 reviews
“Charming atmosphere and hearty sized north woods breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

Our family has frequented Bayfield for many years and always find a way to enjoy the many fine food offerings to this Northern Wisconsin gem of a town. The Egg Toss is bright, cheerful and charming. The breakfast selections are plentiful with tastes for all eaters, including our picky 5 yr old! My last bfast there, I enjoyed an omelet with perfectly cooked bacon slices and tried their seeded bread toast- it was amazing with the jam, which I'm guessing was homemade. YUM!!! Be sure to hit this place, and if there is a wait, it's worth it!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 15frogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    136
    26
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Decent breakfast spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2011

Our day to the Bayfield area was packed so knowing we didn't have time for lunch, we wanted a big breakfast. Breakfast is of course, the Egg Toss specialty. The atmosphere and interior is sunny and bright. The food is a bit overpriced. It filled us up, which was the goal. I had the Fisherman's platter with eggs, bacon, hasbrowns and sausage. My husband had the southern style biscuits and gravy. Portions were good, but food was average. Our server was good. For where we were and what it was, it was fine, but don't go out of your way to go here.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank packhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Basic breakfast food in a small town.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

Reading reviews is always a little dangerous ahead of time because you go in with others' expectations in your head. But I do have to say I agree with someone who commented on the lack luster service and the continued mystery of the 'do-nothing' waitress.
My waitress seemed annoyed my presence interrupted her morning of not wanting to be at work and took her much longer than it should have to take my order. She didn't smile once. Not at me. Not at other customers. Not to her co-workers. If you're not a morning person - don't serve breakfast.
I will say that she adjusted my original order to save me some money when I said there was something on the platter I didn't want, so that an unexpected plus.
Once my order was finally taken, the food was delivered quickly and hot. The food (pancakes and eggs) were pretty standard. Not that you can make scrambled egg whites alone be amazing, so that's on me - not them.
All in all, basic breakfast food so you can't go wrong there, just don't expect service with a smile. More like you just woke up your mom about 2 hours before she wanted to get up and you're asking her to make you breakfast.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kw322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Don't miss the Crabby Benny!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2011

WOW - what a tasty little surprise - eggs benedict, but with a crab cake between the egg and the english muffin! A 1/2 order is enough for one person, but the full order is good for sharing. Service was great and everyone was friendly. A must stop for breakfast!

  • Visited May 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SRJMod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marquette
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best spinach omelet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2010

Wonderful weekend with family and friends. Ate at The Egg Toss twice and had an excellent breakfast both times. The spinach omelet was wonderful, the best I've ever had. Their omelets were light and fluffy. Also tried the granola pancakes- awesome! Our waitress was very friendly and was working very hard. I love the atmosphere. Very sunny and bright. Can't wait to go back next year!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Yooper54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Egg Toss Bakery Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Egg Toss Bakery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing