We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and view, above average restaurant”
Review of Epic Steak

Epic Steak
Reserve with OpenTable
Epic Steak is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #60 of 5,695 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 25 - US$ 100
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: SoMa
Cross street: Harrison and Folsom
Transit: If traveling by MUNI you may take the N-Judah, T-Third, or J-Church lines to the Folsom Station.
Saratoga Springs, NY
Level Contributor
150 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great location and view, above average restaurant”
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Met some friends here for dinner. Had the ny strip because it had coffee grounds in the rub which I wanted to try. Steak was pretty good but a little odd IMO. Also shared steak fries, brussel spouts and mushrooms. Steak fries were more like potato skins than fries. Brussel sprouts were very good. Had clam chowder as an app and it was served in a unique way and was outstanding.

It's in a great location w excellent views. Service was ridiculously attentive - very good.

Overall it was a very nice meal. Would go back and try a different steak. Not cheap.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank saratogamike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

731 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    356
    248
    76
    31
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
122 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Beautiful atmosphere, delicious food”
Reviewed 3 June 2012

My husband had a steak and I had the seafood. Both were excellent. The service was wonderful and the view of the bay was superb.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank kminichan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food, fantastic view”
Reviewed 26 May 2012

My husband wanted to go here for a special occasion. I was skeptical--I thought it would be a toursity place with a nice view, but bad food. Well, food was very good. Good enough that I asked to go back when it was my turn to pick for Mother's Day. Service is good, food is good, view is fantastic.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kgmama2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
157 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Killer pizza and happy hour”
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Just wanted to make this short, but we went in for happy hour yesterday and were blown away by the mushroom pizza! Great bar snacks and a good selection of cocktails for amazing happy hour prices. Do not miss that pizza or those risotto balls!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SirNose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Steaks - My Solo Dining Review”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

I've been here twice and was very impressed both times with the quality of the steaks (the view of the San Francisco Bay and San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge is great too). The side dishes were good too.

The restaurant is right on the water's edge, almost directly underneath the bridge.

I was here by myself on business and so was eating alone (again). I skipped the reservations and ate in the bar upstairs (no reservations required). There is a large rectangular table up there where I sat both times--seats about 8 or 10 people IIRC, perfect for solo dining. There are also a few smaller tables if that is your thing.

I brought some work to do and had a little bit of room to spread out. Noise level was acceptable and there are no blaring tv’s—the only thing that really breaks my concentration when reading.

Staff was competent and friendly.

The restaurant is walking distance from the Embarcadero BART station and the Hyatt Regency Embarcadero Center. I believe there is a happy hour--check the restaurant website.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RedDirtShirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Epic Steak also viewed

 

Been to Epic Steak? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing