We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Met our high expectations” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sotto Mare Oysteria & Seafood

Sotto Mare Oysteria & Seafood
Ranked #14 of 5,617 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 20 - US$ 25
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Met our high expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

After reading TA and other reviews we were really looking forward to a visit here. Our initial greeting was a bit ordinary but things quickly improved and we settled in for some wonderful food. The clam chowder was magnificent, the sand dab delightfully delicate - everyone agreed the food was great. The service was good too and although the second order of wine didn't arrive for a long time the waitress recovered well by not charging for it - a nice gesture that ensured that our overall very positive thoughts were only reinforced. If you get a chance go here - I think you'll like it

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AfterDark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,855 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,301
    408
    92
    25
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Laurel Springs, New Jersey
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wow, it lived up to its reviews!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012 via mobile

Small and personal, ultra casual, outstanding seafood! Had the Boston Clam chowder and Linguini and clams, both were excellent and I DON'T like clams! Highly recommend this place. I can see how you may have to wait a while on weekends and busy season.

Helpful?
Thank microx10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anguilla
Level Contributor
166 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“A True San Franciscan Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Wow, wow, wow. I saw the reviews for Sotto Mare and couldn't help but be enticed. Pretty stellar. When I've walked past it though, the outside didn't exactly call to me; it's very old-school, kind of dive-y looking from afar. Don't let the outside fool you though, this place is a serious gem (like everyone else has clearly discovered already). It has a Swan Oyster Depot-esque divey-ness about it; very old school San Francisco. My boyfriend and I popped in, intrigued by the menu and the ratings, and were seating at the bar where we were helped by friendly staff.

We started with oysters shooters and a half dozen oysters before moving onto the main course. There are a number of dishes that look incredible (the seafood risotto was really calling my name), but we ended up ordering the cioppino to split. GREAT CALL on the boyfriend's part. When they say this is the best cioppino in town, they're not kidding. It's a huge bowl (definitely enough for two) and it's packed with deliciousness. Slap on the bib for good measure because it can get a bit messy! Like another reviewer said, this isn't the place to come if you're looking for an intimate Italian dinner for two but if you're looking for great food in a fun environment, this is hard to beat!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank lavidashannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Seafood Only!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

If the owner is there when you arrive, that is what you will hear! No beef, no chicken, no dessert, seafood only! The menu is wonderful, the specials are a sure bet, it is wonderfully affordable. Features outdoor seating. One of our favorites.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank jdecarlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
97 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Average food, great portions, spotty service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Went here with friends, early since we heard it could get quite busy. The place was almost empty, and there were many servers hanging around the front, but it took almost 15 to 20 minutes before anyone even spoke to us. The oysters were fresh, east coast better than west, but weren't shelled properly because there were bits of shell in every bite. We were never given napkins or water, the scallops were good in a garlic oil sauce, and the portions generous, the salads quite nice, and a special fish of the day was cooked well. The prices are reasonable, the place needs a little cleaning/updating. I would normally give this restaurant an average rating, except for the spotty service. They say they don't take reservations, but do for parties of 3 or more. Otherwise you just need to wait in line for a table. I feel that this could essentially be quite a fun place, but the particular night we were there, just lacked cordiality.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank savvytraveler101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sotto Mare Oysteria & Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Sotto Mare Oysteria & Seafood? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing