We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful old San Francisco bakery ( quirks included)”
Review of Liguria Bakery

Liguria Bakery
Ranked #17 of 117 Bakeries in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Neighbourhood: North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Danville, Ca
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful old San Francisco bakery ( quirks included)”
Reviewed 9 June 2012

This fine bakery across from Mama's Cafe and kitty corner with Washington Square has been at this site in the heart of North Beach for almost 100 years. They make one product, a delicious and renowned focaccia which they sell at a very fair price. They bake a few varieties. My favorites are " pizza" and raisin. They accept cash only. Don't even think about using your credit card. They usually sell out before their closing time and, of course, go home early. Their posted hours, like the stop signs in Rome, are only suggestions. The ladies serving the counter have a long and refined tradition of grumpiness. My adult daughter, who is a loyal customer, can actually get them to smile and be pleasant. However, I haven't the faintest idea how she does it. It's a great place and a true San Francisco tradition.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    25
    7
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Folsom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Must stop here!”
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We try to stop here and buy Focaccia every time we are in the city. It is the best Focaccia that I have ever had. I'm starting to salivate just thinking about it! The focaccia nazis that serve you are curt but seem friendly to their regular customers. We usually order the rosemary and garlic focaccia, have them cut it in strips and nosh on it all day. Yum! Be sure to get here early because they close the doors when they sell out,

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tpolisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“yummy snack on the plane, and next morning”
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Picked up 2 foccacia's before leaving the city. They traveled well and held up for about 36 hours before the last crumb was inhaled. yum.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank travelskk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“The Focaccia is so good here .”
Reviewed 27 May 2012 via mobile

This place is a simple bakery that does focaccias with different toppings. You must get them fresh. They only take cash and probably you will have to make line to get yours but they are sooo worth it. Raisin one for breakfast is great. You can ask to cut them in strips to go.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vinotico1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keller, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
324 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Excellent Foccacias”
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Across from Moma's so if you have breakfast there head across the street for some great foccacias. During our stay in SFO we visited 3 times. The first time to try is (green onion foccacias). After we tried it we knew we had to go back. The next day we were in the area and by 11:30 they were on their last piece which we grabbed. On our final day we went early and tried the rosemary, black olive and jalapeno versions. Actually packed them up and flew them home and the traveled pretty well.

Well worth the effort to get there early.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Deac83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Liguria Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Liguria Bakery? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing