We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Box o' Cheese, Please!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Molinari Delicatessen

Molinari Delicatessen
Ranked #3 of 5,611 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 1 - US$ 20
Cuisines: Italian, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Chinatown
Davis, CA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Box o' Cheese, Please!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

LOOOVE this place. You can't beat the fresh pasta and the freshest mozzarella, anywhere!! Get your number and stand in line. Just be ready when they call it, or they will move on without you. Greatest selection of italian meats and bread, with plenty of olive oils and wine to go with. Pack your basket and head out to the park or the water. I can't seem to make it past the few tables outside. Ciao!!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank AnnaferDavis_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

566 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    422
    117
    22
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Go just for the smell!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

I love the smell and sensory overload of traditional delicatessans and this one ticked all of the boxes. I would have bought out most of the store if it wasn't for luggage restrictions. Loved the salami and the service.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Will always return when in SF!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

Visited Molinari and was quickly reminded of our trip to Italy. Found some things there I had not been able to find since returning. They were very friendly, helpful, and make an incredible sandwich! It is located close to a lot of the tourist driven restaurants in Little Italy but a true local flavor and good prices. On any trip back to San Francisco I will never fail to make a stop to stock up and grab a great bite to eat.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Italianflowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montezuma, ks
Level Contributor
219 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Is this heaven?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

What can I say? It was everything you expect in a deli and so much more. No words can adequately describe this place. Get a sandwich, get some sides, and don't forget to get a salami.
I bought two of the two pound Molinari famous salamis and put them in my checked bags on the flight home. When I got home, there were two (2)! TSA tags in my bag telling me my bags had been inspected twice! I can just imagine the TSA drug dogs trying to attack my bags to get at the salami's. Thank God they didn't. Molinari's is the rarest of gems.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MontezumaSocialClub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big Bear Lake, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Real North Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

A must see in North Beach--grab some grub in an Italian market. Hard salami, sausages, ravioli and other pasta fresca; prosciutto, mortadella, coppa, fresh mozzarella, classic antipasti. Great selection of Italian wines and mineral water. Pick a roll and they'll make a sandwich for you. (Columbus near Vallejo)

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Desiree P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Molinari Delicatessen also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Molinari Delicatessen? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing