We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected more”
Review of The Good Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Good Hotel
Ranked #189 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
madison
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Expected more”
Reviewed 29 July 2012

The Good Hotel was not all that I expected it to be. The area/location was less then expected. The hotel is located in a rough part of town. It is away from anything, even if you could walk to places. I wouldn't recommend it. The rooms were clean, eco friendly and small. The beds were hard and were not cozy. Overall, I would say that I was safe, clean and happy at the Good Hotel. Just know you will have to drive if you want to go anywhere once at the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ashely j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaiyiHotels D, Director of Sales at The Good Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Dear ashely j,

Thank you for your review about your recent stay with us. I am glad that overall, you had a good experience during your stay at our hotel. I am sorry to hear that you had a less than favorable impression about our neighborhood of SoMA (South of Market). SoMA is an eclectic and diverse area which contributes to the overall makeup of the city of San Francisco.

Although not necessarily the most luxurious part of town, SoMA is continually thriving with new cafes opening, such as M Cafe a few steps away on Mission Street where you can great an awesome panini and latte and Caffe Moda right on Seventh St. where they serve up THE BEST Mexican Mocha, in my humble opinion. There is also quite a few planned restaurant openings as well as major corporations moving into our neighborhood, namely Twitter and Dolby, our two recent new neighbors.

Again, your feedback is much appreciated and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We hope to welcome you back to SoMA in the very near future.

Best regards,

Nick Dalisay
Area Director of Sales
Haiyi Hotels Worldwide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

601 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    160
    219
    110
    63
See reviews for
58
260
54
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

If you think a hotel price is too good to be true. It probably is... The Eco friendly charm is just another word for cheap. I want fresh towels. Don't pick them off the floor and hang them up for me to use. The bed will kill your back. Only one pillow per person. The hotel is loud... Bring earplugs. The area is really dangerous from our experiences of walking around and from the opinion of several cabbies. It's just cheap and gross. Spend a few more bucks and stay in Little Italy or at the Wharf. It reminded me of the "Hostel" movie franchise. Cheap, gross and scary. The photos on their website are totally misleading.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Whitney V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaiyiHotels D, Director of Sales at The Good Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Dear Whitney V,

Thank you for sharing your feedback during your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you had a less than favorable opinion of our hotel and our location. Although our little neighborhood of SoMA (South of Market) is slightly off the beaten path and rich in diversity, it is part of the overall makeup of the city and makes San Francisco what it is. Overall during your visit, we hope that you enjoyed the sights, sounds, smells and flavors of a true experience, that can only happen in, San Francisco!

Best regards,

Nick Dalisay
Area Director of Sales
Haiyi Hotels Worldwide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

This hotel is in a central and spicy part of SOMA but was nicely renovated with modern and clean amenities (formerly a motel blended with green ideology). I found a great last minute price on a two bed deluxe room. The attached bedroom could use some sore of separation or door for privacy. Just off market so close to everything. I would stay there again at the same 120-140 rate.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AvidTRAVELOR78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaiyiHotels D, Director of Sales at The Good Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Dear AvidTRAVELOR78,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and wanted to let you know how much we appreciate your taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. Just as you mentioned, anyone else who supports green ideology will certainly appreciate our hotel and philosophy.

We look forward to welcoming you back as our guest on your next visit to San Francisco!

Best regards,

Nick Dalisay
Area Director of Sales
Haiyi Hotels Worldwide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

The good Hotel has an unfortunate location . It sits in one of the poor areas of San Francisco . The hotel itself is clean and tidy. It is a little tired and the rooms decor is dated. The staff are very helpful and pleasant. I travelled with my 19 yr old daughter so we got back to the hotel before dark each night . The public transport around the area is good but the tube station is not safe at night. There is limited restaurants for the evening but if you are happy to walk two blocks you can catch the tram to some great places. Its just coming back you need to be careful. It is not a place for a family. It was noisy at night from the people who lived on the streets . The down side of the hotel ois more the location than the hotel itself.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaiyiHotels D, Director of Sales at The Good Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Dear Donna U,

Thank you for your review about your recent stay with us. I am glad that you and your daughter were overall pleased with our accommodations and service provided by our staff. However, I am sorry to hear that you had a less than favorable impression about our location.

Our neighborhood of "SoMA" (South of Market) is an eclectic and diverse area which contributes to the overall makeup of the city of San Francisco. Although not necessarily the most luxurious part of town, SoMA is continually thriving with planned restaurant openings as well as major corporations moving into our neighborhood, not to mention, within a very short distance to major San Francisco attractions.

Again, your feedback is much appreciated and we hope to one day, welcome you and your daughter back to our hotel and SoMA in the future.

Best regards,

Nick Dalisay
Area Director of Sales
Haiyi Hotels Worldwide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2012

At the beginning of our round trip we stayed 4 days in SFO in "The Good Hotel". We payed 86 Euro p.N. for a double room with a queen sized bed (approx. 95 USD). We knew that we will stay in SoMa. Therefore we expected not much. The only thing that was important to us, was that the room is clean (no bugs, hairs or uncertain stains was most important). The furniture in our room was old but clean. It smelled for carpet cleaner. Since we wanted to see the city and not the hotel room it didn't matter to us. The bed was comfy and we slept well in it. We had a coffee maker in the room and the hotel provided tea and coffee in the morning. What we missed was a fridge or a possibility to cool our food. But I guess, considering the size of our room (it was a little bigger than the bed) it would just not have fit in. Unfortunately there was no Ice Machine either.The bathroom was tiny as well and there was only a shower in it a highlight was the toilet flush though. As guest of the hotel you can use the pool of the Best Western across the street. The pool is heated which I found pretty good since it was very cold when we were there (06/17/2012 - 06/21/2012). Breakfast is not included. But there are several choices around the hotel, e.g. in the Best Western or Tony Ballony around the corner. Internet: If you have a smart phone or a Laptop you can use wireless lan in the hotel, it's free but in case you want to use the hotel computer it is 5 USD per 15 min. Parking on the hotel grounds is 25 USD per day. There is also public parking in the streets around the hotel but read the signs carefully, since they have times where they clean the streets. We would suggest not to wander the area since there are many homeless people, which is ok at daytime but scary at night. To sum it up: The hotel is clean but not a place to stay long. The area is fine at daytime but not at night.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaiyiHotels D, Director of Sales at The Good Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Dear Nan S,

We appreciate your taking the time to share your experience with us and with the Trip Advisor community. I am glad that you found our accommodations satisfactory however, I do apologize that your expectations of the bathroom fell short due to it's size but, I will say, our "toilet flush" is certainly a unique feature, indeed! Thank you also for regarding tips about the use of the pool at our sister property, the Best Western PLUS Americania right across the street.

We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit into San Francisco.

Best regards,

Nick Dalisay
Area Director of Sales
Haiyi Hotels Worldwide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Music City Hotel
#121 of 229 in San Francisco
385 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#186 of 229 in San Francisco
753 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#125 of 229 in San Francisco
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Hotel Whitcomb
Hotel Whitcomb
#177 of 229 in San Francisco
2,990 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#96 of 229 in San Francisco
2,324 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#78 of 229 in San Francisco
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Good Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Good Hotel

Property: The Good Hotel
Address: 112 7th St, San Francisco, CA 94103-2809 (Formerly Hotel Britton)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,106 - ₹ 34,420
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Good Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the vibrant South of Market (SoMA) district of downtown San Francisco, the Good Hotel has 117-rooms and is intended to be the first hotel with a conscience by taking a green approach to design that inspires the "good in us all." Renew, Reuse, Relax!Guest rooms feature sustainable products and materials such as 100% reclaimed wood bed frames, bed linens and light fixtures made from recycled water bottles, and our "sink positive" installations; all designed to be environmentally friendly.The convenient location provides quick access to many of San Francisco's top attractions and destinations including Civic Center Plaza, Moscone Convention Center, Union Square, Westfield Shopping Centre, the Theater District, and Cable Cars that will take you to Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Good Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Good Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing