We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“charming hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Vertigo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Vertigo
Ranked #77 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“charming hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

I spent 3 night in this hotel. It is a good hotel, very well located next to Union Square. In a nice area. The rooms not on the streets are very quiet. The people are very helpful. It is simple clean and ideal to visit San Frnacisco

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elena g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    607
    224
    50
    38
See reviews for
144
697
91
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

I stayed here for 6 nights while I was in SF for business. The location was good (about 5-6 blocks from Union Square), so it was within walking distance for most of my meetings (which were scattered around downtown). The staff were super friendly and I was even able to check-in to my room 3 hours early. They offered secure luggage storage, so I was also able to leave my bags on my last day and do a bit more exploration on my last day. Value was great - I paid less than half the price for other hotels in the downtown area. The building is older, so some things are due for an update (e.g. carpet in the room) but still felt clean. Amenities in the room were great, I had a huge walk in closet, flat screen TV and bar fridge. Most importantly, the bed was super comfy.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shandyrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Studio City
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Great little boutique hotel hidden near Nob Hill and Downtown. Very helpful staff and nice rooms. It was our honeymoon and this little quaint spot was great.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, uk
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Myself and 2 friends stayed here 5-10 April 2012.

Good points:
-Clean large room
-Maids cleaned and restocked room daily
-Helpful reception staff
-Unusual decor especially in lobby but brings charm to the hotel and is not over the top
-Central location(walk to the bottom of sutter street and you have Union square where you can find Macy's, Niketown, the Uggs store, Tiffanys and more.

Bad points:
-There weren't any as such but the hotel had a small gym and I feel that this would be better used as a bar so that guests can relax and have somewhere to hang out.
-There is no-where to eat within hotel but plenty places to eat are nearby and we also brought back take-away.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 605 on the 6th floor- this was a double room with large flat screen tv and seems t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sianclarkuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

I spent a week there and the location couldn't be better, a few blocks from Union Square and you can take a MUNI bus right on the same street of the hotel or 1 or 2 blocks away depending where you are heading to. There's some convenience stores and small cafes steps away, a pizzeria and even a laundry place. The beds are crazily comfortable, the bath robes that welcome you in the closet are so soft! Nice design in the lobby and in the rooms, the bathroom was clean but beware of the slippery floor. The walls are a bit thin and if your neighbors are noisy, you'll hear them. The coffe station that they put in the mornings is simple but does the trick, if you want a bigger tastier coffee just go somewhere else.The staff was kind. I recommend the hotel for sure!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eugenia_SM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Triton
Hotel Triton
#67 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,618 reviews
Cova Hotel
#94 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre h...
#25 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Union Square
King George Hotel
King George Hotel
#83 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vertigo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vertigo

Property: Hotel Vertigo
Address: 940 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-6025 (Formerly York Hotel)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,136 - ₹ 23,320
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Vertigo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vertigo is a 102-room boutique hotel that is renowned for its simplicity and admired for its unique character. Recently renovated, this non-smoking hotel playfully feeds off the Hitchcock's classic movie, "Vertigo." With rich wood furnishings highlighted with cream and orange accents, it is well suited for vacationers, families, and business travellers alike.Situated in the lower Nob Hill pocket of downtown San Francisco, the convenient location provides easy access to many of the city's top attractions and destinations. Just steps away from Cable Cars, Union Square and the major shopping and theater districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Vertigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vertigo Hotel San Francisco
York Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing