We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Edwardian San Francisco Hotel
Ranked #146 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 13 March 2012

This hotel was extremely disappointing and do not recommend staying here. Although the staff was friendly and the location is good, the room I stayed in had no heat,(with the exception of a very small space heater I had to put on a chair and point at the bed), the shower head fell off when I tried to adjust it, and it took a very long time to get hot water. Additionally, there was no refrigerator, microwave, coffee machine, or lobby coffee service......three very standard and important things in most hotels provide.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
Thank Sky90291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

163 - 167 of 358 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2012

Great service and very good location. It's an old building but it has been remodeled, the room where we stayed with my husband was perfect with a nice and clean private bathroom.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Stayed at this hotel in November and it was imperfect, but charming, with great staff. Went back in February and was totally impressed with what management/ownership is attempting to do. Colors are brighter, rooms are being remodeled, overall feel of the place is more welcoming and modern. It's still an older building in SF, so there are limitations to what can be done with the space, but can't say enough about how impressed I am just with the effort being put in. Staff is still great, helpful, accomodating. The amazing new light fixture in our room was actually hand made by Wesley at the front desk. Again, the effort alone gets my business every time.

Room Tip: 117 is cozy with less street noise, but if you want lots of light and the SF ambiance, ask for 221.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

This lovely old building is slowly being brought up to it's full potential. There is a good bit of renovation in progress and as such one sees and smells fresh primer and paint. The period elevator was out of service;but the on duty manager graciously offered to carry our luggage up to our room which was on the top floor. The room was quite small and yet charming and cozy on a rainy night. The view from the room and the bathroom was quite nice giving one a good panoramic view of Market Street and part of the skyline of the "city". The bed we had was as comfortable as most any that I have had anywhere. The location was perfect for us as we were there for the "Walk for Life" 2012 which went right down Market Street to the Ferry Building.

Room Tip: The top floor gives great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sulfurcreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Wesley was a great help offering advice on how to get places etc. The room was clean and having the tram stop out the front was handy. The area is a little dodgy though and a bit away from the main action but the trams are frequent so it's not a major issue.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DCMcMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
The Castro
Twin Peaks Hotel
Twin Peaks Hotel
#195 of 230 in San Francisco
65 reviews
SoMa
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Fr...
#125 of 230 in San Francisco
1,230 reviews
Hayes Valley
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/...
#81 of 230 in San Francisco
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hayes Valley
Inn at the Opera
Inn at the Opera
#102 of 230 in San Francisco
763 reviews
Music City Hotel
#117 of 230 in San Francisco
428 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Inn
San Francisco Inn
#144 of 230 in San Francisco
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edwardian San Francisco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edwardian San Francisco Hotel

Address: 1668 Market St, San Francisco, CA 94102-5949
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Hayes Valley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: ₹ 8,296 - ₹ 11,104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Edwardian San Francisco Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Edwardian San Francisco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edwardian Hotel San Francisco
Edwardian San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing