We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Just Another Epic W Property” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of W San Francisco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
W San Francisco
Ranked #69 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just Another Epic W Property”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

Just an incredible staff at an incredible hotel who know exactly how to cater to business travelers. The FDA (Rawan) was so friendly, accommodating and genuine - all staff so personable and helpful - this is an above and beyond W property. There is a reason people are so loyal to this brand and the W San Fran is a big part of that.

Room Tip: Walk in with a smile and this hotel will drop everything to make your stay incredible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad_Wulff, Guest Relations Manager at W San Francisco, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Hello, and thank you for taking the time to post this epic review of W San Francisco. We appreciate the compliments, and we do love having business travelers stay with us.

It is always a pleasure when our guests love both the brand, and W San Francisco. I hope you to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,
Brad W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,020 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    828
    684
    307
    127
    74
See reviews for
229
573
144
708
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
104 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012 via mobile

I was fortunate to be upgraded to a very large suite overlooking the bay bridge which certainly enhanced my stay. The hotel itself was clean and the staff was friendly. It has a convenient location and checks most of the boxes.

Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank CASE-JC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

I was really disappointed at my recent stay at the W SF. I've stayed at other W hotels and the SF branch is far from the W experience I'm used to. The decor dubbed 'trendy' hasn't been maintained well so the hotel looks almost kitschy / borderline tacky. The service was spotty as well.

Here is a summary of the poor service / experience:

1/ The valet guys were slow in acknowledging help with our bags for checkin. Seemed disorganized in receiving new guests.

2/ There were no slippers in the room and not enough amenities for 2 people. I called to request slippers and add'l amenities from housekeeping and they brought up slippers but instead of add'l amenities, they brought face cloths instead. wth.

3/ I noticed stains on my bath towel and on my bedsheets. Pictures provided.

4/ Upon checkout, there was one person working the front desk at 8am. I'd assumed this would be peak time. When a staff member walked out of the back room, we had assumed she would see the line and help. Instead she pretended she didn't see the line and ignored us when we asked a question. Someone on the floor noticed this rude behavior and quickly came over to assist us.

Overall, here are 2 recommendations to the W SF management:

1/ Train your staff!!! they work in hospitality at a W branded hotel. They are not up to W standards.

2/ Spend some money maintaining your property. also, stains on towels and sheets are not acceptable.

Next time I'm in SF, I will stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad_Wulff, Guest Relations Manager at W San Francisco, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Hello, and thank you for taking the time to write a review of you recent stay with us. I am dismayed to read about your experience with W San Francisco, we usually receive great feedback on both our rooms and our Talent.

Although these issues are not typical of a stay with us, we will be sure to use your comments to better future stays.

I do invite you back to W San Francisco next time you are in the area, I know we can provide you with a really amazing stay.

Sincerely,
Brad W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Spent 3 nights here in 2 separate stays in the space of 1 week. A big point for me were good soundproofing in the rooms. The hotel was busy and buzzing in the lobby at all times, but near the rooms it was relatively peaceful. There was a family with children staying in the room next to us, and they were clearly not trying to be quiet, yet even though I can hear the sounds, it was muffled enough that it didn't bother me very much. I've stayed in other hotels where noises like that would sound like they were in the same room as us.

Other Pros - convenient location, friendly staff, good use of space in the room layout.
Cons - low shower pressure and badly designed sink area whereby water kept getting everywhere and dripping onto the floor.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElevenBus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012 via mobile

My First trip to SF. W is an excellent base for meetings downtown and then to explore. Room had real character and a great view? Housekeeping service is excellent. Bar has a buzz and service throughout is first class.

Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ritchie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad_Wulff, Guest Relations Manager at W San Francisco, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Hello, and thank you for choosing W San Francisco for your first visit to San Francisco! I am glad your stay with us was great, and I hope that you come back for your second (and every!) trip to the Bay Area.

Have a great day,
Brad W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#28 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,704 reviews
SoMa
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
#57 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,248 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
#19 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
The St. Regis San Francisco
The St. Regis San Francisco
#9 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#32 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#58 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W San Francisco

Property: W San Francisco
Address: 181 3rd St, San Francisco, CA 94103-3107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#40 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#61 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#70 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,210 - ₹ 38,485
Hotel Class:4 star — W San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the SoMa district, and neighbors with the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, W San Francisco faces the beautiful Yerba Buena gardens and is a short walk to Union Square's shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your W San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
w Hotels San Francisco
w Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing