We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of W San Francisco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
W San Francisco
Ranked #68 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 23 July 2012

My First trip to SF. W is an excellent base for meetings downtown and then to explore. Room had real character and a great view? Housekeeping service is excellent. Bar has a buzz and service throughout is first class.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
Thank Ritchie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad_Wulff, Guest Relations Manager at W San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

Hello, and thank you for choosing W San Francisco for your first visit to San Francisco! I am glad your stay with us was great, and I hope that you come back for your second (and every!) trip to the Bay Area.

Have a great day,
Brad W

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,178)
There are newer reviews for W San Francisco
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,367 - 1,371 of 2,178 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2012

We stayed here on points and had requested a suite upgrade. Our suite on the 23rd floor was very nice - two full bathrooms, high window seats deep enough for lounging looking out over the city, good views. The majority of the windows had wood shutters, a nice touch, and the bed as low but comfortable. Both bathroooms were clean, two robes were provided, plenty of towels and bath products, etc.

Cons: the 42" TV in the bedroom didn't work without the settings being changed. Even after fixing once, my husband had to reset them again during our four-night stay. The front desk is chronically understaffed and is not empowered - they have to check with "management" to do anything. The maid changed the radio station on the Bang & Olefson radio - which was wierd enough that it took some time to figure out how to change it back. If you don't want to deal with this, leave the radio on - we found this made it so that if they changed the radio station, they at least changed it back. Also, the lobby being a bar made it loud - do not expect walking into the lobby to be a refuge from the city - it is much louder than the traffic noise outside. It seemed constantly crowded with businessmen in for something - and drinking already at 5:00 pm - so women, expect to be oggled when you're walking to the elevator bank. If you don't want to be oggled, I might recommend the St. Regis next door.

There is no lounge at this location - as far as we can tell, the only Starwood property with a member lounge in San Francisco is the Palace, which was sold out during our stay. No breakfast or breakfast discount was provided for Starwood members. There are many other options for breakfast close which are a substantially better value than eating in the hotel (try the Peet's on the other side of MOMA/St. Regis).

It was a central location for us, and we enjoyed our stay for the most part. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helsimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad_Wulff, Guest Relations Manager at W San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

Hello, and thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your recent stay with us. I am so glad we were able to accommodate your request for an upgrade, we love having SPG members stay with us.

Our Living Room does have a vibrant nightlife scene, but it is always important that our guests feel comfortable. While we do have an entrance through the Living Room, there is also the main entrance to the Welcome Desk that leads right over to the elevators.

I do hope you stay with us again next time you are in the San Francisco area. I know the W experience is unique, and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thanks again,
Brad W

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We had a wonderful weekend and this W was parfect for us: we like the location (just next to the moma), the bar and ambience were a lot of fun and we got to stay there for a great rate. Similar to other Ws we stayed at in the past. Safe bet.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurent G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

My wife and I stayed here for our annual holiday trip to San Francisco.the location was nicely positioned downtown. Walking distance to Bart and trolleys. The rooms were nicely appointed. They seemed a bit smaller than the average room in the Starwood network. We would stay again in our next trip.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaykid007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We loved all the W experience. It's my 4th time staying with w ant I love it.
The rooms are cool and cozy. Bathrooms are very good with nice amenities
The service was great. The concierge is there to provide with all your needs, even if he has to go all over to help you he does. Front desk also great.
Perfectly located. Around the corner from MOMA, and in front of the Yerba buena complex.
Parking sisterm works well, a little expensive, but. San Francisco parking is not
Cheap. Walking distance from union square an chinatown , without being inside the noise there
Highly recommend. Will stay there next time in SF

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karu256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad_Wulff, Guest Relations Manager at W San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

I am so glad to hear you loved your stay! It is always a pleasure to know that we have earned repeat business, thank you for loyalty!

I enjoy our location in SOMA as well, and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,
Brad W

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#36 of 229 in San Francisco
2,967 reviews
SoMa
The St. Regis San Francisco
The St. Regis San Francisco
#6 of 229 in San Francisco
1,315 reviews
SoMa
The Park Central San Francisco
The Park Central San Francisco
#65 of 229 in San Francisco
3,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#22 of 229 in San Francisco
1,272 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
#30 of 229 in San Francisco
873 reviews
SoMa
Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
#13 of 229 in San Francisco
1,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W San Francisco

Address: 181 3rd St, San Francisco, CA 94103-3107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#38 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#61 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#70 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: ₹ 15,097 - ₹ 58,782 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — W San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the SoMa district, and neighbors with the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, W San Francisco faces the beautiful Yerba Buena gardens and is a short walk to Union Square's shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your W San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
w Hotels San Francisco
w Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing