We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Enjoyed stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of W San Francisco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
W San Francisco
Ranked #70 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Enjoyed stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

My wife and I stayed here for our annual holiday trip to San Francisco.the location was nicely positioned downtown. Walking distance to Bart and trolleys. The rooms were nicely appointed. They seemed a bit smaller than the average room in the Starwood network. We would stay again in our next trip.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaykid007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,046 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    836
    693
    312
    129
    76
See reviews for
235
579
146
718
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

We loved all the W experience. It's my 4th time staying with w ant I love it.
The rooms are cool and cozy. Bathrooms are very good with nice amenities
The service was great. The concierge is there to provide with all your needs, even if he has to go all over to help you he does. Front desk also great.
Perfectly located. Around the corner from MOMA, and in front of the Yerba buena complex.
Parking sisterm works well, a little expensive, but. San Francisco parking is not
Cheap. Walking distance from union square an chinatown , without being inside the noise there
Highly recommend. Will stay there next time in SF

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karu256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad_Wulff, Guest Relations Manager at W San Francisco, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
I am so glad to hear you loved your stay! It is always a pleasure to know that we have earned repeat business, thank you for loyalty!

I enjoy our location in SOMA as well, and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,
Brad W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

Recently stayed on July 4th at the W in SF for one night/two days and had a great experience. Wanted to step it up a bit so secured a few nights at the St. Regis next door for the rest of our trip.

The W Hotel is in close proximity to two BART stations so it was easy to walk to/from Market Street. As Gold Preferred Guests, we were upgraded to a Cool Corner Suite; check in was easy and very professional as expected.

We especially enjoyed the free MDX service which shuttled us within a four mile radius of the hotel. Our driver, Ky, was top notch... very friendly, personable, and knowledgeable of the city as well as some hot spots in Napa/Yountville. We very much appreciated his hospitality the two days we were there - he went out of his way to ensure we were taken care of. Carla, the supervisor for the MDX service, was also very nice and approachable (unlike the gentlemen who was managing the reservations on the 4th... a bit grumpy and not customer service oriented; may just a bad day).

Overall, we had a wonderful experience and will return the next time we visit the city.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DruVeaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

I stayed for a night at this hotel for my birthday and it is by far the Best hotel stay in my life and will surely be talked about for days!
CUSTOMER SERVICE - Excellent! I was in contact with Kristi Blecha before the date of my check-in and she went above an beyond to make my birthday evening an unforgettable experience! The staff are very personable and accommodating. Little things like mentioning your name when they pickup the phone at the front desk made my experience very personal. Please keep up the good work!
ROOM - I put on the "Special Request" section of the reservation for a high floor but I wasn't expecting much as I got a great deal on the room rate. But, I was suprised that they were able to grant my wish! It has the most amazing view! The room is very clean and I always admire the decor!
FOOD - My friends and I had dinner at Trace, the restaurant at the hotel. The plate is properly proportioned and the price is reasonable. Everything is flavorful and we cannot stop raving how great the food is! The restaurant staff is friendly and attentive to our needs.
Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is planning to stay in San Francisco. A great hotel experience is hard to find nowadays and W San Francisco definitely got it right!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank E V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad_Wulff, Guest Relations Manager at W San Francisco, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Hello, and thank you so much for sharing your story with us! I am thrilled to hear that this was the best stay of your life, that’s fantastic! Kristi is amazing, as is the rest of our Talent. The best compliments we can receive are Talent based.

I am glad you were able to eat at TRACE, and enjoyed the meal.

It sounds like you loved the view, and I hope to welcome you back to W San Francisco soon. We really appreciate the recommendation, as word of mouth is extremely important!

Have a great day,
Brad W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012 via mobile

We stayed three nights at the W for my wife's birthday. They upgraded us to a corner room on the 26th floor with spectacular views to the Bay Bridge. The room was large with quality fixtures. Definitely a top hotel.
The restaurant is also very good if you aren't eating elsewhere.
A short walk away will get you to Westfield for your shopping needs and a little further to the cable cars. A tip for those wanting to catch the cable car back from the Bay at 9pm. They only leave at 15 minute intervals. It doesn't matter if there are 200 people waiting, they just leave the cable cars banked up and idle, so if there's 50 people in front of you, it's an hours wait. Take a cab.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ClassicMX5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#25 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,749 reviews
SoMa
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
#58 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,340 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
#20 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
The St. Regis San Francisco
The St. Regis San Francisco
#9 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#29 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#56 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W San Francisco

Property: W San Francisco
Address: 181 Third Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#61 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#70 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,483 - ₹ 61,251
Hotel Class:4 star — W San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the SoMa district, and neighbors with the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, W San Francisco faces the beautiful Yerba Buena gardens and is a short walk to Union Square's shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your W San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
w Hotels San Francisco
w Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing