We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just as good second time around”
Review of Hotel Triton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Triton
Ranked #66 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just as good second time around”
Reviewed 17 September 2012

My husband and I visited the triton 15 years ago and wanted to return with our 12year old daughter. It was just as wonderful this time as it was 15years ago. The rooms small but very well done and lots of fun. The afternoon wine sessions make the stay even more enjoyable. The staff fantastic and very helpful. Will definitely be back

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Freddy05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,800 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    737
    664
    233
    104
    62
See reviews for
277
703
127
397
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

stayed here for 3 nights 7th - 9th Sept 12. Themed hotel did not know what to expect - Very impressed. Great service. rooms good and very clean. Location is brilliant right across from China town gates - 2 blocks from cable cars - direct stop on hop on hop off bus tours. would defo stay again.

Room Tip: Give it a go - Great Place
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellachonger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 12 September 2012

It was truly a pleasure to be greeted so nicely at the curb, check in, and every time I came back to the hotel. I typically don't expect so many greetings during my stays, but in this case, it was a pleasant surprise and made a big difference. Definitely made me feel welcome and appreciated

Room Tip: If possible, try to get a room further from the elevator. As many buildings in SF have proven, soun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

I will get to the room review in a second..but first wanted to talk about the service....outstanding from start to finish...personal note in my room, valet service was speedy and friendly! I left my iPhone charger in the car, so they said they would retrieve it for me (and did within minutes). Staff were helpful in recommendations, and even e-mailed me a few prior to my arrival.

In terms of the hotel...yes it's an old reconditioned hotel (old bathtub, small bathroom), but they made the best of the layout, it's quiet, the bed is super comfortable, and the reno is funky and cooll. Coffee Service in the morning, wine reception in the early evening...super close to Union Square and Chinatown (and a Starbucks across the street). One of the better hotels I have stayed in during travels to San Francisco!

Room Tip: sign in to be a kimpton in touch member for free wi-fi and better room access!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VanCanucksFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

I have stayed at Kimptons before and I like unique hotels. So, we thought we would move over here after our room block was up at a generic hotel we were staying at for a wedding. Bad idea.

The first person that greeted us seemed really friendly and nice. Even though everyone around us was allowed to check-in, they told us we had to wait for a pet-free room. No big deal, we just checked our luggage and went on our way.

When we came back around 6pm, we had a different person who was much less friendly and less on-the-ball. We had to make sure our room, this time, was the pet-free one we were waiting for. When we got to it, we realize it was very small, which we had expected. What we didn't expect was how run-down it was. The pain job was crappy - peeling and parts, painted on the tile in others. Our toilet paper holder had graffiti written on it, which, didn't go with the aesthetic so I don't think it was intentional, but you never know. Our pet and allergy free room had a not-so-allergy-friendly moldy bathroom (and not just little bits of mold in the shower, a giant splotch of mold on the wall - see photo).

There were also lots of super annoying things - like the windows don't have screens. So, if you want to get air, you need to also let in 100 flying insects. Our bathroom door handle was falling off, so I kept getting nervous I was going to get locked in there forever. And, finally, the most annoying, we had a "Raid the Mini-Bar" certificate for being In Touch members. However, they locked our mini-bar. I think it's far more annoying to have a perk that doesn't work than than to not have a perk at all. Especially combined with everything else.

We didn't book discount, we booked on the Kimpton website because we wanted a quality experience - this was certainly not it.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Triton415, General Manager at Hotel Triton, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Dear Elizabeth K ~ Boy did we drop the ball. I’m so sorry to hear about your experience. I’m sure you read other reviews on Trip Advisor and can see that this is not a typical experience for us. Once I read and saw what you had experienced I immediately shared it with my team and corrected the problems. I hope this will not keep you from thinking of us should your plans ever bring you back to San Francisco. With that said please reach out to me directly as it would be my pleasure to personally assist you with your accommodations and giving you the experience that you deserve.
Sincerely,
Antonio Flores
antonio.flores@htoeltriton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Galleria Park Hotel
Galleria Park Hotel
#29 of 229 in San Francisco
2,060 reviews
Chinatown
Orchard Garden Hotel
Orchard Garden Hotel
#26 of 229 in San Francisco
1,463 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
#59 of 229 in San Francisco
1,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel G San Francisco
Hotel G San Francisco
#51 of 229 in San Francisco
1,008 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#77 of 229 in San Francisco
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Triton? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Triton

Property: Hotel Triton
Address: 342 Grant Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94108-3607
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#56 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#56 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#58 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#71 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,819 - ₹ 38,136
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Triton 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Triton is a creative vision made real. Sprung from the imaginations of San Francisco artists, the Hotel Triton is a colorful and ever-current showcase of the pop culture that keeps this city vibrant. It is a welcoming wonderland that cares for you as if you were the Greek god for which the hotel is named. Across from the Chinatown gates, the Hotel Triton is conveniently located near San Francisco's top destinations and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Triton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing