We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel , Great Staff , Great location!”
Review of Hotel Triton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Triton
Ranked #65 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 16 June 2012

I stayed at the Triton after finding place in it by fluke a week before WWDC.
The price was excellent and it was a walking distance from Moscone.

The street and location are great , very easy to get around from it's location.
The room was very nice , very clean and the bed was big with good pillows.
It had a really useful work table , an adequate number of power outlets for a working man and a great chair which was really important for me. The internet - superfast and free for intouch members (which is free to enroll - and you get the chance to upgrade if they have place for really cheap)

The staff at the front desk were really awesome - solved any issues in a heartbeat (I needed an extra night - solved on the spot , needed some directions and recommendations around - got them , needed transportation to the airport - got it with advice on what to choose - all around service was really good)

The only maybe "bad" thing I have to say is my room didn't really had a view. My co-worker got a room towards the street with a nice view. I didn't really care as I spent almost no time in the room (other then working a bit) and the fact it was really quiet mattered to me way more. If you want a room with a view - ask for one.
Ok , one more - In room safe would have been nice. It's kind of a standard.

I will definitely book this hotel again if I need to stay in downtown SF in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor and a street view. Can't go wrong with that :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liviu R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,886)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,184 - 1,188 of 1,886 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2012

Overall a very good experience, with good service (welcoming glass of wine a nice touch after a long business day) and good facilities: free wi-fi, books by Kerouac and Ginsberg to read in room and so on. Adjacent Cafe de la Presse, a good French bistro, is used for room service food. My room was on floor 3 and with rather too much external clanging from adjacent store backlots in the very early morning to make this an entirely satisfactory stay in SF.

Room Tip: There are very small, 120 sq. ft 'Zen' rooms which might not suit those expecting larger spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cicer0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Location wise, this hotel rated high being opposite the gates of China Town. It is also close to a number of eating places and shops. It was also very cool to have the Chinatown gates as the view from our hotel room.

Unfortunately we were disappointed by our hotel room which was very small and the bed was simply not big enough for 2 people (we are not big people). Our room looked very weathered and the blinds meant light crept in during the night very easily. Bathroom was okay and closet space was adequate. Had the bed been bigger, I would have marked the score higher but as we were on our honeymoon, this was disappointing. Bizarrely our television kept switching itself on around 11pm every night.

Coffee in the morning was very good as well as was the gratitude expressed by the cleaner for leaving them a couple of dollars as a tip. You don't often get that in hotels.

On a sidenote, the elevators were very funky.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

To be fair, all the hotels that my daugther & myself stayed during our 20 days holiday in LA, LV, G.Canyon, Yosemite and San Francisco were good. But the best hotel we stayed was in Triton, San Francisco. The moment when we arrived, there was this "ambassdor dog, Romeo" that greeted us and lead us the way in. Never seen this before; this is fantastic! All the staff were also very friendly and helpful. They did their best as service providers. Truely, this is a great hotel to stay; it was like home to us.

Room Tip: Try to specify and inform the hotel before hand the type of room that you needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TangWengKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We've stayed at over a dozen Kimptons across the US and love them all. This was our first stay at the Triton--it was terrific! The staff was warm and helpful, Romeo the house dog was quite entertaining (he even opened the front door for us), the lobby fun and funky (great place to just sit and watch the world walk by while sipping a glass of wine) and the room charming. The "On the Road" wallpaper is a fantastic touch--so appropriate, while aesthetically pleasing. We can't say enough good things about the hotel. The location, by the way, is superb: close to Union Square, adjacent to Chinatown and a quick walk to City Light Books.

Room Tip: We had a nice sized corner room on the 7th floor--good (not great) views and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emencher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Chinatown
Orchard Garden Hotel
Orchard Garden Hotel
#23 of 230 in San Francisco
1,507 reviews
Financial District
Galleria Park Hotel
Galleria Park Hotel
#25 of 230 in San Francisco
2,148 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#12 of 230 in San Francisco
2,863 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#17 of 230 in San Francisco
5,318 reviews
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#74 of 230 in San Francisco
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Triton? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Triton

Address: 342 Grant Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94108-3607
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#56 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#56 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#58 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#71 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: ₹ 10,485 - ₹ 29,893 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Triton 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Triton is a creative vision made real. Sprung from the imaginations of San Francisco artists, the Hotel Triton is a colorful and ever-current showcase of the pop culture that keeps this city vibrant. It is a welcoming wonderland that cares for you as if you were the Greek god for which the hotel is named. Across from the Chinatown gates, the Hotel Triton is conveniently located near San Francisco's top destinations and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Triton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing