We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEST EXPERIENCE EVER!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Triton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Triton
Ranked #66 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Roswell, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BEST EXPERIENCE EVER!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Stayed at the Hotel Triton for 4 nights for our 10th anniversary. I proactively told the hotel staff in advance of our special milestone. They went ABOVE & BEYOND by finding a special corner room for us on a higher floor and surprising us with complimentary roses, fresh raspberries, chocolates, champagne, and a personalized "Congratulations" card waiting for us in our room. We were blown away. The staff continued to meet all our needs and go out of their way to provide answers and solutions throughout ourstay.
The hotel's location is ideal and is walking distance from cable car and streetcar stops, and many restaurants. Also, a Starbucks across the street, which my wife appreciated. Because of the way we did the city each day (early out and back after dinner) we didn't get to participate in the wine hour but I'm sure that would have been nice and relaxing.
All in all, first class service in a funky, boutique setting. It exceeded all my expectations.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to the 7th floor, by request, and had a corner room. The room was quiet, as expecte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    696
    601
    212
    97
    55
See reviews for
247
622
124
382
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
w, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

stayed for a week end february 2012. small funky trendy hotel in great location.,near chinatown. felt safe to walk evenings. have stayed in all sorts of hotels but triton beats them all. enthusiastic staff,not fussing but ready for you to "just ask us" nothing is too much trouble, and we were really reluctant to leave.. free cookies in the afternoon, and guests invited to the lobby at 5pm for a free glass of wine and a chat. we dined at another nearby kimpton hote, and the same enthusiastic service was there too...oh, and sanfran wasla gem!

Room Tip: just enjoy the atmostphere
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winifred t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

The hotel is located in the heart of San Francisco and is central to excellent restaurants and walking distance to Moscone Center
The bed was very conformable, the room was relatively quiet (for being in the city) and the window opened a few inches to allow for wonderful fresh air.
The hotel offers a fun wine hour, great customer service, good water pressure and hot water in the shower and a very comfortable corner desk for work.
Highly recommended for both work and for pleasure!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melinda_Pleasanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Triton415, Manager at Hotel Triton, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Hi Melinda_Pleasanton ~ Thanks for the awesome review. We hope you come back for work or fun soon!
Sincerely,
Antonio Flores
General Manager
antonio.flores@hoteltriton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

The hotel is within easy reach of the financial district, Chinatown, and Union Square. The hotel is designed to be funky but it still managed to look dated. It was late when we checked in the gentleman at the front desk was very cheerful and helpful. The room was clean and bed was comfortable (isn't that what we really want?). I was able to take advantage of wine hour and the host was very attentive and engaging. I briefly met the hotel mascot. He had a lot of energy and was being entertained by other dogs.

Stayed in room 305 and had a good view of the entrance to Chinatown. The closet was a good size but the bathroom was a bit of a squeeze. It was clean so I was happy. Even though there was a block on the floor for electronic devices I would suggest bring your own power strip to make it easier to plug in items.

Walking a few blocks through Chinatown put you in Little Italy. I suggest Stinking Rose for sure! Get the roasted garlic! Walking a few blocks up Sutter and Powell and hit stop at the Cable Car Cafe for breakfast. Its an unassuming place the breakfast is delicious!!

The morning of check out was a fiasco for me - I inadvertantly put the wrong date down for SuperShuttle. The woman who was on staff at 5 in the morning on Feb 21st was phenomenal!! She took the time to help me find the issue with SuperShuttle and then found a car service for me that was less than taking a taxi. I apologize that I don't remember your name (all the stress) but you were AWESOME!!! Thank you!!!

All in all - the hotel was good and the staff was GREAT!

In the word's of Arnold "I'll be back....."

Room Tip: 305 was a good room but if you can snag 503 get it!!! Better view of Chinatown entrance, pretty qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank courtaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Ok another fantastic stay at a Kimpton Hotel! I was met with a cool blast of color and when I got into the lobby there was a Tarot Card reading going on. As always the doors at these places are artwork in themselves! I had great service, a great time and wonderful accommodations.
My only complain would be the tiny little elevator! I guess it gives it character..... The rooms are small, even with an upgrade but they are in the true spirit of Kimpton Boutique hotels. Wish they would get out to Vegas... so I can visit one there! Come with an appetite for authentic Chinese food because you are directly in front of the ornate entry to Chinatown!!!

Room Tip: These are small but quiet rooms. If you can afford to upgrade, I suggest you do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadstraveledfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
#67 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Chinatown
Orchard Garden Hotel
Orchard Garden Hotel
#13 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#20 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
#55 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,560 reviews
Union Square
Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer
Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer
#88 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Triton? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Triton

Property: Hotel Triton
Address: 342 Grant Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94108-3607
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#56 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#56 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#58 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#71 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,150 - ₹ 35,913
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Triton 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Triton is a creative vision made real. Sprung from the imaginations of San Francisco artists, the Hotel Triton is a colorful and ever-current showcase of the pop culture that keeps this city vibrant. It is a welcoming wonderland that cares for you as if you were the Greek god for which the hotel is named. Across from the Chinatown gates, the Hotel Triton is conveniently located near San Francisco's top destinations and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Triton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing