We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We returned to our hotel to find transvestites in our room!”
Review of Travel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travel Inn
Ranked #174 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 28 March 2011

My friend and I checked in to our hotel and then went out to explore the city. When we returned, we opened our room to find two transvestites changing. They were preparing to meet men in our room.

It was a big mistake in which the hotel falied to double check to see if that was indeed their room before issuing them new key cards. They failed to properly compensate us for putting our security in jeopardy. The owner was very defensive and made up many bs excuses about why he should not refund us our full payment, even though he admitted that his staff did not follow policy.

If you would like to read about the full story, please go here: http://supervee.livejournal.com/61615.html

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank supervee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

135 - 139 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2011

We stayed here for two nights. Was in a good part of town. Great location for price - couldn't find any cheaper for quality. Too much to see in San Fran for 2 nights - will def come back to this hotel and stay longer. Free internet and parking, very clean and large room and very friendly check in staff. They also let us store our bags early which was great. Pretty much one of the best.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MariaJM1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLBear, Manager at Travel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2011

Thank You, Hope you will remember us for your next stay in San Francisco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2011

refurbed room.new bathroom & sink. in up market part of town.no breakfast but cheap restaurants by hotel.turn right out of hotel to find "buffalo wings". can catch a bus round the corner $2 for ride anywhere up to 4hrs return.receptionist brilliant.marked out a map where to go & not to go.always got a car park space.go over golden gate bridge views are better than 1st vista point.go to Sausalito.nice chilled out by marina.Union square & convention centre full of hobos.felt unsafe.Go to 17 street on thurs,fri & sat" Pashcide" & "bottom of the hill".both have live rock bands/music.bus outside goes back to hotel.brill stay in san francisco.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WestMidlandsSunlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLBear, Manager at Travel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2011

Thank You, Hope you will remember us for your next stay in San Francisco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2011

Just what we wanted for one night - clean, tidy, comfortable, close to restaurants, free parking (a bonus in that part of town), very friendly staff. Lovely.

Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
Thank KarolynTimarkos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLBear, Manager at Travel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2011

Thank You, Hope you will remember us for your next stay in San Francisco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2011

The location and price were great. The receptionist was friendly and helpful. The room was average and well-used. There was a frig, microwave and coffee maker. The bed was very average, as were the sheets. There were not fitted sheets. The bedspread was thin. The heater worked well. It was hard coming from Marriott bedding the night before to this room, but it was certainly worth the price and very adequate. We heard a bit of traffic noise. There was FREE parking which was wonderful. Less than 1 block to many wonderful restaurants.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catjja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLBear, Manager at Travel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2011

Thank You, Hope you will remember us for your next stay in San Francisco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Music City Hotel
#115 of 230 in San Francisco
419 reviews
Marina District
Marina Inn
Marina Inn
#172 of 230 in San Francisco
504 reviews
The Castro
Twin Peaks Hotel
Twin Peaks Hotel
#194 of 230 in San Francisco
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
San Francisco Inn
San Francisco Inn
#143 of 230 in San Francisco
153 reviews
Alexis Park San Francisco
#159 of 230 in San Francisco
139 reviews
Red Coach Motor Lodge
#150 of 230 in San Francisco
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travel Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Inn

Address: 2230 Lombard St, Hwy. 101 at Steiner Street, San Francisco, CA 94123-2704 (Formerly Travelodge Golden Gate San Francisco)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #174 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: ₹ 5,189 - ₹ 16,735 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travel Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Travel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Golden Gate San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Travel Lodge San Francisco
Travelodge San Francisco
San Francisco Travelodge
San Francisco Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing