We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice place, heavily touristed” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Ranked #74 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Rhinebeck, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice place, heavily touristed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

We had a great trip at the St. Francis. That being said, there were a few problems, and I do question the value for the price a bit.

Pluses included the beds, the room location (we were on the 28th Floor of the Tower); the size of the room; and the health club.

Negatives included the condition of the room (which could use a slight refresh, particularly the carpet); the noiseproofing, which was surprisingly poor; and the lobby area, which was extremely overcrowded with conventioners, overpriced coffee and food. Again, the negatives were not terrible, but just not in keeping with the purported quality of the hotel and its cost.

A bit about the noise. While the windows kept out street noise well, the neighbors all were audible just talking. I see this as a poor construction issue. It did not intrude too much, except around 5 or so when we wanted to nap while others were getting ready to go out.

All in all, I would recommend the St. Francis as a comfortable, extremely convenient hotel: especially if one can get a discounted price with features like included internet.

Room Tip: We didn't see the old section, but I would think twice about staying there if street noise is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

5,086 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,792
    1,717
    897
    439
    241
See reviews for
951
1,512
251
1,517
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,223)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012 via mobile

Weekend in San Fran before A Napa visit. Great location... Could walk almost everywhere. Clean rooms with a professional housekeeping staff. Best part... Room came with room service for breakfast... It was silly how fast there were each day... 15 minutes after the order... Nailed the food and the order each time! Well run hotel.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Aknowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
184 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

I have been going to San Francisco for business and pleasure for 30 years and have never had the opportunity to stay at the St. Francis until last month - it was great - the rooms were excellent and all very contempory. Of course the location was great if it is for business or pleasure. I would definitly bring my family here - everything worked perfectly with wonderful stay - I would high recomend - hands down!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012 via mobile

We had a room in the older part on the 5th floor. The room was a bit dull, but a good size. The bathroom was TINY! We had to request bathrobes. Someone tried to enter my room at 7am one morning, which I reported to the front desk but did not get a lot of comfort from them about it. The location is good for shopping, but be careful you ding make a wrong turn and end up in the Tendeyloin because it's a bit frightening there and it's only a few blocks from the hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shuboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

We stayed in the old side, overlooking a brick wall. This is not a problem for us, as we usually get back to our room after dark and leave to sight-see early every morning. Also, the quiet was more important to us than a view. We are traveling with two teenagers, so we booked this hotel based on price and bed space. We were pleasantly surprised at the size of the room. The rooms with two doubles are large with a little sitting area in front of the beds, with plenty of additional floor space, and a large, (deep, walk-in), closet. The bathroom was very small and not updated, but adequate for our use. The tub had soap scum, otherwise, everything appeared clean. The room was very quiet, and the beds very comfortable. For the price, it was great.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liliput14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#34 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,080 reviews
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Union Square
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
#80 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#7 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,578 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#29 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Property: The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Address: 335 Powell Street, Union Square, San Francisco, CA 94102-1804
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#53 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#58 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#61 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#73 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,056 - ₹ 36,848
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square 4*
Number of rooms: 1195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than just a hotel, The Westin St. Francis is a destination where you can unwind and be pampered by attentive, world-class service. As the only hotel located on Union Square, we are celebrated for our historic Magneta Grandfather Clock, a popular gathering place for generations of travelers, as well as our commitment to guest renewal and relaxation. Explore this legendary landmark, which has drawn locals and visitors for more than a century with our distinguished service and through the timeless refrain "Meet me under the clock!" Inside our warm and welcoming San Francisco luxury hotel, marble columns, ornate balconies, and intricate woodwork transport guests back to the elegance of yesteryear. Yet these magnificent appointments are balanced by modern, groundbreaking amenities including the revolutionary Heavenly Bed, our Starwood Preferred Guest rewards program, and employees dedicated to making you feel at home. Book one of our downtown San Francisco hotel rooms and discover the allure of the city's most charismatic and vital setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin St. Francis Hotel San Francisco
Westin St Francis
Westin San Francisco
Westin Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing