We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location in historic grand hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Ranked #70 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 29 June 2012

First time in SF, so this was a great starting point- right on the cablecar line, blocks from the Financial District, Chinatown. We got a great deal on a bidding site. The hotel is impressively grand. Front desk staff was very nice, room was quite large. We were in the "new section," and I've read that you lose the historical ambiance, but for us, it was just fine. The only issue was that due to its central location, some guy was raving from a megaphone for HOURS, so taking a nap during one of the days was a bust. I don't like bathrooms without fans, so that was a minus. During checkout, the concierge got us a private sedan for less than the cost of a taxi back to the airport, which we appreciated. SF is a beautiful city, and we did not have enough time to explore- there for 3 days, so I would suggest give yourself more time if possible (we tried to pack it in- Alcatraz, Chinatown/Chinese American Musuem, biked the GGB, Fisherman's Wharf, Financial District, Ghirardelli Square, Embarcadero Ferry Building, Haight-Ashbury, The Painted Ladies, Japantown, Fillmore area, Mission District). If you enjoy high-end shopping, Union Square is the center of it all. The Union Square area sadly has a large homeless population, we were at one point harassed by a mentally ill man- I write this not to scare people away, but to be truthful and keep you alert. During our trip, we were on foot or public transportation, and for us it was cheap and convenient- we bought a pass good for the entire trip (although I'm not sure if the subway line is included). For such a metropolitan city, that is the way to fully experience it. Overall, it is very worthwhile to stay here and a fun experience.

Room Tip: Newer rooms are the most spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank IYOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St_Francis_Responder, Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Dear IreneOhio:

Thank you so much for taking the time to evaluate your recent stay at The Westin St. Francis. As you mentioned, our location is great especially for the large list of attractions you planned to visit. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our Tower building while staying with us. We do have two unique buildings and so take pride in the storied history of our hotel. I do apologize for the outside disturbance that can occur in a location like ours, we do try our best to combat these by supplying ear plugs upon request. As for your mention of our concierge being so helpful I will make sure to relay this positive feedback.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the location and look forward to hosting you in the future. Feel free to contact me directly at 415-774-0317 or by e-mail at michael.smutzer@westin.com if you need help with any of your future accommodations.

Sincerely,

Michael Smutzer
Director of Rooms, The Westin St. Francis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (5,732)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,712 - 3,716 of 5,732 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2012

While on my USA tour in July 2011 we stayed in the Westin St Francis in San Francisco, the hotel is very good, everything is clean, the decor is amazing and in great condition!

We had a room that sadly had no view, that was a bit of a dispointment, but the beds were very comfortable, but sadly not big enough for two people in one.

The hotel is located right in front of Union Square and has easy access to all the great San Francisco attractions such as the cable cars and tour buses that take you to the Golden Gate bridge, loads of great shops and restaurants.

If you are on budget I dont recommend eating in the hotel as it is not cheap, it is alot cheaper to go to a local diner, which there are lots of about 200 metres or so outside the hotel entrance.

But overall a very nice hotel and I would go back again!

Room Tip: Try and get a room in the new section as you will get a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SebShire85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St_Francis_Responder, Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Dear LionTraveller1995:

We really appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay at The Westin St. Francis. We are so excited that you enjoyed your stay with us last year and found the look of our hotel to be to your liking. It is great that you were able to enjoy the detailed architecture and history behind our property.

We look forward to hosting you in the future during your next trip to San Francisco. If you should need any assistance booking your next reservation with us please contact me directly at 415-774-0317 or by e-mail at michael.smutzer@westin.com.

Sincerely,

Michael Smutzer
Director of Rooms, The Westin St. Francis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Seven years ago, we gave our newly-married daughter and her husband honeymoon accommodations at this hotel. My wife and I, two daughters and son-in-law recently returned there to attend my brother's wedding in Berkeley. All five of us were well-pleased with the hotel. Although the wedding was in Berkeley, we planned to spend most of our visit in San Francisco. The hotel location is excellent for that, with easy access by walking or public transportation to everywhere we wished to visit. It allowed us to avoid renting a car that would have been sitting more than used.

We loved the hotel itself, with all it's charm and history. It is a historic building, and has a few glitches - one of the bathrooms did not ventilate well and had some mildew on the ceiling. The cable TV signal would intermittently drop out and return. The AC unit tended to be a bit on the noisy side.

We very much appreciated the Green option of being rewarded for not requiring housekeeping every day. It allowed us to collect additional Starwood points on our account for future use. The hotel encourages recycling. Staff was attentive to our needs and concerns, and quick to respond.

All in all, a very enjoyable five day stay. Thank you.

Room Tip: They have suites available which are more spacious if you require same. Ours was a corner unit with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rgh1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St_Francis_Responder, Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2012

Dear rgh1949:

We really appreciate your flexibility in taking the time to review your recent stay at The Westin St. Francis. I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed the charm and storied history of our hotel. I apologize for the problems you experienced with the TV signal, ventilation fan and the noise from the HVAC unit. I will work with our Engineering Department to ensure the problems you described are investigated and corrected.

I am glad understand you were able to take advantage of our Make a Green Choice program in order to assist with saving water and energy, while reducing our carbon footprint.

We look forward to hosting you upon your next stay at The Westin St. Francis. Should you need any assistance please contact me directly at 415-774-0317 or by e-mail at michael.smutzer@westin.com.

Sincerely,

Michael Smutzer
Director of Rooms, The Westin St. Francis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Location was fantastic, right across the road from Union Square and the cable car goes right past the door. We stayed there 3 nights, unfortunately we were put in the old part of the hotel, not really knowing there was a new part. On our level there were meeting rooms and these meetings started at 6.30am in the morning and the attendees weren't particularly quiet using walkie talkies right outside our door. Also the rooms weren't very sound proof, so we heard everything going on the rooms next door and hallway, even the shower curtain being pulled across. After the 2nd night we asked for a room change, which they were fantastic about, upgraded the room type and put us in the new section. Our last night in San Franciso was bliss. We went out for breakfast each morning and even had dinner a couple of times in a place called Loris's Diner, just down the road towards the main shopping area, this was a 50's type diner with great music and booths with the old jukebox machine on the table. The decor was impressive with many 50's memorabilia.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room in the new wing, the old wing is very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St_Francis_Responder, Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2012

Dear Robyn P:

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Westin St. Francis. We are happy to hear that you were able to enjoy our great location right on Union Square, near the famous cable cars and right next to an abundance of shopping. I apologize that your room was near meeting rooms which caused extra commotion during your stay. During your next visit to San Francisco, I would be delighted to assist you with your accommodations so we may exceed your expectations.

We look forward to seeing you during your future stay at The Westin St. Francis. Please contact me directly at 415-774-0317 or by e-mail at michael.smutzer@westin.com so that I can assist with any requirements you may need.

Sincerely,

Michael Smutzer
Director of Rooms, The Westin St. Francis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

I could not have been happier with the Westin St. Francis. My husband, 4 month old daughter and I stayed there for a week in April. Having come from London we all were very jet lagged, but the staff were incredibly welcoming and gave us a nice corner room that had a small (dark) alcove for the baby's crib so she could nap more easily. Our first few nights my daughter was up from 2am - 6am PST and the midnight crew at the front desk were above and beyond hospitable. After a nice long chat with Joy in reception, later that day we received a copy of the children's book about St. Francis the Earthquake dog and a stuffed animal of the dog too. It was such a nice gesture and made our hotel room feel more "homey."

Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St_Francis_Responder, Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2012

Dear Amy C:

It is so exciting to hear that you and your familyenjoyed your accommodations andJoy’s thoughtful gifts. It is very important to me that our team provides personal and instinctive service. I will absolutely be certain to share your comments with Joy and the rest of our team, as I know they will feel elevated with your feedback!

We look forward to seeing you during your next visit to The Westin St. Francis. If you should need any assistance during future stay please contact me at 415-774-0317 or by e-mail at michael.smutzer@westin.com.

Sincerely,

Michael Smutzer
Director of Rooms, The Westin St. Francis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#32 of 230 in San Francisco
3,758 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#38 of 230 in San Francisco
4,915 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#28 of 230 in San Francisco
3,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
#95 of 230 in San Francisco
3,372 reviews
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#27 of 230 in San Francisco
1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Address: 335 Powell Street, Union Square, San Francisco, CA 94102-1804
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#53 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#58 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#60 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#73 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: ₹ 13,272 - ₹ 37,562 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square 4*
Number of rooms: 1195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than just a hotel, The Westin St. Francis is a destination where you can unwind and be pampered by attentive, world-class service. As the only hotel located on Union Square, we are celebrated for our historic Magneta Grandfather Clock, a popular gathering place for generations of travelers, as well as our commitment to guest renewal and relaxation. Explore this legendary landmark, which has drawn locals and visitors for more than a century with our distinguished service and through the timeless refrain "Meet me under the clock!" Inside our warm and welcoming San Francisco luxury hotel, marble columns, ornate balconies, and intricate woodwork transport guests back to the elegance of yesteryear. Yet these magnificent appointments are balanced by modern, groundbreaking amenities including the revolutionary Heavenly Bed, our Starwood Preferred Guest rewards program, and employees dedicated to making you feel at home. Book one of our downtown San Francisco hotel rooms and discover the allure of the city's most charismatic and vital setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin St. Francis Hotel San Francisco
Westin St Francis
Westin San Francisco
Westin Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing