We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My fav hotel in SF”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Ranked #68 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“My fav hotel in SF”
Reviewed 17 June 2012

I travel to SF 3 or 4 times a year and have stayed at many different places and just default here all the time now as the best and most consistent service and experience.

The last stay in May on vacation with my wife was no exception. I tend to prefer to not stay in the tower as I like the rooms in the main section with the higher ceilings and view of Union Square.

Room Tip: Ask to not be in the tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arneg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Dear arneg,

We are just thrilled to learn that you continually choose to stay with us when traveling to San Francisco. It is great to hear that you enjoy our Landmark Building with it’s storied history and amazing architecture. Thank you very much for your loyalty!

We look forward to assisting you on your future stays in San Francisco. If you should need anything upon your next stay please don’t hesitate to contact me by phone at 415-774-0317 or by e-mail at michael.smutzer@westin.com.

Sincerely,

Michael Smutzer
Director of Rooms, The Westin St. Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

5,539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,964
    1,879
    966
    463
    267
See reviews for
1,080
1,644
272
1,640
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,328)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
684 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

I have stayed at the St Francis many times over 40 years but this trip I had no choice as it was the conference hotel for the group I was part of. The changed Decor is primarily in the Powell Street lobby and features little seating which is a shame after guests have trudged the hills. My room was a queen single in the old part of the hotel which I recommend. The bath is large, the bed great and just enough room for everything the single traveler needs to do or bring with them. The closet has no door but with no guests that was not a problem. Many of the maids have challenges with English but they try hard to communicate. Prices for the restaurants are top of the line. The exercise facility is quite nice and large but not large enough for peak periods. Taxi service is a take a number and wait with unruly line management. Storing bags was efficient and quick. Location is good especially for a property centric meeting, however some of the exhibit spaces could use better lighting. All meeting services included break catering were well done.

Room Tip: Be sure to try the historic older portion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Dear brownman6,

We really appreciate you spending the time to review your experience during your last stay at the Westin St. Francis. I am just delighted to understand that you have continued to be our loyal guest during the past 40 years. We are truly honored to have maintained such a strong relationship with you and are so glad to read how much you enjoy our Landmark Building. Our Westin WORKOUT is a recent addition and it is great to hear that you had the chance to enjoy it. You have touched on so many different aspects of what our hotel has to offer and we are glad you took the time to share your experience for others to view, as well as giving me the opportunity to share it with our associates so we may continue to exceed our guest’s expectations.

We look forward to hosting you on your future stays at The Westin St. Francis. Should you need any assistance you may contact me at 415-774-0317 or by e-mail at michael.smutzer@westin.com.

Sincerely,

Michael Smutzer
Director of Rooms, The Westin St. Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

My wife and I are frequent travelers, and we've stayed at a countless number of Westin Hotels both in the US and outside. So when we had to make last minute hotel reservations in San Francisco we didn't give it much thought and booked 2 nights here. What a mistake. This hotel is not what we'd come to expect of Westin hotels. It's old and antiquated, and the rooms are in dire need of a renovation. Our room had a musty odor, and the rug looked like it wasn't cleaned since the 1960s. The noise from the street was unbearable, and when we complained to the front desk, they only replied that it would stop after 10 PM. You could not pay us enough to stay here again, and we're very disappointed that this hotel is considered part of the Westin chain.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MishandGore S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Dear MishandGore S,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent visit to The Westin St. Francis. I was terribly disappointed to understand your experience with us and would certainly appreciate an opportunity to speak with you directly regarding your visit. I would earnestly welcome such an opportunity so I may understand your challenges in further detail. It would be my pleasure to speak with you.

Please contact me by phone at 415-774-0317 or by e-mail at michael.smutzer@westin.com.
Sincerely,

Michael Smutzer
Director of Rooms, The Westin St. Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Superior, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012 via mobile

I just spent three nights at this property and was extremely disappointed. For the price I paid, it was not worth it. My bathroom looked like a chia pet with all the long black hairs. The Heavenly Bed was everything but heavenly and the overall room just felt very cramped. I will not return.

Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Supmariners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Dear Submariners,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Westin St. Francis. I sincerely apologize for the cleanliness of your room when you arrived at our hotel. While it is never pleasant to read a negative review, I sincerely appreciate the fact you have taken the time to provide it. Feedback allows me to focus upon anything less than outstanding so I may meet with the appropriate departments and assist to correct inconsistencies.

If you plan to visit San Francisco in the future, it would be my pleasure to assist you with future reservations to exceed your expectations. Please contact me by phone at 415-774-0317 or by e-mail at michael.smutzer@westin.com.

Sincerely,

Michael Smutzer
Director of Rooms, The Westin St. Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATL
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

The Westin St. Francis is classic San Francisco. From the moment you enter the lobby, you’ll feel the history and class of this hotel. The service is fantastic and the restaurants/bars are outstanding. This Union Square location is second to none, it doesn’t get any better or more convenient. I travel for business and/or pleasure 10+ days a month, and the St. Francis is one of my favorites.

Room Tip: The higher floors offer great views from any direction. Generally, I prefer the tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank McKay49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Dear Patrick M,

We are so glad to read that you continue to return to The Westin St. Francis for both business and pleasure. We completely agree with you regarding our iconic history, fantastic service and perfect location.

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay. We look forward to hosting you for your future visits to San Francisco. If you should need any assistance please reach out to me by phone at 415-774-0317 or by e-mail at michael.smutzer@westin.com.

Sincerely,

Michael Smutzer
Director of Rooms, The Westin St. Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#39 of 229 in San Francisco
4,687 reviews
Union Square
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
#97 of 229 in San Francisco
3,229 reviews
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#21 of 229 in San Francisco
3,216 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#32 of 229 in San Francisco
3,647 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#69 of 229 in San Francisco
3,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Property: The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Address: 335 Powell Street, Union Square, San Francisco, CA 94102-1804
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#53 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#57 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#60 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#73 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,026 - ₹ 48,610
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square 4*
Number of rooms: 1195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than just a hotel, The Westin St. Francis is a destination where you can unwind and be pampered by attentive, world-class service. As the only hotel located on Union Square, we are celebrated for our historic Magneta Grandfather Clock, a popular gathering place for generations of travelers, as well as our commitment to guest renewal and relaxation. Explore this legendary landmark, which has drawn locals and visitors for more than a century with our distinguished service and through the timeless refrain "Meet me under the clock!" Inside our warm and welcoming San Francisco luxury hotel, marble columns, ornate balconies, and intricate woodwork transport guests back to the elegance of yesteryear. Yet these magnificent appointments are balanced by modern, groundbreaking amenities including the revolutionary Heavenly Bed, our Starwood Preferred Guest rewards program, and employees dedicated to making you feel at home. Book one of our downtown San Francisco hotel rooms and discover the allure of the city's most charismatic and vital setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin St. Francis Hotel San Francisco
Westin St Francis
Westin San Francisco
Westin Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing