We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Grand Hotel in the #1 City” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Ranked #75 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
ATL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Grand Hotel in the #1 City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

The Westin St. Francis is classic San Francisco. From the moment you enter the lobby, you’ll feel the history and class of this hotel. The service is fantastic and the restaurants/bars are outstanding. This Union Square location is second to none, it doesn’t get any better or more convenient. I travel for business and/or pleasure 10+ days a month, and the St. Francis is one of my favorites.

Room Tip: The higher floors offer great views from any direction. Generally, I prefer the tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank McKay49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Dear Patrick M,

We are so glad to read that you continue to return to The Westin St. Francis for both business and pleasure. We completely agree with you regarding our iconic history, fantastic service and perfect location.

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay. We look forward to hosting you for your future visits to San Francisco. If you should need any assistance please reach out to me by phone at 415-774-0317 or by e-mail at michael.smutzer@westin.com.

Sincerely,

Michael Smutzer
Director of Rooms, The Westin St. Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

5,242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,847
    1,772
    920
    451
    252
See reviews for
984
1,558
262
1,570
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,260)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dfw,tx
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

Right in the heart of the hustle bustle of Union Square and convenient to most everything. This big, grand hotel is rich with history and beautiful in the lobby and hallways. While our room was very nice and the bed VERY comfortable, I didn't feel it was over the top for the price of the room. The service was good but nothing outstanding. If you plan to have a car make sure you budget in for $50 + per day for parking, not to mention the tips as you go in and out. I loved being able to step outside and go right to the trolley. There was a lot of activity at Union Square one night and we sat out and enjoyed just watching the people.

Room Tip: We were on a high floor so we didn't hear as much street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladyfrmtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Dear ladyfrmtx,

We very much appreciate you taking the time to review your recent visit to the Westin St. Francis on Union Square. I am just delighted to read that you enjoyed our hotel as well as our signature Westin Heavenly Bed. Regarding our ideal location, we are pleased you were able to enjoy the activity and all that Union Square has to offer.

As we hope to host you on your future stay to San Francisco I encourage you to contact me directly for any assistance. Please contact me directly at 415-774-0317 or by e-mail at michael.smutzer@westin.com.

Sincerely,

Michael Smutzer
Director of Rooms, The Westin St. Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012 via mobile

As the title says, you cannot beat the location,very central, tons of things to do. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The building is very nice, architecture and some stores in it. There is free wifi in the lobby and the speed was very good. As for the room, we where in the old part, which means that the room was relatively small for the price, but it seems that hotel are more expensive in San Francisco. It's just that the walls are a bit thin and we had to use ear plugs the first night because we had neighbors that talked until 03:00 in the morning. The bed was comfortable but you cannot put stuff in the mini fridge, you have to rent one if I understand correctly. If you don't mind everything that I've written and you get a good price, you can't beat the location.

Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank etaillefer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Dear etaillefer,

You are absolutely right about our location as it is right on Union Square and so close to a variety of other neighborhoods and world-class shopping. It’s great to hear that you were able to enjoy all of our staff around the hotel as well as the space in our lobby. I am sorry to hear about the noise in your room but glad that it was not a problem throughout your entire stay. I also apologize that there was confusion regarding a small refrigerator. We do provide small refrigerators, upon request, at no additional charge.

We really appreciate you taking the time to review your stay and give us feedback so we may continue to enhance our guest’s experiences. I would very much enjoy assisting you in the future should you need anything. Please contact me directly at 415-774-0317 or by e-mail at michael.smutzer@westin.com.

Sincerely,

Michael Smutzer
Director of Rooms, The Westin St. Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

Just back from a week long stay in beautifull San Francisco, stayed in the St Francis hotel right in the heart of this amazing city. The hotels location is perfect as a base for visiting the city with trolly stops out side the front door and street car stops a few mins walk away, also there are an abundance of bars, cafes , diners, eateries of all shapes and sizes within a stroll from the hotel.The hotel is definately the center piece of Union Square a beautifully designed building both outside and inside. The staff are very helpfull and friendly and nothing was a problem for them, we had an amazing room on 3rd floor which had views of Union Square it was big, bright very clean with a big bathroom and the quickest tea/coffee maker i have ever used. We did nt eat in the hotel mainly because the choice of eataries out side was too great and we wanted to try as many as we could but the hotels menus looked very tasty and reasonably priced.Taking everything into account I would give it 10/10, and when I return to San Fran i will deffinately stay there again.

Room Tip: The hotel is divided into 2 old and new we were in the old which is beautiful i would look for the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ciaran m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Dear Ciaran m,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Westin St. Francis. It was so great to hear about the positive experience that you witnessed while staying in San Francisco. You are right on with regards to all the activities and restaurants that are so close to our hotel.

We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to San Francisco. If there is anything we can help with during your future stay please reach out to me at 415-774-0317 or by e-mail at michael.smutzer@westin.com.

Sincerely,

Michael Smutzer
Director of Rooms, The Westin St. Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

This is a big, old beautiful hotel in a great location. Unfortunately it's not very well run. The staff is tentative and unhelpful. And it has an environmental program that was not well explained. Weston gives you $5 voucher to spend in the hotel if you enroll. But it's not just agreeing to skip a sheet change or re-use your towels. No this goes way beyond that. The Westin doesn't service your room at all. The cable service is spotty and the hotel charges $15/say for wifi. I won't stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BarbKnowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear BarbKnowles,

We are so sorry to hear that our Make a Green Choice program was not communicated to you effectively. Westin offers guests the Make a Green Choice program which provides an option for guests to decline housekeeping service to assist with the conservation of water, energy and other environmental resources. We appreciate your feedback so that we can better inform future guests before they choose to participate. As for amenities we offer, we do have complimentary Wi-Fi available in the lobby, which is a good alternative to the in-room usage fees.

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay. As we would like to help ensure that your next visit to San Francisco is a positive one, I encourage you to contact me directly for any assistance when booking your stay. You can reach me at415-774-0317 or by e-mail at michael.smutzer@westin.com.

Sincerely,

Michael Smutzer
Director of Rooms, The Westin St. Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#36 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,342 reviews
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
#90 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,052 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#4 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,558 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#20 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Property: The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Address: 335 Powell Street, Union Square, San Francisco, CA 94102-1804
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#53 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#58 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#60 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#73 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,342 - ₹ 33,377
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square 4*
Number of rooms: 1195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than just a hotel, The Westin St. Francis is a destination where you can unwind and be pampered by attentive, world-class service. As the only hotel located on Union Square, we are celebrated for our historic Magneta Grandfather Clock, a popular gathering place for generations of travelers, as well as our commitment to guest renewal and relaxation. Explore this legendary landmark, which has drawn locals and visitors for more than a century with our distinguished service and through the timeless refrain "Meet me under the clock!" Inside our warm and welcoming San Francisco luxury hotel, marble columns, ornate balconies, and intricate woodwork transport guests back to the elegance of yesteryear. Yet these magnificent appointments are balanced by modern, groundbreaking amenities including the revolutionary Heavenly Bed, our Starwood Preferred Guest rewards program, and employees dedicated to making you feel at home. Book one of our downtown San Francisco hotel rooms and discover the allure of the city's most charismatic and vital setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin St. Francis Hotel San Francisco
Westin St Francis
Westin San Francisco
Westin Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing