We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“visitor friendly”
Review of Hotel Majestic

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Majestic
Ranked #120 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 18 May 2012

from the minute we entered this hotel we were at home and sent back in time with all the needs of 21st century.rooms were perfect and had a wonderful feeling of wonder as i would think of the famous names that had stayed here.the food was the highlight of our stay as the meals were to die for.the bar staff were also great and all the answers.were lucky enough to meet the owner Mr Monty Patel and he couldn't have been more polite and made us feel like we were his personal guests,but i could not finish up without mentioning A J the manager,its hard to improve on perfection.Thanks to all for a fantastic stay.

Room Tip: ask for upgrade when checking in :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hugh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Majestic, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2015

Thank you for staying with us! We are all glad that you enjoyed your time with us. All our guests are important to us so we have to make sure everyone is happy. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (635)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

388 - 392 of 635 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2012

i read the reviews before i booked the hotel and what a shock when i arrived!

Ok i admit that i book one of the cheapest 3-star hotel around ($93USD). But i remember i had a better room staying at cheap 0-star hostel in Mexico. The carpet, wall paper, windows and fixtures were all in bad shape. Our room has a bad moldy smell. i don't have a problem with old stuff; but i've a problem with dirt. In fact there was a sign right at the entrance of the hotel saying there're materials in the hotel that could cause health problem - cancer, birth defect, etc. Now that's pretty hard to ignore.

i've a family of three staying there for a week. It's almost impossible to fit into the same bed, but we did manage. They don't have two double beds or larger beds because the room was so small. There was a constant humming noise coming from outside of the room.

The hotel staffs were great, now if only the hotel itself is any better. The hotel rating is misleading.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TellyJam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Majestic, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2015

We apologize for the inconveniences. Our hotel is old but it is clean, I assure you. A lot of hotels in San Francisco are small because that is just how they are built. Most of the hotels do not have the same sized rooms in their hotels. We try our best to provide the best for our guests. We do have a rollaway beds. We could have help you and your family feel comfortable if you asked us if we can send a rollaway bed to your room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

This was not our usual pleasure stay in San Francisco. A family member was having cancer surgery at UCSF and we wanted something affordable and close by. Our stay was for 2 nights in a "Queen Victorian" room and it was just as advertised and exceeded our expectations. The room was very clean, mattress comfortable, bathroom was handicapped accessible so it was larger than most old hotel bathrooms, the dinning was wonderful and we took full advantage of the bar! Parking was reasonable for San Francisco but not cheap. Staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful. We loved the old world charm and ambience and have recommended to everyone. Looking forward to staying here for pleasure.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank felinesStockton_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Majestic, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2015

Thank you so much for staying with us! We try to provide the best for our guests. Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

This hotel is strictly for people who are looking for an antique Victorian feel to their stay. The elevator for instance took forever to take us to our floor and back down. The upholstery looked rather old but thankfully wasn't smelly or dirty. The bathroom was rather modern compared to the rest of the room which was also quite small. However, all said and done, it was an interesting stay in one of the oldest hotels in the city.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janhavi309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Majestic, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2015

Thank you for staying with us! We are glad that you and your partner enjoyed spending your time in our hotel. The elevator is old so it does take some time. There are some things we need to keep modern in our hotel like the bathroom so our guests feel better about staying with us instead of dealing with the "back in the day" problems. Everything else is victorian decorated. We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

When in San Francisco we stay at The Hotel Majestic. While perhaps a little tired, this one-hundred and ten year old gem more than makes up for it in charm and decor. The various rooms and public places are furnished with period pieces and prints which lend to an ambiance of a time gone by. While we usually dine at one of the many wonderful restaurants on nearby Fillmore, breakfasts at The Hotel Majestic are quite good. And did I mention affordable? For a quintessential San Francisco experience, look no further.

Room Tip: The cost of a suite is insignificant and well worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Majestic, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2015

Thank you for staying with us. We are glad that you enjoyed spending your time in our hotel. We try to provide the best we can for out guests. Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Queen Anne Hotel
#79 of 230 in San Francisco
659 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#87 of 230 in San Francisco
2,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Grant Hotel
The Grant Hotel
#133 of 230 in San Francisco
1,067 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Fusion
Hotel Fusion
#123 of 230 in San Francisco
1,298 reviews
Japantown
Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Majestic? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Majestic

Address: 1500 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94109-5307
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: ₹ 7,842 - ₹ 18,961 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Majestic 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Majestic known for its enchanting romantic décor is a popular choice among visitors traveling to San Francisco. This classic European-inspired boutique hotel is just a short ten blocks away from the Union Square shops and restaurants of Downtown. Located in the Pacific Heights neighborhood, our quiet surroundings offer a conveniently located romantic escape from the many noises of Downtown San Francisco. It survived the Great Earthquake of 1906 and is rich with history, Edwardian architecture, and even ghost stories. At this boutique hotel in San Francisco, travel back in time, to the turn of the century! With royal bedding draped over the four-poster beds, plush carpeting, soft seating, accent furnishings, and beautiful artwork we aspire to provide only the best for our guests! Our bathrooms are just as unique as our guest rooms! Magenta marbled wash basins, brass faucets, extra large mirrors, antique decorative lighting, textured wall coverings, and of course claw-foot tubs with full-length goose neck showers to preserve the glamour of the Majestic. Recently renovated with modern comforts, all our guestrooms are equipped with flat screen televisions with premium channels, complimentary Wi-Fi, elevated pillow top beds with soft duvet covers and cool pillows, a snack basket and honor bar for purchase, hairdryer, electronic safe, iron and ironing boards, bath robes are just the standard amenities that come in each guest room! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Majestic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel San Francisco
Majestic San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing