We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Ranked #4 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Diego
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Diappointing”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I knew it was a small hotel but geeezzzz....the lobby is the size of a large bathroom....only one person works there. Our room was also very small, but comfortable. They promise you breakfast each day....we only got it once. It was very nice the first day...lots of small, but nice choices...muffins, bagels, scones OJ, cereal, hard boiled eggs....only one table in another very small area. The second morning was a disaster....only decaf coffee and one tiny croissant was available....what the heck? I called the front desk and was told someone called in sick. I felt terrible for the guy working....he was very nice and seemed embarrassed. They also had a nice wine setup the first night too....descent looking wine and several cheeses and crackers. The best thing I can say is the location is awesome and it was the quietest hotel I've ever stayed at.

Room Tip: Our view was a brick wall...not sure if all are that way or not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank susiemcbride92124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAUSManager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Inn at Union Square and for sharing your comments. We strive to provide every guest with an exceptional experience however it appears we fell short of that goal during your visit. We do our best to anticipate and mitigate issues before they affect our guests but were caught off guard by extenuating circumstances. Our sincere apologies that the issue effected your stay. We have reviewed this incident to ensure this will not repeat in the future. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,
Norbert Mede
General Manager
Inn at Union Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,144
    387
    68
    19
    8
See reviews for
173
1,002
89
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We did not have any special deal, but simply reserved a room on the hotel website. It was not as expensive as I thought it would be for downtown San Francisco and I was pleasantly surprised by the care and attention shown by the entire staff from front desk, to bellman, to housekeeping.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petarandreev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bombay
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Me an my husband stayed here for 3 weeks and I felt so much at home! Lovely helpful staff.
Very clean, free WiFi, lovely location what else do you need!

It was hard to leave the place...
I shall be back!

Best Wishes to The Inn at Union Square and each of the Staff Members!

Regards
Gauri Gupte

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GauriMohile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We had a nice time at the Inn. The rooms were a bit dated and the carpet is probably clean but looks like it needs a cleaning. The rooms are pleasent but I could see in the summer it would be a problem with no air conditioning. The rooms were too warm for me on a 70 degree day and we were on the 5th floor.
The wine and cheese and breakfasts were lovely and gave us a chance to meet other guests. The staff were lovely and everyone goes out of their way to be helpful. We had a couple small issues but they were taken care of quickly and efficiently.
The location is in the thick of everything.
Honestly this is more like a bed and breakfast. I felt like I was at my home away from home.

Room Tip: The 5th floor was nice with the wine and cheese and breakfast served right on that floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank corny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, Illinois, United States
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

The Inn was the perfect place to stay for our long weekend. The room was nice and cozy. The breakfast in the morning was a great way to start the day whether you want to grab a tray and enjoy a romantic breakfast in bed or getting something to take as you head out to explore. The early evening wine and cheese was the perfect way to start the evening and especially nice if you have late dinner plans and want a little snack.
Nestled right in the midst of union square, we walked to Chinatown, North Shore, and to the Wharf. Wonderful relaxing, romantic weekend. Would be my first choice to stay in SF again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,244 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#14 of 229 in San Francisco
5,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#15 of 229 in San Francisco
2,781 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 229 in San Francisco
474 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#7 of 229 in San Francisco
1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel

Property: The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Address: 440 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#48 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,448 - ₹ 35,895
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Union Square is a stylish San Francisco hotel retreat away from the crowds, but in the center of it all. Located in the heart of Union Square, guests of our boutique hotel can experience the exceptional variety of things to do in San Francisco. Enjoy pleasantly-appointed guest rooms, complimentary Continental breakfast, an evening cheese and wine reception, a business center and access to a fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Union Square Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At Union Square
At Union Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing