We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,184)
Filter reviews
4,184 results
Traveller rating
2,607
877
369
184
147
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,607
877
369
184
147
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nob hill laurel court gingerbread house beautiful hotel tower room presidents club tonga bar rooftop garden classic hotel main building walk in closet room service cable car lines grace cathedral beautiful room coit tower union square
Filter
Updating list...
1,790 - 1,795 of 4,184 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2016

First of all, even if you do not stay here, GO TO THE TONGA ROOM! It is like a slice of Hawaii in the basement of a fancy hotel! There is a rain shower every 15 min or so, and the drinks are huge and STRONG!

As for the hotel, it is beautiful, clean and the beds are really comfortable! The room service is great and the staff is ridiculously friendly!

If you are on foot, be aware. San Fran hills are nasty, and this hotel is on top of a hill that is surrounded by other hills.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kcormier401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Director at Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2016

Thank you for your kind words about the hotel. We're thrilled to hear you had such a nice visit and enjoyed Tonga Room. It is definitely one of a kind and not to be missed! Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Lucas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2016

Very friendly Staff, the rooms very comfortable.
It is a Luxury Hotel with nice amenities and the beds are very comfortable, where you can have a nice night sleep.
The IN room Minibar has a very good variety; however be careful not to move any item from its location, since after 15 seconds out of its place they will charge it automatically to your room account. the very firs day of our arrival I took some almonds in order to read the label, when I read that after 15 seconds they will charge us for it.
I called front desk and immediately they fixed it!

Room tip: Rooms with no city view are quieter.
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hector E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Director at Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2016

Thank you for your kind words about the hotel. We're thrilled to hear you had such a nice visit and enjoyed such great service. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Lucas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2016

Beautiful building, nice clean rooms and good restaurant on premisses. Comfy beds and nice fixtures. The location is fantastic. Fun place to be. A short Uber to everything. A little noisy late in the evening but who doesn't mind hearing cable car bells? Very expensive but well worth it.

Date of stay: August 2016
1  Thank U9897URscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Director at Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2016

Thank you for your kind words about the hotel. We're thrilled to hear you had such a nice visit and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Lucas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2016

Very nice hotel in most all aspects. Beautiful older hotel that has been updated. Service is excellent and the hotel goes above and beyond to make sure everything is OK.. Rooms are large, with large walk in closets. Room was very quiet and clean. Our bed was not the most comfortable, but otherwise the room was exceptional. Location of hotel is great. Cable cars and taxis are near by, and Union Square is a short walk down the hill. Nice health club at hotel. The only drawback of the hotel is the dining is over the top expensive and the quality was not the highest. The hotel is a little pricey, but compares favorably with other hotels in the area

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank DavidO1901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Director at Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2016

Thank you for your kind words about the hotel. We're thrilled to hear you had such a nice visit and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Lucas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2016

This hotel is exactly as advertised: an elegant, historic property with impeccable service. We stayed in a one bedroom corner suite that had fantastic views of the city and was stylishly decorated, right down to the tripod-mounted brass telescope. The beds were extremely comfortable - even the rollaway, which was deemed by one of my kids to have the most comfortable mattress they had ever slept on. Put simply, this is one of the finest hotels in SF. I wouldn't hesitate to return.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riobard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Director at Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2016

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. I'm pleased to hear you found the hotel excellent and enjoyed superb service. We are very fortunate to be located atop Nob Hill and so centrally located in the City. Thank you again for your kind review and we hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Lucas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews