We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,704)
Filter reviews
3,704 results
Traveller rating
1,079
1,320
754
353
198
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,079
1,320
754
353
198
Show reviews that mention
All reviews starlight room scala's bistro union square yoga mat lobby bar historic hotel wine hour cable car top floor rooms are small an older hotel queen room powell st valet parking fisherman's wharf few blocks public transportation
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 3,704 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Perfect location- union square right below it. Close to basically everything. The main entrance of hotel very classy, elegant. The rooms are lovely.. small- but lovely. Restaurant in the hotel (Scala) is beautiful, very pricey however. They had a happy hour between 5-6 in the hotel for free wine. Which was great. We did email them before hand saying it was our honeymoon and nothing nice was done for us. All of our other hotels on this holiday supplied a little something. Unfortunately, not at the Sir Francis Drake. Lifts are awful. Slow, and never working. All in all, we did enjoy it!! I would stay again for its location.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SLK20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I stayed for four nights , as part of our honeymoon trip to San Francisco and Vegas.

We booked via Virgin Holidays so had high expectations .

We had a pick up arranged from the airport And arrived mid afternoon.

I had previously emailed hotel to advise that it was our honeymoon and requested some champagne in our room for plough arrival.

My wife had also emailed the hotel , but sadly both emails went unanswered.

Our virgin rep had called a week earlier to check on our itinerary and we’d mentioned this, so was assured that he would speak to them and sort this.

Needless to say there wasn’t anything waiting in our room when we arrived .

Our check in was clinical and efficient but with no offer of help with our bags to our rooms. No friendly small talk either from the check in staff.

Our room was a major disappointment. Small and poorly furnished with no coffee making facilities or fridge . Just some miniatures in a drawer .

Due to a local strike / protest with local hotel employees ( not this hotel) there was constant noise outside our hotel room which meant we didn’t sleep well at all on our first night.

We raised next morning and a very helpful lad at reception arranged for another room at the back of the hotel which proved to be much quieter .

However , the same poor room furnishings meant we couldn’t hang our clothes properly. Bed was uncomfortable and bathroom tiny with a tatty old stained sink and bath.

We were really unhappy with the quality of the room and general reception received so we raised with our virgin rep Adam, who was excellent I must stress in dealing with our concerns .

It also transpired that he had actually delivered champagne a week prior to the hotel with some basic instructions but sadly the hotel mislaid it/ forgot etc .

Adam contacted the hotel again and we were eventually given the champagne on our last night with no apology or reason given.

There are some good points to mention:

The bar staff in the hotel bar are very attentive and very helpful giving drink suggestions (gin varieties etc) and also restaurant recommendations .

Late night bar on 21st floor Plus the diner / restaurant below are both worth a visit. But sadly that’s it. It feels a tired hotel that may be suitable for short business stays.
as Location is central for the city , but that’s really all it has going for it.

We didn’t enjoy our stay and despite Seeing some great sites in San Francisco we couldn’t wait to leave .

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Roger_Mellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David V, General Manager at Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Roger. Thank you for sharing this with us. This is definitely not the experience we intend for our guests--- especially those travelling so far to enjoy their honeymoon.

Aside from setting up a welcome amenity to those celebrating a special occasion with us, we also try our best to upgrade the room based on our availability. With our recent refresh project for all our guest rooms, we have had limited room availability--- but this is definitely not an excuse for our team to not provide an enjoyable stay. We apologize that we fell short of this during your time with us.

We're glad you enjoyed your visit to the Starlight Room and our Scala's Bistro and your time with our lobby bar attendants. If you're future travels bring you back through San Francisco, please reach out to us directly. We'd like to make it up to you and help you book a discounted and upgraded reservation for your next visit. Thank you, and congratulations again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in the hotel for 3 nights - room 408. The room was small - as to be expected in a city centre hotel.

The hotel describes itself as boutique. It is a beautiful cathedral proportioned building. The rooms are not uniform like the Hilton, but do not measure up to boutique by UK standards.

The hotel is in a great location - within easy walking distance of China Town, the cable cars etc and is surrounded by bars/restaurants. We were able to walk to our car hire depot too.

There are no tea/coffee making facilities in the room - you can request a coffee maker. The coffee shop on the ground level in the hotel is open from 6am and there is also a Starbucks within a few steps of the hotel - the hotel coffee shop is better.

The hotel provides water in the rooms - $4 for a small bottle and $6 for a large - it should be free! However, the hotel gave us a $10 voucher each day which can be redeemed against anything other than the room rate.

Our room had an iron / ironing board / TV and yoga mat!

Even on the 4th floor we could hear Street noise. If you want to sleep well - aim high.

We visited the Stardust bar / club on the 21st floor. Great views of the city and a fun place to dance. The drinks are pricey- we had 2 G&Ts each for $70.

We had breakfast in the coffee shop on our last morning. Lovely food, surroundings and staff. We each had fresh fruit with granola and yogurt, fresh OJ, coffee toast for $65.

Location hard to beat if you are visiting as a tourist.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DonaldF346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I love Kimpton Hotels so this was a no-brainer for a recent business trip. I was there with others from my company from other cities and they all liked it too. The lobby and bar were a great respite from a long day. The room was quiet, clean and had a comfy bed. I also love the location because it's close to shopping and some fun restaurants. I also love the guy out front in the costume...so classy!

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sactojoe2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2018 via mobile

This hotel is in a super location with a 1920’s vibe to the hotel. The suite room was roomy and the bed very comfortable, as a Brit having Premiership footy was a excellent touch. The lifts are unpredictable and you can wait rather a long time to get up and down to the lobby, we used the stairs on a couple of occasions, but they do have an old charm to them.. However my average rating is due to the rude and rather horrible bar staff in the Sky bar...which soured our visit and let down the overall stay and the staff who on the whole are excellent..

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank betsylizsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews