We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Ranked #33 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

Good location, walking distance to union square, convenient for shopping. parking rate is too high, USD58/per day.

NIce hotel, celan room, confortable bed. but bell service is not meet our expectation. Bell boy seems not willing to help.

Room Tip: There's a public parking just opposite the hotel on 5th street only charges USD32/day
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gracerong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,789
    1,918
    607
    159
    96
See reviews for
860
880
170
2,037
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (962)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Thanks to Marriott for another nice stay. Consistent with other major city properties, this one did not dissapoint. From the View Lounge to rooms, all in all a nice stay. I would caution guests that the breakfast is quite pricey. A trip acroos the street to Mels will get you a better meal for half the price. Of course being San Francisco the rooms are small but comfortable. Its a recommendation from me.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coastalbrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-Marquis, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Good day,

Thank you for being our guest... And for giving us all of your honest feedback. "Point well taken". We are excited to share, that we are in the process of guest room renovations! Hope we will have the chance for you to stop by on your next visit.

Sincerely, S.F. Marriott Marquis~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

BIg, bustly and noisy the Marriott SF Marquis is a hub of activitiy that's centrally located to the Moscone Center if you're so inclined to visit a trade show or conference. Kinda worn, a bit cheesy in the brass/mirror theme, and really -- the carpets do need a redo, please. The W is just down the street and so much more upscale. The room service menu keeps shrinking, the towel girth does the same, and the toilet paper is now one ply. Are we skimping, management? Time for a refresh. Especially for the $390 a night rate. I would expect more than 100 count thread sheets and holiday inn towels. Really. The View still has spectacular vistas from floor 39 -- and the staff is very very friendly. Please just update your infrastructure, though. This is no longer acceptable. Thanks your forever Marriott Gold Member.

Room Tip: 2341 is nice corner without an east morning blast. Do keep the blackouts closed as building reflecti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
215 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

Attended a convention at the Moscone convention center (about a block away) and stayed at this Marriott. I arrived late and breezed thru checkout. The desk person even got me a bottle of water as the shoppe was closed by 11pm. My room was clean and the bed comfortable. Nice flat screen tv. Starbucks in the hotel was a plus. Staff was helpful and friendly. Hotel is close to lots of shoppes and a stop for the cable cars.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-Marquis, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Good day,

Thank you for choosing us... Glad to know you enjoyed your stay, and found our staff helpful and curious.

Please come and be our guest again at the S.F. Marriott Marquis~

Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

This is a good enough hotel if you are only here for a couple of days and need to be close to the convention center (Moscone). The positives: excellent location, comfortable bed, big rooms friendly staff. Negatives: this hotel really needs to be renovated. Since it is old, it did not look very clean, although it probably was as clean as any hotel. I have stayed at the W, St. Regis, and Westin Market Street for conventions at Moscone and all those were better than the Marriott Marquis...

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peanut5774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-Marquis, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Thank you for staying with us, we value your feedback and suggestions.... We are exited to share the great news! We will began guest room renovations and should be completed by the end of 2013.

Please do visit with us again, at the S.F. Marriott Marquis~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#32 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,829 reviews
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
SoMa
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
#61 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#38 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,420 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
#59 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Property: San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Address: 780 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3113
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#45 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,894 - ₹ 32,549
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francisco Marriott Marquis 4*
Number of rooms: 1500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Francisco Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Marriott Marquis Hotel San Francisco
Marriott San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing