We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn by the Bay(San Francisco)
US$ 404
US$ 199
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 395
US$ 253
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 266
US$ 237
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$ 301
US$ 251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$ 265
US$ 259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 325
US$ 302
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
da Vinci Villa(San Francisco)
US$ 232
US$ 208
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 229
US$ 209
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Taj Campton Place(San Francisco)
US$ 449
US$ 321
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$ 262
US$ 218
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (6,486)
Filter reviews
6,486 results
Traveller rating
2,975
2,429
745
205
132
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,975
2,429
745
205
132
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe view loungem clubthe concierge loungegreat locationunion squareconvention hotelmoscone centertop floorlarge hotelbusy hotelcorner roommarket streetbusiness triplobby barbart stationper daycable car
Filter
Updating list...
5,125 - 5,130 of 6,486 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Thanks to Marriott for another nice stay. Consistent with other major city properties, this one did not dissapoint. From the View Lounge to rooms, all in all a nice stay. I would caution guests that the breakfast is quite pricey. A trip acroos the street to Mels will get you a better meal for half the price. Of course being San Francisco the rooms are small but comfortable. Its a recommendation from me.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coastalbrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-Marquis, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

Good day,

Thank you for being our guest... And for giving us all of your honest feedback. "Point well taken". We are excited to share, that we are in the process of guest room renovations! Hope we will have the chance for you to stop by on your next visit.

Sincerely, S.F. Marriott Marquis~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

BIg, bustly and noisy the Marriott SF Marquis is a hub of activitiy that's centrally located to the Moscone Center if you're so inclined to visit a trade show or conference. Kinda worn, a bit cheesy in the brass/mirror theme, and really -- the carpets do need a redo, please. The W is just down the street and so much more upscale. The room service menu keeps shrinking, the towel girth does the same, and the toilet paper is now one ply. Are we skimping, management? Time for a refresh. Especially for the $390 a night rate. I would expect more than 100 count thread sheets and holiday inn towels. Really. The View still has spectacular vistas from floor 39 -- and the staff is very very friendly. Please just update your infrastructure, though. This is no longer acceptable. Thanks your forever Marriott Gold Member.

Room Tip: 2341 is nice corner without an east morning blast. Do keep the blackouts closed as building reflections are severe. Noise from music and drummers on corner below -- open windows at your own risk.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Attended a convention at the Moscone convention center (about a block away) and stayed at this Marriott. I arrived late and breezed thru checkout. The desk person even got me a bottle of water as the shoppe was closed by 11pm. My room was clean and the bed comfortable. Nice flat screen tv. Starbucks in the hotel was a plus. Staff was helpful and friendly. Hotel is close to lots of shoppes and a stop for the cable cars.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-Marquis, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Good day,

Thank you for choosing us... Glad to know you enjoyed your stay, and found our staff helpful and curious.

Please come and be our guest again at the S.F. Marriott Marquis~

Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

This is a good enough hotel if you are only here for a couple of days and need to be close to the convention center (Moscone). The positives: excellent location, comfortable bed, big rooms friendly staff. Negatives: this hotel really needs to be renovated. Since it is old, it did not look very clean, although it probably was as clean as any hotel. I have stayed at the W, St. Regis, and Westin Market Street for conventions at Moscone and all those were better than the Marriott Marquis...

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peanut5774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-Marquis, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Thank you for staying with us, we value your feedback and suggestions.... We are exited to share the great news! We will began guest room renovations and should be completed by the end of 2013.

Please do visit with us again, at the S.F. Marriott Marquis~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

I spent 3 days here for a telecom tradeshow and it was excellent all around...from their public spaces to their conference facilities to their rooms. The only complaint was there was a limited amount of restaurants and the ones that were there were quite pricey. Good location as well.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaryinOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-Marquis, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Hello,

Thank you for staying with us, we value your positive feedback and great suggestions also!

Please do visit with us again, at the S.F. Marriott Marquis~ Cheers....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews