We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Whitcomb Experience History, Comfort and Affordable Downtown”
Review of Hotel Whitcomb

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Whitcomb
Ranked #182 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
rigsbyml@hotmail.com
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hotel Whitcomb Experience History, Comfort and Affordable Downtown”
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Last trip to San Francisco we stayed in the Union Square Hilton. This time we chose another hotel. We wanted to stay in the Union Square area, however in summer all area hotels are a premium. If you are used to a last minute deal on one of the online travel sites you will probably not get a very good deal. Rather we reserved early and still saved about $100 dollars a night by staying a bit off the square, but still close to BART, MUNI and the Square. We chose the historic Hotel Whitcomb Rather than $260.00 - 350.00 per night we stayed for &199.00 per night. Now that we know their priceline discount rate we will call the desk next time and explain to them we used an online service last time and ask if they can sweeten the deal. Many times they will knock another $30-50 per night. Face it they have to pay the online providers a fee.

There are homeless in this area but none were problematic.

Whitcomb is located about 50 feet from the Civic Center BART location at 8th and Market Streets and about 3 long blocks from Powell and Market. The MUNI stop for the F Line and several other MUNI lines is about 30 feet from the hotel lobby. From there you can be down town in 5 minutes even in tight traffic, just jump off and see the historic trolleys turning at Powell and Market and up the hill (west) is Union Square.

Room Tip: We stayed on an interior wing. No view, but we don't pay for that. We prefer a quiet room for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank txsrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,955 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    645
    731
    786
    441
    352
See reviews for
521
913
240
553
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Paltz, New York
Level Contributor
174 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

The Hotel Whitcomb, a historic hotel (temporary site of City Hall after the 1906 SF earthquake) will impress you as you enter the lobby with its marble columns, a huge balcony, crystal chandeliers, wood paneling, and a stained-glass ceiling in the bar area. (I've read that there is still a small jail in the basement too!) There are other remnants of its days as City Hall throughout the building.
The rooms that I have stayed in (I've been there twice) are adequate and clean. The few requests that I had (we were missing the TV remote and washcloths) were immediately resolved and the management and staff are extremely pleasant and helpful. It is a hotel that serves its purpose as a place to stay with easy access to public transportation and walking distance to many of SF's theaters and a great diner across the street. Although I would not wander the streets at night because of its location, I was very comfortable and felt safe in my immediate surroundings.
My second visit was during the summer, and I noticed that many of the guests were families and tourists waiting for their buses to arrive in the morning. This is an inexpensive (particularly off season) pleasant place to stay especially when you have places to go and things to do!

Room Tip: If bed size is important, make sure you qualify that at time of booking. Rooms on higher floors have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank retiredandtraveling5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hotel Whitcomb and for posting your feedback about your stay. We are very pleased to know that the service and value were particularly excellent. I will be sharing this review with the staff so they know they are doing a great job.

Thanks Again.

Kris Betz, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

A Historic Hotel....beautiful tiffany glass cieling in reception/lobby area. Across the street from the Orpheum Theatre, where we saw Le Miz.
The rooms are small, virtually no closet, mattresses old, bathroom/shower combo EXCEPTIONALLY small and the exhaust fan stays on whenever you turn the bathroom light on.
The hair dryer mounted on the wall almost fell off because the screws were loose, and the toilet paper kept coming off for the same reason. Annoyed. Assume housekeeping and maintenance dont communicate. Or maybe there is no maintenance staff.
Would not stay there again.
Outside area surrounded by homeless...

Room Tip: Find another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rosy1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your comments about your stay. We have read these comments and will be making chages to some areas based on your feedback. We appreciate you giving us your thoughts so we can address these areas quickly.

Thanks Again.

Kris Betz, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Yes I know the area is not the ideal location in San Francisco but travelling from the airport via the BART it is easy to find your way to with heavy cases and 2 teenagers (BART station at Civic Centre- 2 mins walk from the Hotel). We found the staff were helpful and the rooms large enough for 4 people with clean towels and bed sheets. However we did find the comfortable soft mattresses not good for our backs. We stayed for 5 nights on floor 2 and not far to walk to Union Square to catch the trams, yes there are homeless around the Burger King opposite but they did not cause us any trouble.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the HOtel Whitcomb anf for taking time to post your comments about your stay. We are pleased to know that your stay was good and the location worked for your travel needs. We do hope that if you return to the US from the UK you stay with us again.

Thanks.

Kris Betz, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guanacaste
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2012

This was our second stay at the Whitcomb and we couldn't be happier. We had a spacious room, with a view up Hayes St. and an unbelievable bed. We are still trying to figure out how to get one of those beds home with us. Our bathroom was huge with classic fixtures to add to the charm of this historic building.

The location is with in walking distance of some of the "must see" sights but if you're not interested in walking, there's both a BART and MUNI stop, just out the front door. With a Starbucks in the ground floor, to jump start the morning, I don't really see what more you could ask for in a place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zameloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post another great review. We are always pleased to know that we have people who return to stay with us. I will make sure to share this review with the staff so they know we had another satisfied customer. Hope to see you again soon!


Kris Betz, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Fr...
#119 of 228 in San Francisco
1,169 reviews
Serrano Hotel
#98 of 228 in San Francisco
2,543 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#187 of 228 in San Francisco
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#126 of 228 in San Francisco
759 reviews
SoMa
Carriage Inn
Carriage Inn
#139 of 228 in San Francisco
294 reviews
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#89 of 228 in San Francisco
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Whitcomb? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Whitcomb

Property: Hotel Whitcomb
Address: 1231 Market Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-1400
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #182 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,205 - ₹ 19,571
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Whitcomb 3.5*
Number of rooms: 460
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Whitcomb reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitcomb Hotel San Francisco
Whitcomb San Francisco
Whitcomb San Fransico
Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing