We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very funky and great fun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #19 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very funky and great fun”
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Just loved this hotel. Rooms are a good size, comfortable and clean. Staff were very helpful, car parking is a great help in this city, and a great heated pool to swim in. We will definately use it again next time.

Room Tip: All the rooms face inwards so I guess they are all pretty quite. Ours was near the entrance and we d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoforiTCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

898 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    457
    297
    87
    37
    20
See reviews for
161
293
68
142
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

(we stayed there in August 2011 and this is a reprint of my review on another site)
This is a cool place and definitely not the usual hotel. There are lots of Rockers and Euro tourists with kids and the place oozes a great vibe. The patio, bar and pool are all terrific and the only downside is the rooms could use some new carpeting etc, they seem a little worn. The place is bordering the Tenderloin neighborhood and if you go east, you will discover the volume of SF's homeless issue. However, in all other directions the walk to transportation is quite safe and easy. Your are only two blocks north of Civic Center and there is a fantastic Farmers Market as well. The hotel offers free parking and continental breakfast and for SF these are real bargains and shouldn't be taken lightly. The staff was fantastic. We would definitely return and have already recommended to some local friends for City overnights.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bonnie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ogden
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

I went to the US Open in San Francisco 6/10-18/2012. When I got my tickets I made reservations immediately at several hotels including the Phoenix Hotel. I then tracked the reviews, costs, proximity to transportation and places I wanted to go, parking, etc for all hotels for almost a year. Ultimately I chose Phoenix Hotel and could not have made a better choice.
After reading most of the reviews it appeared that noise and location were the greatest concerns of previous visitors.
I am by no means "street smart" and the 8 days I was in San Francisco was the longest time I had ever been in a metropolitan enviornment. The neighborhood is typical of most in town. You will encounter people sleeping on the sidewalk but I was never bothered by them. Pay attention to what is going on around you. Take a cab if you are uncomfortable. I walked to and from BART and Metro several times every day and at no time was I uncomfortable. I made an effort not to be out after dark so I do not know if the situation changes.
As for the noise on the pool deck and from the street. There were no bands so that was not an issue. I was woken only once the first night by street noise. Saturday and Sunday afternoon the pool deck is open for brunch and there is a DJ who stops at 6. After that it was really quiet. No slamming doors. No noise from adjoining rooms. Louvered window by door open 24/7.
Friendly and helpful front desk staff. Saved paper for me every day and gave me great assistance in getting around the area on mass transit.
New furniture was delivered while I was there.
Free parking for 1 car. You will find this nowhere else in the city. A friend was also allowed to park for free one evening.
Front desk staff watched carefully who was entering the hotel and using the pool deck and were to afraid to evict uninvited/unwelcome visitors.
My room was large, comfortable and a great value.
No A/C but open windows, ceiling fans and available fans make the room comfortable.
BART and Metro 5 blocks-easy walk.
Plenty of water pressure and hot water.

Room Tip: Deluxe Rooms with private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steven l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

I booked this hotel after reading the reviews on here, so was aware what others were saying about the neighbourhood. Being a seasoned traveller i wasn't too worried about the presence of homeless people but this trip i was traveling with a 5 mth old and 22 mth old, My Father and Sister and her family who haven't travelled anywhere before. 8 of us stayed for 2 nights (Sunday and Monday)
Smooth and hassle free check in. Visually beautiful courtyard, Lots and cool cats lounging around listening to 'mellow tunes'
We all had the double deluxe rooms. I had requested 2 cots or CRIBS as they are known there and could only have 1, as thats all there was in th hotel, lucky for me i padded the 5 mth old with pillows and she slept on the middle on one of the beds. Beds comfy, i felt they were slightly small for a couple.
Staff very cool for school and couldnt have been more helpful with booking airport shuttle or giving recommendations etc. We walked with a 2 seater pram (stroller) all around the area, and although the presence of people sleeping rough was apparent everyone was friendly enough and not intimidating, Many folk spoke to my children in a friendly way. I think there must be a welfare office at the bottom of Eddy (turning right) as there were queues of street people waiting to get into an office. Maybe i didn't feel at risk as i work with this client Gp in the UK but the rest of my family said that it made them feel sad and depressed but not intimidated.

Easy to walk to Union square and other landmarks. Excellent Mel's Diner just a walk away. Pool was steaming hot.
Continental breakfast was coffee and a muffin and if we hadn't got out early enough other guests came and took a huge stash back to their rooms.
Great showers.
Would deffo stay again.

Room Tip: Downstairs for access with a pram (stroller)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sharonank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We spent a Sunday night in SF before a flight east after a wedding in Sonoma and I am so happy I found the Phoenix! We arrived early evening and were upgraded to a suite at no additional cost, much to my surprise, and parking was free, a rare find in SF. The staff was super friendly and helpful and even called our room to check up on us. They also recommended an Afghan restaurant called the Helmand Palace within walking distance and it was great! We also went to a nearby place called the Fly Bar that was fun. It may be a little noisy for some and is in a city neighborhood for sure. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosedanarosedana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,018 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,111 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#48 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Property: Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Address: 601 Eddy Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-7904
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#50 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#61 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,063 - ₹ 24,626
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Funky, irreverent, and young-at-heart, The Phoenix Hotel caters to touring bands and travelers with a creative spirit. A 44 room mid-century motor lodge with a lush courtyard and heated outdoor pool. It's an oasis in the heart of San Francisco on the edge of the gritty Tenderloin and three blocks from City Hall. Guests get complimentary onsite parking and a poolside coffee, tea and muffins to start the day. Art from local artists decorates the rooms and the courtyard gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel San Francisco
Phoenix Hotel San Francisco
Phoenix San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing