We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Meridien San Francisco
Ranked #50 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Extremely Disappointed”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I stayed at the Le Meridien for 3 nights just last week in a king bed room. For the price I paid ($232/night), I was extremely disappointed. I've been a Starwood preferred guest for years and usually try to stay at Starwood properties (and have been a big fan of other Le Meridien properties, I might add) but this hotel was very disappointing.

Let me start by saying that I was in San Francisco for leisure, and not business on this stay, but I chose Le Meridien for its central location to everything (I give it full points for location), as it was walkable to a wide array of places (Embarcadero Center, Chinatown, Ferry Building, Market Street, Cable Cars). I also did not want to stay in a tourist area like Fisherman's Wharf. However, because I was not traveling for business and since it is a financial district hotel, I found staff to be very unprofessional and unhelpful towards me and my girlfriend. This included both front desk staff and concierge.

I had requested a room with a bay view during my reservation. Upon check-in, I again asked if there was a bay view room available. The front desk attendant ignored me, and when I asked again, she said yes. When I got up to my room, the view was the shoddiest bay view, which was blocked off by multiple buildings, allowing me to just see a LITTLE bit of the Bay Bridge. Either give me a room with a full bay view, or tell me that you couldn't accomodate my request. But for her to tell me that she would be able to give me a bay view room, and for me to get such a terrible view, that is just insulting. Another thing that was very unprofessional about this front desk attendant in particular is the fact that right after my check-in, she yawned loudly and said "I'm soooo tired!". Please. I'm your guest, not your friend. It's too bad I didn't take note of her name.

As for concierge, I asked him about the best way to AT&T field by Muni (SF's public transportation), as I had tickets to the San Francisco Giants game. He said "Well, you can take a taxi". Thank you, Captain Obvious, but I asked about the best way by public transporation.

As for the room itself, it was a pretty standard king bed room, and it had a very comfortable bed. Washroom was also standard. Housekeeping staff was very friendly and did a good job cleaning the room. Other than that, I would most definitely not recommend this hotel (note again that I was not a business traveller and it may be a nice stay for business travellers). Stay at the Hyatt Regency in the same area for less money. For $230 a night, I expect service at a much higher level than this.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Worldtraveller3654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,011 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    887
    773
    231
    65
    55
See reviews for
300
779
151
520
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level Contributor
86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights on business. Would recommend junior suite at a minimum which was a decent size room with a couch.

Room Tip: Higher floors mean less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern Michigan
Level Contributor
118 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

The Le Meridien is easy walking distance (<4 blocks) to Market Street and many other neighborhoods. Market Street is a hub of public transportation. We walked to the Embarcadero and the Ferry Building, Chinatown, The Italian area, the red light district, both cable car lines, etc.

Rooms are comfortable and we slept great on the bed. Temperature controls for the room were perfect and we could always find a comfortable temperature. Our room on the 21st floor had a fabulous view of the waterfront, Coit Tower, cruise ship terminal and other nearby areas.

Special thanks to the concierge who was so helpful. She guided me to hair salons, bagel shops, restaurants, public transportation, etc. There was nothing she could not easily figure out and help me with.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank upnorthjodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bow, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
212 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Great business hotel in the financial district. Centrally located with easy access to the airport. Rooms are good size, clean and comfortable. Lobby area is pretty small, with a very small lounge, but there are so many choices for drinks and food in SF, that it is worth exploring.

Staff was very friendly, but concierge and desk staff did not seem to know their area as well as we would have hoped (like what time local stores are open, and what tourist type things are really worth it).

Room Tip: Ask for a bay view room on a higher floor - the views are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElauNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
103 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012 via mobile

I stayed here on a business trip , the room is very comfortable, great bed, nice views, the location is great 5 minutes from the BART station which made my trip from and back to the airport easy. Great food choices all around, and the hotel is located in a quiet corner of the busy town. The only thing I don't like is no coffee in the room but it's not such a big issue

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Voyager81977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#56 of 228 in San Francisco
4,267 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Hilton San Francisco Financial District
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
5,079 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 228 in San Francisco
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien San Francisco

Property: Le Meridien San Francisco
Address: 333 Battery St, San Francisco, CA 94111-3230
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#37 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#53 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#60 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,662 - ₹ 37,592
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 100% nonsmoking downtown luxury hotel offering clean, sophisticated style blending Italian marble, Australian lace wood, and modern decor. Elegant and simple in atmosphere, Le Meridien is conveniently located downtown near the Ferry Building Farmer's Market, Chinatown, North Beach, and Union Square. 360 guestrooms include 89 suites offering both city and bay views. Hotel offers 24 hour in-room dining, a restaurant and bar, complimentary exercise facility, and limited town car service. All guestrooms offer sumptuous duvets, CD players, in-room safes, High-speed Internet access, cordless phones, minibars, and movie channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Meridien San Francisco
San Francisco Le Meridien
Park Hyatt San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing