We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mosser

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Mosser
Ranked #96 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Mosser is a great spot in great location with great staff. They have great green fun products, breakfast etc. It is a no brainer if you want to watch your cost and be in the best location in the City. I stay here a lot...

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sfobes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    642
    961
    393
    131
    84
See reviews for
108
833
500
462
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

The best thing about the Mosser is the price for the location. Rooms are small and bathrooms and toilets are shared.
The best way to describe it, is as a posh hostel. I did admire their commitment to being a 'green hotel' with enviromentally friendly shampoo and conditioner and a 100 % cotton robe (which is not thick enough to cover nakedness mind you).

I was caught in an earthquake tremor during my stay there. If an earthquake wasn't scary enough, the way the room shook was. I thought the building might collapse, a downside to staying in an old building.
The service at the front counter was okay. There is no restaurant on site, but one next door, which I found to be quiet pricey considering the lack of choices on the menu.

I would recommend to a friend who was on a budget.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sayamakan86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Clean, fairly modern, helpful staff! Rooms are fairly small and facilities are shared but given the price I was more than fine with that compromise - maybe I'm not as fussy as some but I wish more cities had an option like The Mosser.

I also left my iPad in the room, thankfully cleaning staff had already found and secured it for me to collect the next day - very honest.

As a diabetic, I'd only ask that their breakfast muffins include a sugar-free option in the future. Not really a complaint, so certainly happy with my stay overall.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

The Mosser hotel has everything to cover your basic needs but not much more, so if you expect 5-star experience its not a hotel for you. For those who need just a base for their stay and don't plan spending much time in hotel room - the Mosser is just what you've been looking for!
It has excellent location, good price, the rooms (though tiny), public areas, bathrooms (including shared facilities), etc are nice and clean, and beds are comfortable. The ceiling fan (rooms have no A/C) is sufficient to create nice breeze if the room feels too warm.
I must point out that even after reading the reviews and knowing to expect very small room I was none the less taken by surprize exactly how small the room really was. I mean there was only about half meter spare room on each side of the bed to move around (stayed in queen room with shared facilities). As I was traveling alone and did not plan to spend much time inside hotel it did not diminish my general satisfaction with my stay.
Will definitely stay again in Mosser when in SF.

Room Tip: The walls are quite thin, so try to get room far away from elevator and, if possible, not directly n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tix13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

Reading the more critical reviews, I wonder if they were expecting the Ritz Carlton at Motel 6 prices. Ultimately, you get what you pay for but I feel this was a great deal for a stay in an otherwise very expensive city. I stayed in a queen studio with a sink and shared bathroom. The rooms are smaller but clean and the beds are very comfortable. The queen studio would be perfect for a couple spending most site seeing out of the hotel and not looking to stay in the whole day. There is a convenient sink in the room and the shared bathrooms were always very clean and tidy. I paid about $100/night which I felt was a great deal for this city. The location was excellent, located close to Moscone Center, Union Square and great shopping districts. Always felt safe in the area. There are always cabs waiting for fares across the street at the Marriott and a parking garage for the hotel so local transportation and parking are convenient. The staff was nice and friendly. Unless you are a 4 star hotel snob willing to put up the money, I think this is an excellent choice on a budget in an otherwise expensive city.

Room Tip: Request higher floor rooms to minimize traffic noise in the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hiker100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#84 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,903 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Stratford
Hotel Stratford
#106 of 233 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#120 of 233 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#99 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mosser? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mosser

Property: The Mosser
Address: 54 Fourth Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3193
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#23 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#53 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,262 - ₹ 18,309
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Mosser 2.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located between the city's renowned Union Square and the Moscone Convention Center, both business and leisure travelers will find excellent shopping, dining, touring and nightlife within blocks from their hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Mosser reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mosser Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing