We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Mosser
Nearby Hotels
US$ 233
US$ 211
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 283/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Park Central San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$ 242
US$ 194
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 259/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 206
US$ 201
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 283/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

San Francisco Marriott Marquis(San Francisco)
US$ 209
US$ 204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 290/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Grand Hyatt San Francisco(San Francisco)
US$ 279
US$ 238
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 316/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

da Vinci Villa(San Francisco)
US$ 214
US$ 170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 223/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 234
US$ 203
Westin.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 36% below average rates

The price you found is 36% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 318/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$ 186
US$ 166
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 38% below average rates

The price you found is 38% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 266/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Taj Campton Place(San Francisco)
US$ 366
US$ 223
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 255/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 167
US$ 158
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 50% below average rates

The price you found is 50% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 313/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (2,419)
Filter reviews
2,419 results
Traveller rating
694
1,056
427
145
97
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
694
1,056
427
145
97
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshared bathroomprivate bathrooms are smallceiling fangreat locationunion squaremarket streetmoscone centeraround the cornerqueen roombart stationstreet noisecomplimentary coffeeeach morningcable carheart of san franciscoenjoyed my stay
Filter
Updating list...
1,150 - 1,155 of 2,419 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2011

My husband and I stayed here while in San Francisco for a conference. The location was fantastic: 2 blocks to the Moscone Center (conference), 2 blocks to Union Square, and walking distance to the Pier. Directly down the street from the BART station, so you wouldn't have to take the taxi to/from the airport.

The rooms were adequate, but extremely small. We had a double room with a private bath. Although cozy, the size of the room really should only be for one person.

If you want comfort, this is not your hotel as the rooms are extremely small. But if you want value and convenience, the Mosser is not a bad choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room facing the inside. If you can afford it, get the private baths.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RiceGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

The location of this hotel is really what gets it the 4 stars! Right by Union square and steps away from the BART station! 10 or 15 minute walk to Chinatown as well. The staff was very friendly and professional. The rooms are a bit on the small side, but anyone with experience in Europe shouldn't really be bothered. They utilize the space they have extremely well. Bed was a bit hard, but not horribly so. Wouldn't stay here for an extended period of time, but for a night or two it is perfect!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rsindelar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

I've stayed at The Mosser three times in the last four or so years, and have mostly been satisfied with the accommodations every time. To save money, I book a single room w/ shared bath, which I'll admit was a bit off-putting at first, but to my delight, I was happy to find that the shared accommodations were very clean - both the water closet (toilet) and tub/shower room.

It is very true that the rooms are small - especially the corner singles which I had on my most recent stay (room 804). I prefer the single between the water closet and ice machine room, believe it or not, as it feels just a tad bigger and is definitely cooler. The rooms have ceiling fans vs. AC, so if it's unseasonably hot in the city as it was this past weekend (Oct 14-17, 2011), you may be a bit uncomfortable climate-wise.

Others have described the decor as shabby, but I say "sparse" describes it better. The single room has a multipurpose couch-bed-futon on a platform (watch your knees and shins on this thing), that is oddly covered with a tucked in duvet cover of some kind that doesn't quite reach to the backrest part of the couch-bed-futon, but it does the trick. Underneath is the standard white sheets and scratchy blanket. The carpet is an interesting linear abstract, and there is a low, small table in the corner which works for take out only if you sit on the floor. There is also a closet and a sink with a shelf/rack system for hanging towels and storing toiletries. The luggage rack in the closet is good for saving space when you don't want your suitcase sitting out and taking up what precious little space there is in the room. Oh, and there is also a tiny ceiling-mounted television in each room, which is most comfortably viewed when reclining in bed on two pillows.

All that said, as one who is very leery of shared accommodations, I have enjoyed my stay at The Mosser every time I've booked there. I travel with a marathon team and have the option of buying half of a room at a more luxurious hotel, but I'd rather save the extra money for a nice meal or shopping. The staff at The Mosser is friendly, the rooms clean and comfy, and all in all it's a great value. And you can't beat the location - steps from Market Street, blocks from Union Square, and BART stations and alternate transportation all around.

One drawback is the noise factor at night - the room I most recently had (804) faced a service alley and the backside of a Bloomingdales store. It was quite noisy during the evening and early morning hours. And because it's necessary to keep the window open a bit for air circulation, you can hear everything. However, the windows are double-pained, so when closed, the noise level is reduced drastically. Still not reason enough for me to consider staying elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask if there are rooms that are less noisy. I tend to forget to do this before my stay, and find myself wishing that I did.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheLiterati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
takeinthesites, Director of Sales at The Mosser, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2011

Thank you for taking the time out to write a review! We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Get room 819 if able best room in hotel
Close to everything making a great central starting point
Small rooms at about 120 sqft
Close to BART and other public transportation

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DocJBYRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

The Mosser is a difficult hotel to review, because although it's very well located close to Union Square and all the main transport links and also very good value, the rooms are small and a little bit shabby. Having said that, as with most hotels, you need to be clear about what you want. We wanted a hotel which was clean, safe, didn't cost the earth, and close enough to the main attractions to be reached easily, and The Mosser ticks all these boxes! It certainly isn't a luxury hotel, and the rooms are really tiny, especially once the 2 large suitcases were in there, but it didn't spoil our stay given that we only had 3 nights there. The staff were really friendly and helpful and the coffee and muffins in the morning were a nice touch. If you just want a base for exploring this amazing city, then this will do the job. If you're looking for a luxury stay then keep looking!

Room Tip: Go for a room with a private bathroom, as high up in the hotel as you can!
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebeccallama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews