We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location. Great rooms. Courteous staff. Excellent Buffett breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Ranked #49 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I could not have been more pleased. Across from the pier. Trollys across the street to Fishermans wharf. A short walk to Chinatown. Excellent restaurants just outside the hotel doors. If you get a chance to stay here, jump at the chance. I really could not be happier. It will be my first choice in San Frncisco hotels

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian92882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mbort088, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Dear Brian92882,

The entire team of the Hyatt Regency San Francisco appreciate your feedback. Your great remarks about our hospitality, location, guestooms and quality of food is amazing. At the Hyatt Regency San Francisco, our team of professional associates value every detail of your lodging experience and we are solely dedicated to providing you with exceptional service.

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to delight you in San Francisco and we hope to welcome you back soon!

At your service,
Melissa & Hyatt Regency SF Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (4,640)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,559 - 3,563 of 4,640 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2012

We needed the extra space so chose the Embarcadero room. Unfortunately, all the rooms in this configuration face Market Street, which -- even on the 9th floor -- was far too noisy for us. We are noise-sensitive so the street cars, traffic, and drunken pedestrians kept us up late. Also, several service (garbage?) trucks were out and about early in the morning rumbling about.

When we mentioned this to staff the next day, they were extremely accomodating and treated us with respect. They let us peek into a much quieter room to see if we would be willing to move. The balcony rooms on the other side of the hotel are much quieter...but, unfortunately, not large enough for this trip. Even though we shortened our stay by one day, they made every reasonable accomodation to make it work. We were bummed to have to find an alternate hotel.

The Embarcadero room was slightly dated, decorated in darker, rich colors, and clean. Other than the noise, it was comfortable. The Balcony room seemed more recently remodeled and was much brighter and quieter -- a very nice standard room. For a business class hotel, it seemed a like a bummer to have to pay for internet, to have to pay to get (empty) wine glasses delivered (fee waived), and that the television signal was analog resulting in a fuzzy picture.

All in all, we would consider staying here again because of the amazing service by staff. They are so good it would compel us to overlook some of the annoying policies aimed to nickel and dime guests.

Room Tip: If you're noise sensitive at all, request a room away from Market Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shrinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mbort088, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

Dear shrinki of San Francisco:

I am very pleased to hear that we were able to win your confidence back during your stay. At the Hyatt Regency San Francisco, your experience and comfort is important to every staff member in our hotel. We value your business and we are sincerely committed to providing you with only the highest quality of services that you can always expect at any Hyatt hotel.

We hope to welcome you back soon for another delightful stay and we wish you the best!

Sincerely,
Melissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The people from bell boy to front desk to everyone i have ever encountered here are really friendly and helpful. i don't ask for much but they have never been a disappointment. I have been to this hotel 3 times for work now and feel that they are consistently good. The last trip was the best as i got put on the top floor which was recently re done and is away from the internal hotel noise.

My beware comments would be:

1. Even on floor 17 it sounds like the window is open to outside all the time. Doesn't bother me any but not well sound proffed at all.

2. Bathrooms are nice (loved the mirror/tv combo) but the shower/toilet room is a little tight. my shower leaked so had to put extra towels on the floor but it was nice to look at - at home this would bother me - in a hotel no issue really.

3. The elevators are only in one area - it's a long walk to get to them from some rooms

Outside of that - great views and location - great for big work events. I would consider a stay here with the family but it is more of a grown up place than a place kids will like.

Room Tip: If you don't mind waiting on the elevator go for a new high level room on 16 or 17
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mbort088, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

Dear Chris P from Fishers, Indiana:

Allow me to begin by thanking you for your patronage and feedback. The entire team of the Hyatt Regency San Francisco sincerely appreciates you for choosing our hotel as your preferred lodging destination in our beautiful city. We are grateful for your comments and we hope that the cons listed would not deter you from returning to our hotel. The appropriate staff members reviewed your concerns and we have made every effort to maintain the quality and standards that you can always expect at any Hyatt hotel.

We hope to welcome you back soon and we wish you all the best in all of your endeavors!

Melissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Really strong hotel. Top notch service from house staff to front desk to concierge. Was made to feel welcome and appreciated at every interaction. Fantastic location- great views and walking distance to everything awesome. Will stay again!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jknjNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mbort088, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Dear jknjNJ from New Jersey,

Thank you for sharing your fantastic lodging experience and 5-star rating on Tripadvisor. The entire staff, our General Manager and I are extremely delighted with your feedback and would love to welcome your back soon!

Thanks for choosing the Hyatt Regency San Francisco and best wishes to you!

Melissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Chose this hotel for the location. Right next to the Embarcadero BART station which made our ride in from SFO simple. Also easy to hop the streetcar to Fisherman's Wharf and the Muni to other locations. Plus the cable car was right outside the hotel, and the hotel staff was very helpful in directing us to the right trains for where we wanted to go. Nice area, walking distance to the Ferry Building, Starbucks and Walgreens across the street for basic necessities. Perfect location.

We were very happy with hotel itself also. We don't normally stay at large hotels, but were able to get the personal attention we like and had no issues with crowds of business people there for seminars. Plenty of room for everyone. We arrived on a Wednesday and got upgraded to the 17th floor with a nice view of the Bay Bridge. Check in was effortless, staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was clean, sleek, and very modern. The bathroom mirror even had a television built into it. A little unusual, but you can watch the news while you brush your teeth! Printed our boarding passes for our flight home right at the front desk, and check out was simple as well.

My only "complaints" were that the bed was a little too firm for me, and the city traffic noise could be a little loud early in the morning, even on the 17th floor. We just left the fan on all night to give us a little white noise to mask it. Neither of these were major issues.

I highly recommend this hotel for a nice visit to beautiful San Francisco!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SunnydazeCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mbort088, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Dear SunnydazeCA,

The entire staff of the Hyatt Regency San Francisco appreciates you for choosing our hotel as your lodging destination in our beautiful city. We are very pleased with your feedback and we appreciate your 5-star rating despite of the firmness of the beds and city sounds in the morning. Your recommendation to return is our greatest compliment.

Safe travels and we hope to have the pleasure of personally welcoming you back.

Melissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#38 of 230 in San Francisco
4,915 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
5,469 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#37 of 230 in San Francisco
3,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#32 of 230 in San Francisco
3,757 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#28 of 230 in San Francisco
3,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency San Francisco

Address: 5 Embarcadero Center, San Francisco, CA 94111-4800
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#61 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: ₹ 11,339 - ₹ 43,940 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 804
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 804-room Hyatt Regency San Francisco is the City's only luxury waterfront hotel with breathtaking bay and city views. Ideally located for business and leisure, the hotel is in the Financial District, and close to all major city attractions, and located across the street from the renovated historical Ferry Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hyatt Regency San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt Regency
Hyatt San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing