We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sorry - not impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Ranked #76 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
“sorry - not impressed”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We booked this on location - and it is handy for downtown and public transport.

First impressions werent good when we pulled up and the bell hops were actually hiding inside the hotel - look - i'm a bit strong boy and I can carry my own case thanks but it is nice to be asked.
Reception took an age to book us in
we got a room with a great view but the curtains were dummies - so we did wake up at dawn even though we planned to sleep late.
On the 24th floor you could hear the street louder than i can in my home in the UK on a main road
Walls were paper thin - more noise

and $38 plus tax to park a car in my own hotel is taking the mickey

San Fran is a rip off town generally and I'm glad we went but we wont be going back, and certainly not to this hotel.

Room Tip: use a different hotel?
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mervous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Dear mervous,

Thank you for staying with us. We hope you enjoyed the location of our hotel. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We are very sorry for any inconvenience you experienced when dealing with the hotel staff. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,830 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    397
    839
    426
    105
    63
See reviews for
442
614
125
301
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotts Valley, Ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Overall the hotel is nice and clean, location is great, decent views and convenient transportation, but we had booked a King Corner View room for my family with their 800 number reservations and asked for a rollaway bed for our daughter. When we arrived, we were told by the front desk that they could not accommodate a rollaway in that type of room as it was too small (which has views of the bay and Alcatraz) and had to settle for a room on the 16th floor (with no views of bay or Alcatraz) and 2 double beds. Although the lady who helped us at the front desk tried everything she could think of to get us in a room with a king or queen - it was spring break and they were booked.

Transportation was great - We came for a Giants game that day and were able to park our car at the hotel and then took a cable car and muni over to AT&T Park which was conveniently located right down the corner from the hotel.

Restaurants on site were horrible - went into restaurant for dinner that night and it felt like a cafeteria. It was mostly empty except for a family with 3 screaming kids all under 4 years old in the middle of the room and no hostess/host or servers to speak of. We left after sitting at a table for 5 mins with no acknowledgement of our presence whatsoever. However, found (by mere chance) an awesome Italian restaurant, Ti Piacera right around the corner from the hotel on Polk St. for dinner instead and had a fabulous time. Breakfast in the other restaurant the next morning was a total ripoff - $17.95 per person for buffet which did not have many choices.

Overall, we probably wouldn't go back to this hotel any time in the future.

Room Tip: Get the highest room you can with a bay view to (mostly) avoid the nightly street noise and sirens a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WootSV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Dear WootSV,

Thank you for leaving a review. I am deeply sorry you received service that was less than satisfactory. This is not the type of service you should expect from our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us. We take all comments seriously and welcome any opportunity to improve. If there is any thing we can do to make your next stay more comfortable. Please do not hesitate to ask.

Katie J
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hardyville, ky
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Stayed for one night while visiting SF. Staff very nice and helpful. Hotel provided adjoining rooms which was nice. Stayed on 17th floor but could still hear traffic and emergency vehicles during the night.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

A very good Holiday Inn on Van Ness near the Terminus of the California Street Cable Car. I have used this Hotel on 4 visits to San Francisco and have enjoyed each and every one. The Hotel has a good bar but like so many others in USA it closes at 10 pm. You cant get food or drink after that so be warned if you arrive late. I have graded this hotel average because of that and the high cost of parking - nearly 50 dollars a night is too much. Otherwise a good hotel in a good location with the cable car right beside it. Get a MUNI travel pass @ 14 dollars a day to use all the cable cars, trams and buses till 12 midnight. You can get to Fishermans Warf by cable car with one change but there is also a direct Bus service from just alongside the hotel.

Room Tip: A room with a Easterly view looks to the city A corner view northeast is even better with a view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fatfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It's walking distance from pizzerias and coffee shops. There is even a whole foods market about a block away. Breakfast is not free. Parking is about 40 dollars a night so we parked in a garage around the corner for 25 dlls a night. Overall it was a good experience.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mpaiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#89 of 228 in San Francisco
978 reviews
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#54 of 228 in San Francisco
4,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Phoenix Hotel SF
#20 of 228 in San Francisco
913 reviews
SoMa
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Fr...
#118 of 228 in San Francisco
1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway

Property: Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Address: 1500 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109-4606
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#77 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,313 - ₹ 25,276
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway 3.5*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour.The Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is located in the center of San Francisco, just steps away from the historic California Cable Car turnaround. Located in lower Nob Hill, the Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is near all major attractions: Golden Gate Bridge, Fisherman's Wharf , a few blocks from Union Square and Chinatown, and the hotel is less than 10 minutes from Moscone Convention Center and a couple blocks north of City Hall/Civic Center. The 26-story, 499 room Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway offers fantastic city and bay views. Our tastefully appointed guest rooms begin on the 6th floor of the hotel and all offer flat panel TVs and free wireless Internet access. Cafe' Marlette offers a daily buffet breakfast for quick and easy service, as well as a delicious a la carte menu. Interlude Bar & Grill is a casual bistro and sports bar, with pool tables, and large screen TVs. The Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is the perfect location for business or pleasure in thecity by the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, IHG and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing