We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfy Hotel in Exciting Area”
Review of Harbor Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Harbor Court Hotel
Ranked #50 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Comfy Hotel in Exciting Area”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

This hotel is a gem. The location is really great. It is on a relatively quiet block (Steuart St; there is a 2nd entrance on Embarcadero) very close to the Ferry Building and the Financial District. The staff is very helpful, and there are many restaurants on the block. The rooms are incredibly small, but very comfortable. Overall, I highly recommend the Harbor Court.

The rooms may make you feel claustrophobic, it is true. We had a Bay View king room, so the bed was big, the light was good and the panorama of the Bay Bridge and beyond was fantastic. (I saw that interior rooms were dark, but they looked fine if you don't care about the view. Queen rooms were even smaller.) The furniture and bathrooms were quite comfortable. Very nice bathroom products. I didn't mind being in the small room because it was all so nice.

The hotel employees were quite friendly and helpful with advice. The cleaning staff was warm and worked efficiently. The YMCA next door is a nice gym option; my hotel rate included gym use, but you may have to pay.

The lobby is very cozy, with a warm fireplace and wi-fi service. I truly enjoyed coming back each day to the hotel, and just hanging out in the lobby. I was on a work trip, and I was able to do work there as did several others most of the day. There is water all day, a.m. coffee, a wine happy hour, and cookies at night.

The neighborhood is really coming up and cool. You can quickly walk to Market St. There are nearby Starbucks, Walgreens, and restaurants catering to workers in the area. The restaurants on the block are a bit expensive but good. Perry's for breakfast (the only real option) is not too pricey, and the food was much better than expected (it looks like an old bar from the outside). Ozu is a solid and fun sushi spot (if evidently not really Japanese).

I would certainly return to this hotel. The usual Kimpton pluses were on display. If you are on business or get a good deal (perhaps on weekends -- the place is quite expensive during the week), the Harbor Court is a great stay.

Room Tip: Choose a Bay View for fantastic sights and great light. The other rooms are dark but seemed fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlySwim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    625
    439
    112
    44
    39
See reviews for
93
600
112
284
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We arrived very late (after 1 am) flying in from Boston and were cranky and tired. The person at the desk could not have been more accommodating and got us to our room without delay. We crashed, and in the morning opened the blinds to the most incredible view of the water. The room was fine, small but thoughtfully laid out, nice towels and sheets and Aveda products.

I like that this is the reuse of an old building and not new construction. While the age of the building results in some aesthetic compromise (the hallways especially reflect the age of the building) it is a nice renovation. Staff was great - wine hour lovely as always, and we had the added (guilty) pleasure of warm cookies and milk when we got back in after dinner. Over all it was a reasonably priced pleasant hotel - perfect for business and a great location for getting around the city.

Room Tip: Ask for the water side, high floor. Note that there is more street noise on the water side, but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wineknut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

the nicest thing that I can say about this hotel is that it is located next to a great restraunt, Perrys. The service at the front desk was so rude to us when we checked in this hotel made me happy that we were only staying one night. I do like though how they have Aveda in the room though.

Room Tip: our room was SO small and the bed felt like it was an old college mattress I would not pay to stay h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick B, Manager at Harbor Court Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
Valerie,
Although we do not dispute the fact that thanks to the history behind our beautiful building some of our rooms may be smaller and cozier than others, we take pride in our very well acclaimed exceptional service. Knowing that in your experience our service did not meet your expectations leaves me very disappointed.
Please know that your feedback is very important to us as it will help us better serve our guests in the future. Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2012

If you are a road warrior you will love this hotel. It is a complete departure from the ordinary to the luxurious. Perfect location, a wonderful staff, and an incredible Japanese Restaurant downstairs. DO NOT miss the 9pm cookies and milk!! I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room with a view of the Bay Bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NormK413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
118 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

I spent the long weekend here and glad I chose it over one of those large impersonal chain hotels. I was glad to be cheered upon arrival as if coming back after a (very long indeed) flight.

As some others have noted, this may not be as luxurious as other Kimpton properties, and the decor (especially in the hallways) do appear a bit dated. But it delivers on all Kimpton qualities: friendly and helpful service, fast check in/out, exceptionally clean rooms and facilities, and of course the free coffee in the morning and wine in the evening. Regardless if you use these extras, it is just great to have a warm and cozy lobby to mingle with fellow guests.

The room itself was larger than I expected (it is narrow, but you have plenty of room at the foot of the bed), the bed extremely comfy, and you get free wi-fi on the loyalty program. And the Bay view rooms are really worth the extras, you could lie in bed and admire the lights at night. Priceless (trust me, I have paid way more for other views in SF!).

One of the key reasons I chose to be here was location. It's easily accessible to public transportation, including the BART to SFO 3 blocks down (for the sake of clarity, the Griffon and Vitale are within a block too). It's literally 2 blocks from the Ferry Plaza, which has plenty of dining options for breakfast and lunch, and the best wine bar in town. However you will want to go to North Beach or Marina for a wider array of choices, as during the night this area is a bit dead.

I loved the Harbor Court and this will definitely be on top of my list when back to San Francisco.

Room Tip: You should pay the few extra dollars for the Bay bridge view. Totally worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lune14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Hotel Griffon
Hotel Griffon
#28 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#57 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Financial District
Le Meridien San Francisco
Le Meridien San Francisco
#49 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,998 reviews
Financial District
Galleria Park Hotel
Galleria Park Hotel
#33 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Court Hotel

Property: Harbor Court Hotel
Address: 165 Steuart Street, San Francisco, CA 94105-1206
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#21 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#50 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#54 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,637 - ₹ 33,634
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbor Court Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbor Court Hotel, a stunning boutique hotel on the San Francisco waterfront, features unobstructed views of the bay, the Bay Bridge and Treasure Island. The spectacular location is complemented by the hotel's luxurious and stylishly designed rooms. Adjacent to a state-of-the-art YMCA (open to guests), the Harbor Court Hotel is within easy walking of the Ferry Building Marketplace, the Financial District, AT&T Park, the Moscone Convention Center, Union Square and North Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbor Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing