We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Has bed bugs, management doesn't care...” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Presidio Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Presidio Inn & Suites
Ranked #211 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Has bed bugs, management doesn't care...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Bed Bugs (+not doing anything about it). STAY AWAY

I don't expect much for ~$60 a night (low season) and I stay at low-cost motels on that stretch on Lombard all the time but there's no way I'm going to stay there again.

Stayed there for three nights.

Started getting itchy on second day. Looked up online and found my marks consistent with bed bugs. The second night, I payed attention and sure enough killed several bed bugs. Thankfully we are in 2012 and I had my cellphone camera handy. I took pictures of the bugs and was able to confirm that they were indeed bed bugs.

When I left, there was nobody at the desk so I just left. I did however sent them a polite email to warn them and to see what they would do about it. I attached pictures of both the bigs (on their identifiable linens) and my marks.

I didn't ask for anything other than to suggest that they have the room inspected by a prest controlled company. I was ignored.

I sent a follow-up email a few days later to ask them whether their intent was just to ignore to issue...and I was ignored again. That was a fair warning.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matthieu L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    20
    43
    32
    97
See reviews for
60
43
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

The bottom line is the price. You can't expect the Hilton Hotel Rooms and Suites here. You get want you pay for. Limited free parking, but close to good dining and bars. Public transportation is nearby. Rooms can use improvements, but if you can overlook them and think about how much it would have cost in the other hotels in the downtown or Fisherman's Wharf area, then it's bearable.

Room Tip: ask for room as far from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kellie1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

My wife, mother-in-law and I stayed at this establishment at the beginning of September 2011. We chose this hotel based on it's price. The saying, "You get what you pay for" fits very well with this hotel. The carpet in the room was very dirty. The beds had low places in them. The beds also had bed bugs. When I spoke to the management about the conditions they offered to take 10% off the price. What a joke. I want all my money back. The people running this hotel have absolutely no business being in the hotel business. They are completely incompetent.

Room Tip: Under no circumstances stay here. If you do stay here, bring your own exterminators equipment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClayToday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

I am a travel agent. I had 4 clients stay at this hotel - despite the awful reviews - because of the price. They recognize now that this was a huge mistake. Upon checking in at the Presidio they were told they could not stay there because there were flooding problems. They were moved to the Motel Capri (run by the same general manager, Ricky) and all put into one room (they had originally booked two rooms). This wasn't a huge problem until they checked out the next day. Even though they had paid for the two rooms at the Presidio Inn, they were forced to pay an additional charge (equal to the cost of another two rooms). They were not given a receipt. Upon returning home, my clients contacted me and told me about this. I've spoken with the general manager three times about this now. Last time we spoke (about a month ago), I was told he had issued the refund and was sending it to me that day. I never received it and so I called back just today. I was told he had no knowledge of this and said he wouldn't give us a refund because I "didn't have enough details about the issue". I now have to ask my client for her credit card statement so I can fax it to him and PROVE that they were double charged. The general manager Ricky is extremely rude and yelled at me on the phone throughout our entire conversation.

Please don't take your chances with this hotel, as well as the Motel Capri. I would NEVER RECOMMEND this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank srogers01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

What ever you do DO NOT stay in any room on the street side of the building. Hotel owner stuffed us into a room that didn't even have a key card lock. He had to dig thru a bucket to find our key (should have seen the red flag there). Our door didn't even have a door knob! Just a dead bolt. Our bathroom door didn't have a door knob either! Our windows had cheap aluminum blinds, no locks and no screens. Worse part was the windows didn't have black out curtains or any curtains for that matter. There was a bright street light right above our window and we got ZERO sleep due to the noise and the bright light. Terrible beds as well! Would rather sleep in my car than stay another night here!!!!

Room Tip: Don't waste a single penny!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kittykent3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
#166 of 230 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Marina District
Knights Inn San Francisco / Near the Presidio
Knights Inn San Francisco / Near...
#170 of 230 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Marina District
Travel Inn
Travel Inn
#181 of 230 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
La Luna Inn
La Luna Inn
#158 of 230 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Marina District
Motel Capri
Motel Capri
#105 of 230 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Marina District
Inn at Golden Gate
Inn at Golden Gate
#134 of 230 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Presidio Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Presidio Inn & Suites

Property: Presidio Inn & Suites
Address: 2361 Lombard Street, San Francisco, CA 94123
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #211 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,869 - ₹ 14,877
Hotel Class:2 star — Presidio Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the foot of the Golden Gate Bridge and on the famous Lombard St - The Presidio Inn offers 24 spacious and comfortable guest rooms, with a wide range of extra amenities such as In-room Microwave/Refrigerator, Iron & Iron Board, Hairdryer, Coffee, and Satellite Cable/HBO. Enjoy free complimentary breakfast, Wi-Fi Internet Access, Free Local Calls & Parking. The Presidio Inn is a member of the San Francisco Convention and Visitors Bureau. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Presidio Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Presidio Inn And Suites
Presidio Hotel San Francisco
Presidio Motel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing