We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm!!”
Review of Hotel Drisco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Drisco
Ranked #1 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Drisco for 5 nights at the beginning of our adventure in CA. Although slightly small our room on the 3rd floor was luxuriously appointed and immaculately clean. Much thought has been put into the decoration and finish to all of the public areas and you definitely feel like you are staying in a top quality hotel. All of the staff were incredibly helpful and pleasant to deal with particularly Bob and Jon providing helpful and useful advice to travellers new to SF. Breakfast is served in a very pleasant room and consists of a European style buffet. Once again it was excellent.

The hotel is situated in the Pacific Heights area of the city. Pacific Heights is a high end area a good distance from the city centre and touristy type attractions. We found getting to and from these areas difficult. SF isn't blessed with large numbers of taxis on hand and more than once we struggled to get back to the hotel. Public transport within SF doesn't seem to be at the standard of major european cities. For the same reason dining out is challenging. The nearest restaurants are on Fillmore a good 20 minute walk. Perhaps the hotel could form an association with a taxi company and help alleviate these issues?

Overall we loved our stay at the Drisco and would recommend it to all

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Dear Guest,

I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and I will convey your thanks to both Bob and Jon. I am grateful every day for the excellent staff here at the Drisco that take such good care of our guests.

I am particularly pleased that you enjoyed your Drisco experience despite the transportation challenges you described. For the benefit of our future guests I think it would be helpful for me to mention a few points about transportation in San Francisco, and specifically in our beautiful Pacific Heights neighborhood:

1.) First and foremost, there are simply not enough taxis in San Francisco. And because of our location in an upscale residential neighborhood outside the tourist frenzy of Union Square and Fisherman's Wharf, when the City gets busy and/or the weather turns rainy, it can sometimes be challenging to get taxis out to the Drisco in a timely manner. If you have an important meeting, a dinner reservation,a boat to Alcatraz, please do make advance arrangements.

2.) Public transportation in San Francisco can be a wonderful experience in and of itself -- including the historic F line and of course the cable cars -- but there is simply no comparison with the underground systems in cities like London and Paris for fast and efficient public transportation. The MUNI bus lines, however, are quite comprehensive, and we highly recommend making use of the bus system. Several lines are very convenient to the Drisco.

3.) We offer complimentary chauffeur service every weekday morning from the Drisco to points in the Presidio, Union Square and the Financial District. At other times we charge $25 for this service (airport service costs more). In order to assure there is space available, you will need to reserve these services in advance.

If you are aware of all three points above and can plan your important trips in advance, we're quite sure you'll head off most of the transportation challenges that San Francisco has to offer. We're still looking for a way around rush hour traffic though!

Thanks again for your review.

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,518)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

802 - 806 of 1,518 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2012

The Hotel Drisco has been our "home away from home" for nearly 20 years. We live only 30 miles from San Francisco but when we stay at The Hotel Drisco, we feel as if we are in a small but elegant European hotel.
The entire staff from the reception desk to the breakfast buffet is professional, friendly, helpful, and gracious. Exceptional service is the staff's highest priority. The reception desk has information sheets about everything of interest: walking tours, activities with children, local restaurants, shopping, arts and culture, and many more. They provide a binder listing hundreds of DVDs that may be checked out (at no charge) to be viewed in the room. And speaking of rooms: they are charming, clean, comfortable, and very well appointed. I look forward to the complimentary cookies and spring water as well as the nightly complimentary shoe shine. Each evening the staff offers a lovely selection of wines and appetizers in the downstairs dining room. And, the elaborate breakfast buffet each morning is a culinary delight with an immense selection of delicious food. We love the hotel, we love the location, we love the staff....and we have a reservation to stay again next month.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel on the higher floors have lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Driscoguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thanks so much for your kind words, and for being a loyal guest of ours for the past 20 years! We absolutely love serving as the "home away from home" for so many long-term guests.

You really covered the bases in describing many of our complimentary amenities in your review!

Thanks again, as we'll see you again soon...

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We just returned. The hotel was a disappointment primarily because of bad room and bad service. We were given a room on the first floor right in between the two primary staircases. Although the rom was a good size, it was very loud. Neither my husband nor I slept the first night due to foot traffic outside our door, thin walls, and a running fan and faucet in a neighboring room. When we asked about the noise the next day the staff suggested we ask the neighboring room to not use the bathroom at night. This seemed very u helpful especially since we had no idea who was next door. Also, when we checked in we were told there was no other room available which I find hard to believe as we checked in right st the checking time at the start of the weekend. It's like going to an empty restaurant where you've reserved a month in advance and being given the table in between the bathroom and the swinging kitchen door. Otherwise, if you have better luck on the room, the staff was unhelpful (when we checked out, total failure to ask how was our stay, or if we needed help with our bags). The breakfast was good, but for $400 a night, I'd stay somewhere else, buy my own breakfast at one of SF's many delicious bakeries. The hotel advertises a fitness room which it does have -- basically an extension of the kitchen, with one treadmill, one bike and one elliptical. Everything worked but again, for the price of the hotel, something better would be nice. Finally, don't stay here if you have kids (we don't). Location was quiet and we enjoyed being close-ish to chestnut street and marina.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 677we
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Dear Guest,

I am so sorry that you did not have a great experience here at the Drisco. Please feel free to reach out to me personally so that we can discuss the issues that you experienced. I would also like to take the opportunity here to clarify some of the points raised in your review.

I always take great care to stress in my management replies here on Trip Advisor that despite the fact that we are located in a very quiet and serene neighborhood and that our guests are extremely respectful of others and well-mannered, the Drisco is not a super-modern super-soundproofed hotel -- sometimes the sounds of others’ lives are shared when we wish that were not the case! I realize that this does not bring back your night of lost sleep, for which I remain extremely sorry.

I think it also might be helpful to illuminate a few points about how hotels work operationally in terms of the assignment of rooms. First, at the vast majority of hotels rooms are assigned on the day of arrival and not before, no matter how far in advance you make your reservation, and no matter what time of day you check in. The reason is so that the hotel can best accommodate different lengths of stay in the different room types it offers. Certainly there can be exceptions to this here and there, but that is the reason for the way the industry works. On top of that, the Drisco is privileged to run at 100% occupancy very, very frequently, so often we have very limited flexibility (or none at all) to re-accommodate guests who do not take a fancy to a particular aspect of the room they have been assigned. But I should point out that my staff will try their best to make such accommodations whenever possible.

I am very sorry that our Fitness Center was not to your liking. We remodeled it last year at a substantial cost, and as I have pointed out in a previous review reply here on Trip Advisor, it is the largest and best-equipped Fitness Center I have ever experienced at a hotel with fewer than 50 rooms. It contains the following equipment, all under one year old: Treadmill with integrated LCD TV, elliptical with integrated LCD TV, stationary bicycle with integrated LCD TV, universal gym that can be configured for 28 different exercises, 18 barbells, three exercise balls, two yoga mats and two bicycles that are available for our guests to ride around San Francisco. The Center is open 24 hours a day and it is stocked with fresh cucumber water as well as complimentary ear buds for the three TVs. However, we still recognize that some of our guests require the services of a fully-equipped fitness facility, which is why we offer unlimited complimentary passes to the excellent Presidio YMCA. There is a photo of our Fitness Center on our web site.

In sum, I remain extremely disappointed that we let you down on your recent stay with us, and I have already reiterated with my staff that it is their responsibility to do everything in their power to make our guests happy (including asking them how their stay was at check-out!). In my experience we are able to provide outstanding service here at the Drisco and please our guests very close to 100% of the time, and I think the other reviews here on Trip Advisor bear that observation out. However, that was clearly not the case with your experience here and for that I am deeply sorry. I will end by asking you again to please feel free to reach out to me personally if you would like to discuss any aspect of your stay. Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us.

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We chose Hotel Drisco because of the area initially. It's a beautiful location within easy walk (5-10mins) of good bars and restaurants on Fillmore. It's also a short walk to the Presidio. Buses are pretty good and get you around easily. The Hotel itself offers great views of the city and some old-world charm inside. The over-riding memory is of the friendly staff though. They could not have been more knowledgeable or helpful - from pointing out shortcuts, best bus routes, restaurants to go to and making bookings on our behalf - they were all fabulous. We would highly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the City
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spoonyspurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Dear Guest,

I am so glad that the staff was so helpful on your recent stay with us! Thank you for posting your review.

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

stayed 3 nights at this jewel of a boutique hotel in the upscale quiet neighbourhood of Pacific Heights in San Francisco in August this year. From the moment we entered the hotel we could tell this was going to be a fantastic experience. Greeted warmly and quickly ushered to our large room beautifully fitted out with amenities. Quiet room near the dining area where each morning a continental breakfast with extra trimmings was laid out. A server emerges as you enter the dining room and asks if you would like a cappuchino or a latte. Ahhhh nice way to start the day. Each evening a wine and appy reception from 5-6:30, with beautiful wines from Napa and Sonoma. Transportation by city bus to downtown available nearby. Great spot away from the hustle of downtown but not far from there if you want to go.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parrotticus10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review! Among the many amenities you mentioned are two areas that have recently seen upgrades here at the Drisco -- we just got a brand new espresso/cappuccino maker and the guest reviews of the new coffees have been outstanding, and we have recently upgraded our wine selections available at our evening wine reception. In my experience, the wines available at the vast majority of complimentary hotel and B&B wine receptions are marginal at best -- not so here at the Drisco! I invite you to return again next month to experience a new lineup of exceptionally good wines!

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
550 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
5,532 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#30 of 230 in San Francisco
3,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#4 of 230 in San Francisco
1,275 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#8 of 230 in San Francisco
1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Drisco? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Drisco

Address: 2901 Pacific Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94115-1011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Pacific Heights
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#1 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: ₹ 26,743 - ₹ 54,436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Drisco 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Drisco, constructed in 1903, blends traditional elegance with the convenience, comfort, and amenities of a world-class modern hotel. The warm hospitality, inviting atmosphere, and impeccable service are designed to please business and leisure travelers alike. Complimentary services include a gourmet continental breakfast, evening wine reception, chauffeured sedan service to several popular San Francisco locations and complimentary high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Drisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drisco Hotel San Francisco
Drisco San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing