We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic...not too bad.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Motel 6 San Francisco Downtown
Ranked #149 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 2 November 2011

While in what might seem to some a "sketchy" neighborhood (Tenderloin), it was a clean hotel with a private bath at a good price in San Francisco. My wife and I never felt unsafe but there A LOT of homeless people in the neighborhood. If this bothers you, this hotel is NOT for you.

Room Tip: We were on the side overlooking the garage, not the street and it was never noisy from outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank losgrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

111 - 115 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2011

After following the stunning Highway 1 down through California we crossed Golden Gate Bridge into San Fran. Book in advance for Alcatraz trips - San Fran fun - crooked streets amusing - go to Lombard Street the famous crooked one - Pier 39 fun & pretty - aqaurium okay but we preferred Vancouver's which had more shows. See the painted ladies too if you're there (a rwo of old houses). The hotel was okay - bog standard - good value - but wouldn't recommend for a long stay - however easy links into the city.

Room Tip: Fine but no frills
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizziemartie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We made a last minute trip to the city and did not anticipate a convention in town. Most hotels/motels were sold out. We got lucky and got a room for $120/night at the motel 6. The location is not terrible but it is on the edge of a seedy part of town. We walked to dinner then walked down to Union square and back. It was safe enough but clearly this is not a tourist area. We heard street noise throughout the night, including people arguing on the street. (We were on the 2nd floor). Our room was good size and clean. The bed was hard. The desk staff were friendly and helpful. Typical hotel 6, the towels were way too small and thin. Basically, if you are in San Francisco, the hotels are booked, and do not want to spend a $300-400 on a room, this place is fine. (It also had free parking, but the staff was careful to tell us not to leave anything in our car). We would stay there again, but it would not be our first choice.

Room Tip: Perhaps if we had a room on a higher floor we would not have had as much outside noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kfhm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Just want to say, Thank You! We had a fun night of partying and came back a little over the top. I hate to admit it, we left some of our dinner and drinks in the elevator and all over the bathroom. I thought I would see some kind of extra cost billed to the room for sure. Fair enough too. The next morning the elevator was smelling fresh like Pine and they did not say a word about it. The best part, they never charged my card extra! Thank You So Much!
The room was very clean too!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveMyGirls_1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Me and my friend slept here on Thursday September 1st. Becuase it was labor day weekend this was the only hotel that was available. We were originally going to stay for two nights but changed hotels for the second night.The staff at the checkin desk and friendly and accomadating.The hotel elevator was full of vandalism and name carvings. The interior hallways were smelly.The room by suprise wasn't bad ans was a nice place. The room had a refridgerator,flat screen Vizio TV, brand new beds as well as a newly renovated bathroom with a marble bath. The hotel has an individual heater and airconditioner units in each room. So if its hot out you can put the air conditioner on in your room and control the temperature. If its cold out you can control the heat in your hotel room.Be sure to go to walgreens to buy shampoo and conditioner becuase they only supply soap and towels at this motel 6 as well as corporate motel 6 locations.The size of the rooms at this motel 6 is slightly larger than the corporate locations I have stayed at. As a matter of fact the rooms at this hotel are probably the largest you will find in San Francisco.The room we had on the 3rd floor was very very quiet and free of noise.I have stayed at many motel 6 locations around california,arizona and neveda. This location is a franchise location and not a corporate owned location. It was a former Days Inn and hasn't been repainted into motel 6 colors

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Will0329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Alexis Park San Francisco
#165 of 230 in San Francisco
137 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Inn
San Francisco Inn
#145 of 230 in San Francisco
152 reviews
Red Coach Motor Lodge
#153 of 230 in San Francisco
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Music City Hotel
#116 of 230 in San Francisco
412 reviews
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#87 of 230 in San Francisco
608 reviews
Chinatown
Royal Pacific Motor Inn
Royal Pacific Motor Inn
#140 of 230 in San Francisco
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 San Francisco Downtown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 San Francisco Downtown

Address: 895 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94109-7217 (Formerly Days Inn)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: ₹ 9,896 - ₹ 13,259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 San Francisco is located within walking distance to may area restaurants and attractions. Union Square & Chinatown .75 Miles; Fisherman's Wharf 2 miles; Golden Gate Bridge 4 miles. Free Wi-Fi, parking, and morning coffee is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Motel 6 San Francisco Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 San Francisco Downtown Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Motel 6
San Francisco Motel Six
Motel Six San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing