We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,304)
Filter reviews
1,304 results
Traveller rating
236
577
330
97
64
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
236
577
330
97
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the golden gate bridge lombard street fisherman's wharf van ness make your own waffles bridge view the breakfast area free breakfast underground parking walking distance top floor yogurt ghirardelli square hard boiled eggs wharf area budget hotel would stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
291 - 296 of 1,304 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2016

We stayed 2 nights and had chosen the hotel for it's location. It was really perfect for us. It's at the corner of Lombard and Van Ness, so just a short walk to the "crookedest street in the world" part of Lombard, and from there we hopped on the cable car and continued our touring. It's also a reasonable walk from Fisherman's Wharf, but there's a bus stop just across the street from the hotel and it's about a 7 minute bus ride there as well. We used that option twice when it was pouring down rain. The rooms are not huge, but the decor is very nice and the room quite comfortable. Same with the bathroom. The hotel was reasonably busy, but we never noticed any noise when in our room. We were on the top floor with the city view instead of the bridge view, but it was also nice. Breakfast was the usual cold assortment plus waffles, yogurt, fruits. All in all, we were very pleased.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank dutchamfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarrod M, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn by the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2016

Thank you so much for the great review and comments regarding your most recent stay with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our central San Francisco location and took advantage of the easy access to public transportation. We have a popular hotel which can be very busy, but we are glad to hear that our guests were courteous during your stay. Please come back to see us when you are in San Francisco again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2016

This hotel is in quite a good position and is very good value. We had a king room with Golden Gate Bridge views which we really enjoyed. The room was spacious and the bed comfortable. The bathroom wasn't the greatest, but was quite functional. Free wi fi was reasonable and appreciated. Breakfast was free and was the usual standard and kept us going till lunch. The desk staff seemed somewhat disinterested. We will probably stay here next time we are in San Francisco.

Stayed: February 2016
1  Thank Liznnev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarrod M, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn by the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2016

Thank you so much for the positive review. We are happy to hear you liked your stay with us and enjoyed our accommodations and amenities. I will pass on your comments to our hotel staff and will make certain that we are offering the service our guests deserve. Please come back and see us when you are in the area again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2016

Stayed 1 night before a cruise and 3 nights after. The most comfortable beds and nice bed linen. Small bathroom but adequate, clean with nice big towels. The breakfast was described as 'continental' but had bagels, toast, 'patty' eggs and meat (hot), cereals, waffles, yoghurts etc - actually quite substantial. 10 minute walk to Fishermans wharf, good bus access to everywhere. Helpful desk staff, if breakfast attendants seem surly, try smiling and saying thank you, not a thing I saw many doing !

arriving from the airport - take a shared minivan 'hopper' bus from outside arrivals for less than $20 each instead of paying $80 for a taxi.
taxi fare to the cruise pier $10

Room Tip: Best views of bay from upper floors but will cost extra. We were on the 3rd floor, no view but we weren't in the room long enough to bother
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank justsue50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarrod M, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn by the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2016

Thank you so much for the fantastic review of your stay with us. Providing a great product and superior service is paramount and we are happy to see we did a good job with your experience. To this end, we will use your comments to continuously improve so that all our guests will be happy with their stay. We look forward to having you as our guest again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2016 via mobile

Only stayed 1 night... Hotel is better than I thought after reading reviews, just wasn't blown away by the service.

About 15 minute walk to wharf area, short journey to union square.

Party of 4 sharing a room, we arrived on an early flight from Las Vegas, our room wasn't available, which was fine. My friend had left her sunglasses on the shuttle bus and the First Lady that dealt with us on reception was amazing. She assisted her and gave us the number of the room we would be in so that if they delivered the glasses before we came back to check in they would put them in the room for us. After a few hours of exploring the wharf our friends headed back to check in and rest. We arrived back a few hours later to find our friends waiting around in the lobby. The room wasn't in their name, but even though the original lady was around and my friends had all the vouchers needed for the reservation, they still wouldn't allow them into the room and were quite rude and unfriendly in their manner.

The breakfast was lovely, waffle makers, muffins, pastries etc and the bedrooms were a great size, wifi was free and had good facilities.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Span84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarrod M, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn by the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2016

Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback regarding your stay. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your accommodations and amenities while staying with us. Please understand that guest security and safety is a focus our hotel takes very seriously. With this in mind, our hotel will not grant access to a guest room to a person whose name does not appear on a reservation. Policies like these keep our guests safe and secure while staying in a high demand, major market city. If we gave a different impression, please accept my personal apologies. Thank you again, and we hope to host you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 6 nights in February to celebrate my grandmother's 81st birthday (a 70 year wish to visit San Francisco). The hotel put in a fridge for her medicine. They were extremely helpful, helped us get a wheelchair during our stay, contacted tour operators to confirm bookings. The breakfast had everything you needed. The staff were fantastic! Nothing was too much trouble, they are a credit to themselves and the hotel.
The hotel was brilliant value for money, had amazing views and helped fulfil my grandmother's childhood wish.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank aunovation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarrod M, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn by the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2016

We are so happy to hear of your wonderful stay with us at the Comfort Inn by the Bay. We strive everyday to make memorable experiences for all of our guests and we are glad to see we exceeded your expectations. Please come back and see us again when you are in San Francisco again! Please tell Grandma we said hi!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews