We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget hotel, wonderful location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn by the Bay
Ranked #96 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Perfectly appropriate for the cost! Staff were fairly sluggish and unenthusiastic, but eventually they got the job done. Rooms we comfortable and clean, but you don't get the view unless you pay for it. Breakfast was budget all the way - orange juice, powdered scrambled eggs, yogurt and waffle makers. There's a ton to see in this vibrant city, and most of it is really close, so for the amount if time we spent in the hotel, we were adequately satisfied! No more than 10 minutes to Fisherman's Wharf, the famous section of Lombard Street and the world famous Buena Vista cafe (go!), half hour walk, or 5 min cab ride to the beach facing the Golden Gate Bridge, and about 20 min walk in the other direction to Union Square and Chinatown.
WORD TO THE WISE... This is a busy street, and there seems to be a lot of cabs, but for longer journeys, book a cab at the front desk, and make sure they know you name and where you are going at the time of booking! They are easily stolen, and fussy about where they take you! It took us an hour or more to find cabs to take us to the football stadium and the airport, and missed tailgating and our flight home as a result.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Megs808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

624 - 628 of 1,175 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2012

Stayed here on the final leg of a Travelsphere tour of the west coast of the USA. San Francisco is a fab and cosmopolitan place but I get the impression that accommodation there is very expensive which is probably why Travelsphere uses this one. Don't get me wrong - everything required for a comfortable stay is provided, if you are from the UK it could be compared with a well known no-frills budget chain - but I personally would have liked a bit more luxury to match the ambience of the city. The rooms are smaller than the average USA hotel bedroom; we were on the third floor and had a terrible view of a wall at the back of the building but I understand it's possible to get rooms (no doubt more expensive) with a view of San Francisco bay. The hotel throws in a free continental breakfast, but the breakfast room was too small and it was a free for all rabble to get something to eat and drink.........as I say, OK, but next time I'm in SF I hope I can stay somewhere better!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank juls63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We stayed in november 2008...facilities were fine, breakfast was not very varied but enough, and rooms wer quite old but ok. Lobby staff were not friendly and too helpful when we posed a problem with our luggage...no clerk service at all.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amorcete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Stayed for two nights here during a west coast tour, our room was comfortable with tv, coffee maker and fridge. Only had a view of the wall of the hotel next door but that was the same for all of us on our tour. Did have noisy people by the room at 2am the first night but called reception and he sent security straight away and was fine after that.

The hotel was in a good location to walk to fishermans wharf etc and the bus (number 30) stopped one block away which went directly to Union Square. The Crooked Street was only two blocks away on Lombard Street but was one hilly walk!

Good bonus is complimentary breakfast (did get busy and hard to find a table so we joined other couples) Also provided free tea and coffee in the afternoon while we were waiting to be picked up by our coach, wasn't really advertised but it is found in the breakfast room with 'take away' cups.

Would return to this hotel but maybe upgrade to a 'room with a view'

Room Tip: Upgrade or ask nicely if you want a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Gemgems82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

that hotel really nice & view is excellent
we there last year at April
we enjoy a lot in that hotel

Room Tip: corner suits are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shirinDhaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#86 of 230 in San Francisco
609 reviews
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#108 of 230 in San Francisco
1,044 reviews
Marina District
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#49 of 230 in San Francisco
2,278 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Marina District
Travelodge by the Bay
Travelodge by the Bay
#11 of 53 in San Francisco
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn by the Bay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn by the Bay

Address: 2775 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109-1497
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: ₹ 9,731 - ₹ 22,770 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn by the Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn® By the Bay is conveniently located off U.S. 101, near Fisherman's Wharf, the San Francisco Marina Yacht Harbor, Fort Mason Center, Union Street and Lombard Street, the World's Crookedest Street. This San Francisco, CA hotel is close to popular attractions, including AT&T Park, the Golden Gate Bridge, San Francisco Chinatown and the San Francisco Civic Center Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Comfort Inn by the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn By The Bay Hotel San Francisco
Comfort Inn San Francisco
Comfort Inn Bay San Francisco
San Francisco Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing