We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great amenities, indifferent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Ranked #32 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Nikko in San Francisco on a three day stopover en route to Hawaii in early april 2012. The Hotel has a great location with quick access to amazing shopping, transport, restaurants and the tram. Rooms were lovely with big plate glass windows that gave a fabulous view over the city. Security was good and the rooms were quiet and very comfortable. Service was indifferent - its a busy impersonal business hotel so not many friendly touches for guests. Our stay was also spoilt a bit as we mistakenly left a bag with shopping and souvenirs in the room on checkout, phoned the same day to query and the bag was gone - although completely our fault due to oversight, this is still theft as it was plainly brand new goods that were left by mistake and this left a bad last impression. Final summary - its a smart, comfortable hotel with super facilities and the location is perfect not only for business travellers but also for tourists - but it leaves a cold experience as the service is very distant and not hands on at all. I would stay there again for the comvenience and comfort but the hotel does not form part of the 'vacation experience', rather a place to sleep and change, although that is in some comfort and style!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LBannerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (3,758)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,947 - 1,951 of 3,758 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

We thought this hotel had a good location, the rooms were clean and we certainly liked being on the upper floors where you needed a key to get to. I did not go to the free continental breakfast or cocktail hour, but my husband said you could make dinner out of it. However, the free breakfast buffet downstairs was quite good and not boring after 3 nights. We also liked the bathrooms, roomy, the view, extensive and the chocolates on the bed at turndown. One thing I now have a problem with at all hotels, no room in the fridge for drinks, and if you remove theirs, you get charged.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travel4lifenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikkoGal, Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2012

Dear Travel4lifenow
Wow! Thank you for your review. You hit so many of the highlights of our service. The Imperial Floor is totally worth the additional charge. It makes such a difference to have all of the amenities included for such a small fee.
As for your comments regarding the fridge. Our refrigerators do come fully stocked as minibars. An empty refrigerator will be brought to your room at no charge by simply making a call to our Housekeeping or Front Desk Departments. On your next visit, please let us know in advance that you would like a refrigerator and we will have it waiting for you!
Since you travel 4 life now, please visit again soon. We look forward to pampering you again!
Sincerely,
Nikko Gal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Loved the scenery and the feel of the place. Trolley rides. Clam chowder Ina bread bowl on the pier.
Stinking Rose restaurant is AMAZiNG
if you like garlic as much as we do!!!!

We were there in 2000

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vacationloversCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Checked into Hotel Nikko for two nights (we wished that we were there longer) and check-in was quick, efficient and front desk staff (Michael) was friendly. They had wine tasting the day we checked in and my wife and I were offered two full glasses of wine and our kids were offered juices which was a good start to our stay.
We were given a discount voucher for ANZU restaurant so we thought we try the food there on our first night and we were very happy that we did as the food was superb and the host was very helpful and knowledgeable with the food. Presentation was good. We would have gone back the second night but we were out shopping and ate close to where we were shopping.
Due to the length of our stay, we wanted a city tour that was short but still take in all that SF has to offer and the concierge Christopher was very helpful with that. The tour he recommended was for a small group (up to 13) and it was great as the tour guide was entertaining and we were taken to a few tourist spots and given time to take happy snaps.
Breakfast was included in the room rate as we upgraded our room on check in. There was plenty of food on offer and a variety of cooked American and Japanese food.
Room was clean and quiet. We were on the 21st Floor (room upgrade). Amenities were modern. Only issue is that housekeeping did not top up the tea bags.
Location was close to union square and shops. A variety of restaurants close by if you want to try different food. Only five minutes walk to union square and is safe. I have checked rates of similar hotels around close by and they were quite similar but we like modern facilities so we booked at Nikko. Happy that we did.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PTaiMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikkoGal, Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2012

Dear PTaiMelb
Thank you for such a nice and comprehensive review of your stay at the Hotel Nikko. We only just implemented the wine program in the evenings. It is nice to learn that it made an impact on your stay.
Our chef has won many awards for his cuisine. It is nice to know that you enjoyed your meals and that you were even able to get a discount!
Thank you for the comments regarding Michael and Christopher. I will make sure that your message is passed on to them. I will also pass on your comments regarding housekeeping.
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. We appreciate your thoughts!
Sincerely,
Nikko Gal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

this is a well located 4 star hotel... nice staff... somewhat oddly constructed lobby entry... bland place to spend a night. there's no particular reason to come here, no reason to avoid it either... buy a room if the price is right.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thirdplanetexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#38 of 230 in San Francisco
4,918 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#37 of 230 in San Francisco
3,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Union Square
Hilton Parc 55 San Francisco
Hilton Parc 55 San Francisco
#78 of 230 in San Francisco
2,650 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#26 of 230 in San Francisco
1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nikko San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Address: 222 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#21 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#40 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: ₹ 11,090 - ₹ 34,303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nikko San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 532
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retreat to Hotel Nikko in San Francisco, where personalized service meets cutting-edge style. Our hotel is set in the heart of the city, just steps from Union Square shops and restaurants, making it the ideal destination for both business and leisure travel. Our four-diamond rated property features 532 guest rooms and 22 suites, each with pillow-top beds, high-speed internet, and a wealth of modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Nikko San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nikko San Francisco
San Francisco Nikko
Nikko Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing