We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Tuscan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Tuscan
Ranked #58 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Utah
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

This was our first trip to San Francisco. I went with my husband and my teenage son. We stayed from Aug 23 to Aug 26. We were very fortunate to stay at this great hotel. You can't beat the location. It is walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf. Close to restaraunts, shops and public transportation. Hotel was clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The concierge provided helpful information on how to catch our tour bus. We had a room facing the courtyard and it was very quiet. We did eat at the restaurant one time. Food was a bit pricey but so is everything else in San Francisco. The food and service were excellent.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank familytimeut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Hi familytimeut - Thank you for staying with us and for the terrific 5 Star review. We're glad your family enjoyed the hotel and we hope that your 1st time in San Francisco was memorable! We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,019 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,794
    1,619
    438
    118
    50
See reviews for
1,109
1,820
91
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (634)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

We initially had a ground floor outside room, but for me it was a little too much street noise. They were very good about moving us to a courtyard room which was clean, comfortable and very quiet. I slept very well. I was particularly pleased by the friendly greetings we always received from the staff, no matter who they were. The hotel is an easy walk to Fisherman's Wharf and public transportation. We did miss having a swimming pool, but will definitely stay here again when in the area.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seacapn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
Ahoy seacapn - Thanks for staying with us and for your kind words about the hotel and staff. I'm glad you slept well and had a good experience at the Tuscan. (We wish we had a pool too)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

This place was in a great location, close to shops, the Wharf etc. Rooms were beautiful and clean, bed was comfy-Ours had a cozy fireplace! I will say though that we were facing North Point so we were frequently woken up by people yelling, horns honking, sirens, etc., but not the Hotels fault-just something to consider if you are a light sleeper. If I could offer one warning, it would be that you should check your car for damage after you get it from valet-We joked about it after seeing the way they were driving other cars, wasn't so funny after being charged $44 daily/parking and seeing significant damage to our own car!

Room Tip: See if you can find one facing interior if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eyestothesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, 9 September 2012
Hi eyestothesea - It was very concerning when I read on trip advisor about your valet experience at the hotel. I would very much value the opportunity to speak with you personally. May I politely ask that you contact me directly by e mailing me at ed.sincoff@tuscaninn.com?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

I Would like to begin by thanking Maria San Antonio for personally booking my reservation to my utmost satisfaction. Her attention to detail, professionalism, pleasant demeanor, and courtesy have contributed to my overall impression of this property!

The hotel is in a great location; within easy walking distance of the Wharf and Pier 39, and as we discovered (quite by accident), the North Beach (Little Italy) neighborhood, which is one of our favorites!

The housekeeping staff deserves a "shout-out"; our room was immaculate, day after day! They have an incentive policy of $5.00/day food credit in their restaurant "Pescatore" in lieu of housekeeping services. We did not take advantage of this "conservation" effort (we didn't see the pamphlet until the end of our stay).

Morning coffee and afternoon wine are complimentary; while we are not wine drinkers, we love the idea of camaraderie and hospitality. Loved the lobby; day and night the ambiance was so inviting. Gotta say, the furniture was so stylish, tasteful and comfortable; the color schemes and textures...RICH! Really great first impression that is carried throughout.

If you require "Concierge" services, Hugo, is terrific! Felt like I knew him...forever :) He is only there on an "as needed" basis; consider yourself fortunate if you have the opportunity to meet him.

Try "Pescatore" ... appears to be the busiest spot on the street...always a nice crowd (early in the evening for drinks and later for food). Seemed no matter when we passed by, it was bustling. We relaxed there one night over a margharita pizza, which by the way, was very good.

We had stayed at another property (large chain hotel, same neighborhood) 2 years ago... must say, The Tuscan Inn gets our vote and our business next time we visit (in another year or two).

Loved everything...honestly can't think of one thing that would deter us; can't even conjure up a "constructive criticism" for good measure :)

We were satisfied from beginning to end...they even schedule the "departure" shuttle van service to the airport ($15.00/pp).

Best Western Tuscan Inn...ONE STOP SHOPPING (take it from someone who loves to shop)!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank COALCRACKER1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
Hi COALCRACKER1 - What can I say? Your kind words and comments are overwhelming. Maria and Hugo are rock stars for sure. I will share your wonderful remarks with them and make sure they are recognized for providing such great service. Our housekeeping staff and the team at Pescatore will appreciate your comments as well. I'll also share your review with our designer; she'll be quite pleased to hear that her hard work does not go unnoticed. Thanks for staying with us and thank you again for the glowing review. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012 via mobile

Nice clean modern room. Fantastic location. Wine tasting was a pleasant extra. Helpful and pleasant staff? Not much more I could add other than I would stay here again. But i need 200 characters so ... We did not try the food. Price was good for the area

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ralphp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
Hi ralphp - Thank you for the very nice review. We appreciate your comments and hope you'll have the opportunity to stay with us again when your travels bring you back to the fisherman's wharf area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#49 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,831 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf San Francisco
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf ...
#70 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tuscan? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tuscan

Property: The Tuscan
Address: 425 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-1405 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price range (per night): ₹ 16,271 - ₹ 28,718
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tuscan 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1997, Frommer's Guide designates the Tuscan hotel, located just steps from the breathtaking San Francisco waterfront, as "the best hotel at Fisherman's Wharf." This gracious boutique hotel is characterized by its warmth and charm, impeccable service and Italian country villa ambiance. Adjacent to the hotel is the inviting Italian trattoria, Café Pescatore, completing the picture for an ideal stay in the City by the Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Tuscan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Francisco
Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf
San Francisco Tuscan Inn
San Francisco Best Western Tuscan Inn
Tuscan Inn San Francisco
Best Western Fishermans Wharf
Best Western Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing