We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Stratford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Stratford
Ranked #105 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Small, clean hotel with a great location. A bit old/worn out - but clean. Rooms small, but double bed big enough for two, nice madrass. Surprisingly quiet, so we slept well even with the window a bit open. We spent 4 nights in a double room on 7th floor. Very small room, with the bathroom sink in the room (a bit unusual) and a bathroom with shower and toilet. Continental breakfast, coffee/bread/searal/juice and milk.
We had a good stay, loved San Fransisco - and would stay in this hotel again due to the location.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tmf f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    604
    338
    80
    36
See reviews for
151
583
107
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

Great location if you don't mind a bit of hussling city noise and the cable car bells, shopping, tours, restaurants and cable car all within short walking distance. We were street facing on the 8th floor and also enjoyed falling asleep to street saxophone players and the light summer breeze.... No air-conditioning or fridge in the room, but it didn't get all that warm. Lift was slow (especially for the top floor) and so we used the stairs to work off all the good food and Californian wine! Overall, we were impressed with a fuss free, clean, bright and comfortable room.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsAussieSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

The Stratford has a great location near downtown shopping. The cable car runs right in front of the hotel which was very convenient for trips to the waterfront (although a bit pricey $6 OW). If you are driving it's a little crazy getting checked in and handing off for valet parking due to busy traffic and not much space out in front. Our room was older and pretty tight on size. It didn't smell too fresh, but was about as expected for an older hotel (maybe previous smoking?). The breakfast was decent although the eating room was very crowded. Front desk staff was extremely nice and helpful. They gave us directions, stored our luggage after checkout for several hours and let us park longer without a second day's fee. Their level of professionalism was higher than expected at a mid-range (or budget for inner city) hotel..

Room Tip: Elevators are slow so might want to request a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

In the heart of San Fran, not my idea of a relaxing stay purely due to not being a fan of city life, however i will say that if you love cities then you will probably love it here. The cable car is literally just outside the reception doors, you can hear the cable cars' bells ringing into the night but even for the two nights we stayed they didn't bother us, they,re not really load. There are shops all around and lots of places to eat.
The rooms were not ideal for us as we wanted and had expected two rooms, one with a queen bed and one with two beds but we just got two queens. The rooms are relatively small but if you're in the middle of a busy city how long do you plan on spending in your room. Breakfast was included and had several choices, if nothing else it gets you started for the day! The valet service isn't ideal, you have to hope you can get parked outside the hotel and don't miss a space or the sign for the hotel as we nearly did. when it came to checking out we must of had a half an hour wait for our car to get to us as it is parked away from the hotel, it wasn't a huge issue but when you're packed and ready you just want to get going!
There are quite a lot of homeless people in the streets that try and get you're attention so I personally would not walk around on my own as I find it unnerving. We did however witness a very drunk man stood on a small crate trying to be a statue to get money but due to lack of balance he wasn't very still! We wished we'd had change on us as he deserved money just for the effort!
We went for a late afternoon stroll through china town and the atmosphere there is great, lots of shops and restaurant with lots of amazing smells. A real community feel.
We stayed in San Francisco for two night and got the cable car to fisherman's wharf and pier 39 and spent the afternoon and evening there! These areas are more my sort of place, relaxing and clean, there's lots to see, eat and buy. Fresh seafood on every corner and great shopping areas. I would rather have stayed in this area and spent a few hours near union square rather than the other way round.

Room Tip: If you want the full city experience then for value and location this place is ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becks18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

We stayed here for three nights as a couple. The best thing about the hotel is the location as it's right in the heart of Union Square which makes it easily accessible to the BART train station to the airport, the cable cars and to the hop on/hop off bus stops. It's comfortable, very clean and quiet and a basic breakfast is included.

The only downsides are that the room is quite small (which is a bit awkward with two large suitcases) and that the breakfast room is a bit small so we had to start eating breakfast standing up and the layout was a bit awkward.

Overall, it's just what you need if you're looking for somewhere to stay whilst exploring San Francisco.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LMaia88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#80 of 229 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#98 of 229 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,242 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Fusion
Hotel Fusion
#130 of 229 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
King George Hotel
King George Hotel
#82 of 229 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,364 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 229 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,986 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#72 of 229 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stratford? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stratford

Property: Hotel Stratford
Address: 242 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,129 - ₹ 23,276
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Stratford 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If travelers were to pinpoint on a map the number one location in San Francisco, it could be right outside the door of Hotel Stratford. Our entrance has become part of thousands of photographs taken of the Cable Car as it heads up the second block of its famous journey over San Francisco's beautiful hillside communities.Guests who want the convenience of being right in the center of the City will enjoy their stay in this European style affordably priced property, with over 80 pleasantly decorated rooms, all with the most modern facilities. We await the pleasure of your company be it for Business or Leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Stratford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stratford Hotel San Francisco
Stratford San Francisco
Stratford Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing