We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tiny rooms and too much of a hassle”
Review of Hotel Stratford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Stratford
Ranked #111 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Harbor City, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“tiny rooms and too much of a hassle”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I was really excited to stay at the Stratford after seeing some pictures and review. Yes it is right in the middle of where all the shopping is. If that's what your in SF for then maybe you will want to stay there. The one good thing about the hotel was the staff is friendly. They have valet parking, but it is so extremely difficult to get to and they don't move the cars fast enough. You're right on a busy street, and there are only 2 spots where valet can go... so if those spots are taken have fun circling around SF in hopes that they move one of the cars by then so you can get in. It took us an extra half hour of circling and the same cars were still there. And if you don't use valet the parking is over a block away, which we had to take two trips to get all of our luggage. Then when we get into the hotel I was shocked at how tiny the room is. The door practically hits the bed you hardly have any room to move around. I've stayed at cheaper hotels that were over twice as big as that. We didn't like it at all.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stefanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    652
    364
    90
    39
See reviews for
173
622
119
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

After spending a week in SF, I believe Union Square is one of the most convenient locations to stay for a first-time SF tourist. It's relatively safe (some homeless people here and there, but seemed harmless), close to eateries and loads of shopping. Many tram and bus lines run through Powell and Geary, otherwise there are more options down by Westfield Mall. BART Powell Station is also just 4-5 minutes away.
Like many of the reviewers before me, Hotel Stratford is fantastic for its location right beside Union Square! I agree that some air con would be nice, but for the prices, cleaniness and location, I am not complaining...

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry-Kiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

San Francisco is a bustling city, and somewhat awkwardly laid out. You ideally need a centrally located hotel to make the most of exploring the city, and that is where the Stratford Hotel comes in. It is located a few moments away from Union Square, which is the main high-end shopping area, and about a 10 minute walk from Market Street, which is the main shopping high street. If you want to visit the piers or the harbour (or take a trip to Alcatraz) there is a cable car stop directly outside the hotel, making climbing those famous hills much easier, and more scenic.
Ideally located, clean, and well equipped rooms (with the odd, yet useful, addition of having the hand basin in the bedroom area rather than in the bathroom).
Highly recommended for those on a budget, or for those who want to stay central and close to the amenities.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe City, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

My sister-in-law and I spent 3 nights at The Stratford. We had a very quiet room-212. It was small but comfortable and clean with two twin beds. We didn't bother with the elevator (other reviews said it was slow) as there was only one flight of stairs. Everything was provided that we could want--Rusk shampoo-plenty of clean towels-hair dryer-iron. When we came in from a day of sightseeing the room was spic and span.
The breakfast room was light and cheery with an offering of cereal, toast, muffins, fruit, coffee, and a choice of cranberry juice or orange juice. They also had a nice selection of teas. We never found it crowded or out of food. The view onto Powell Street below was nice.
The front desk helped us in every way possible with maps, printing out our boarding passes, and general pleasant chit-chat.
Enough can't be said about the location. Two blocks from the Bart and all other city transportation made everything easy with no need for a car. The shopping was great in the Union Square area. We explored the entire city as well as across the bay with little trouble

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottie074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We stayed here a few nights ago and had a ball. Centrally located, 5 min walk to train to get to/from airport, and you can pretty much walk from there to anywhere you like. A few problems/ no aircon, only windows and they turned heater up really high over night which meant we left windows open all night. Room is small but very clean and comfortable, no problems there at all. Breakfast is not too bad- simple like toast and cereal coffee/tea and juice but it's free so not complaining! Would stay here again when in San Francisco. If you can't cope with street noise/cable car noise then maybe reconsider but its convenience and cleanliness make it my first choice again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mianoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#79 of 229 in San Francisco
1,327 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#125 of 229 in San Francisco
768 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Fusion
Hotel Fusion
#122 of 229 in San Francisco
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
King George Hotel
King George Hotel
#84 of 229 in San Francisco
1,453 reviews
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#78 of 229 in San Francisco
1,157 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#96 of 229 in San Francisco
2,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stratford? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stratford

Property: Hotel Stratford
Address: 242 Powell St, San Francisco, CA 94102-2206
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,704 - ₹ 26,048
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Stratford 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If travelers were to pinpoint on a map the number one location in San Francisco, it could be right outside the door of Hotel Stratford. Our entrance has become part of thousands of photographs taken of the Cable Car as it heads up the second block of its famous journey over San Francisco's beautiful hillside communities. Guests who want the convenience of being right in the center of the City will enjoy their stay in this European style affordably priced property, with 90 pleasantly decorated rooms, all with the most modern facilities. We await the pleasure of your company be it for Business or Leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Stratford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stratford Hotel San Francisco
Stratford San Francisco
Stratford Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing