We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal for a city visit!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Herbert Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Herbert Hotel
Ranked #80 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ideal for a city visit!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

We recently stayed in The Herbert Hotel on the first leg of our West Coast drive and had a lovely stay.
Our room was on the 6th floor (i had emailed ahead requesting a quiet room as advised by other reviewers) and i have to say, i did not once wake up through noise. the room was very clean and modern, we had opted for the private bathroom which was very well maintained. the security of the front door was comforting in a central location and the reception staff were helpful.
if you want to stay somewhere that has excellent value for a prime location then this is ideal. there were many places to eat breakfast/dinner nearby and it is also very close to union square.
the cable internet was provided free of charge which was also a bonus.
transport wise it is so close to the major cable car lines that there is no need for a taxi, you can either walk or jump on a car. perfect for our requirements.

Room Tip: higher floors are quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holly Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    523
    270
    87
    53
See reviews for
185
517
144
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rockwood
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

I saw 2 rooms in this hotel. Both were the ones without washroom facilities. Each had different amenities. One had a coffee maker & fridge, the other had a chest of drawers and table and chair. When I moved to the 2nd room, without the coffee maker, I asked to have one in the room, & although it took some hours, one did finally arrive.
The rooms are very small but clean. There is a simple white curtain over the window. The curtain does not have a blackout lining. The windows are thin and not soundproof but do open. There are locked doors between rooms which allow quite a lot of sound to travel between the rooms but the 3 days I was there the fellow travelers were quiet.
The restroom is at the end of the hallway and the sink is so small that there is no place to rest toiletries and it is hard to even wash one's face without splashing on the floor. There is a separate shower room.

I found the beds to be very comfortable.
There was free internet connection via cable.

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms face onto the street and can be noisy. Even numbered rooms overlook other buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smoconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

Very small rooms and musty smell. One night and it was OK. Come with a small fridge and 1 shared bathroom and shower on the 5th floor. Common TV room and lounge on second floor.Nice to have key to get in and felt safe with locked lobby. There is quite a bit on people on the street all nightlong. Right near intersection of Powell and O Farrell near Macy main store, H&M and Powell Street Cable Car turn around. Great for young travelers that need modern and location and are into a non-full service place. Not for a family.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fact150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Herbert Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that your room has a musty smell. We do not have this complaint usually and make efforts to not only make sure that every room is freshened daily but also have made our rooms with materials which do not absorb smells (wooden floors ect.). There are also many different room types so not every room has a bathroom in the hallway, many have them in the room itself. It will state which you have when booking (shared or private). Also if you do book a shared bathroom, they are on each floor, not just the 5th floor. We do have rooms which connect that are ideal for families. Contact the hotel directly for more details regarding these types of rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

Great location, Clean, convenient and economical. Within a block from Bart. Transit to and from the airport was painless. I will stay there on my next visit to the City.

Great restaurants and shopping close by.

Room Tip: Ask for the seventh floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

Poor service at reception. Room (size, decor, amenities) certainly NOT as advertised. Should be classified as a motel. No WiFi service beyond 2nd floor.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank docomo00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParamountManagment, General Manager at The Herbert Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
I am so sorry that you did not have a good stay with us. Service is definitely something one of our top priorities. All of our rooms have been newly renovated and although we do keep our rooms simple we make sure that we have a good quality and fresh and clean environment for our guests. All of the pictures on our website reflect what our rooms look like. There are two styles presently; one which is more colorful and the other which is a combination of grays, wood tones and white. All of this is shown on our website. There is only wifi on the 2nd floor but each room has wired high speed internet available in to all guests at no extra charge. We are not a motel as we have a 24 hour front desk but we are an economy hotel with a centrally located theme. Clean and simple with an excellent location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#96 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,260 reviews
Union Square
King George Hotel
King George Hotel
#83 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
Union Square
The Grant Hotel
The Grant Hotel
#127 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Stratford
Hotel Stratford
#104 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#101 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#13 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Herbert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Herbert Hotel

Property: The Herbert Hotel
Address: 161 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-2291
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#64 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#79 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,377 - ₹ 70,419
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Herbert Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Herbert Hotel is a small historic hotel located on the Powell Street Cable Car line at legendary Union Square, San Francisco, California. Newly designed and renovated, the hotel offers style, location and affordability unmatched in the city center. Conveniently located in the heart of the city, the Herbert is a short walk from San Francisco's many attractions. Restaurants, shops galleries and theaters are just outside our door. Moscone Center, Chinatown, the Museum of Modern Art and the world's most fabulous stores are a short walk away. Our 99 guest rooms are newly designed and renovated. All of our rooms come with high speed internet access. We offer suites and single rooms at affordable prices as well as double and triple connecting rooms that are ideal for families. Offering modern hotel amenities and a classic San Francisco hotel, The Herbert is ideal for families as as well as business and leisure travelers. Enjoy the comfort of clean and well-equipped accommodations at a fraction of the price of typical downtown San Francisco hotels. Make a reservation today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Herbert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herbert Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing