We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, clean place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area
Ranked #80 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Went to San Francisco for our Honeymoon. After doing much research, I chose this hotel based on the reviews on Tripadvisor. They were true.

It's a decent, clean place to stay. Had one issue where our room keys wouldn't work. We got back to the hotel after midnight and our keys wouldn't work. Thankfully, there was someone in to office to re-activate our keys. Friendly staff.

The only down fall is the lack of parking. If you want to park at the hotel for free- BE THERE EARLY!!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mitchelly76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (766)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

612 - 616 of 766 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2011

We recently stayed four nights at Day's Inn. This hotel does not charge extra for parking. We kept our car there the whole time and walked, used the handy F train to get to Fisherman's Wharf and were picked up a couple of times by a friend. The hotel was clean with ample space for our clothes.

Because of limited space in the lobby, breakfast must be eaten in the rooms. The breakfast choice was limited with cereal, toast, muffins, juice and coffee. The coffee was superior to most hotel breakfast buffets. Our room had a microwave and small refrigerator as well as a coffee maker.

The location was wonderful. We attended three operas while there and the opera house is a two block walk from the hotel. There are also a variety of good restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Stayed here over a year ago, but it was a safe place to stay with just what we needed - a bed, shower, coffee and near town at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gavontheweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We try to get this motel every time we visit SF, but the rates are pretty variable so when we can get a good deal here we are always happy to come back. It is not fancy, but it is just a nice little place and we always have a great stay.

The best part is the location in Hayes Valley. It is such a nice little neighborhood with great restaurants, coffee shops, and boutique stores. You can walk to the civic center, or take buses from nearby and we always were able to flag a cab. There is free parking and we've always gotten a spot, then we don't move the vehicle all weekend and take public transit. The building is set back from the road to accommodate the parking lot, so that gives a nice buffer from street noise. We like sitting outside the rooms and looking at the city - there are a couple landings that you can hang out on.

The one bed rooms are a little small but they are comfortable. The bathroom is pretty large, and was decent. I have had the 2 bed rooms here, and they are much larger and have a wet bar. The beds are comfortable and firm.

Room Tip: The rooms with two beds are a lot larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ostara864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

There is plenty to see and do in this area, but it is not a pretty part of town and there are homeless people everywhere. The streets are filthy nearby and really not something I would recommend for female travelers.
Otherwise - it was as you would expect - clean and basic. The staff were accomodating and helped with advice.

Love the town and would certainly come back - just somewhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chester P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Phoenix Hotel SF
#27 of 231 in San Francisco
1,071 reviews
Marina District
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
#135 of 231 in San Francisco
688 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Inn
San Francisco Inn
#142 of 231 in San Francisco
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Music City Hotel
#116 of 231 in San Francisco
436 reviews
The Castro
Beck's Motor Lodge
Beck's Motor Lodge
#13 of 231 in San Francisco
457 reviews
Marina District
Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area

Address: 465 Grove St, San Francisco, CA 94102-4302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Hayes Valley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: ₹ 9,521 - ₹ 18,459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing