We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Stanford Court San Francisco
Ranked #58 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very Good Stay”
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Nice, large king bed room, faced California. Only noise was the cable cars, which we didn't mind. Inside the hotel was very quiet. Very comfortable bed. Hotel is on the top of the hill, great for using the cable cars, as all the lines come by the hotel. Good idea to get a cable car pass, or the walk would be tough. The staff is excellent, friendly, helpful. My only complaint is the charge for wireless in the room - ridiculous. It is available free in the common areas.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sfpaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,049
    1,555
    570
    214
    127
See reviews for
953
1,602
219
1,150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Americus, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Beautiful hotel with $46 overnight parking and somewhat off staff. No bathrobe in the $400 a night room. No turn down service, and in the AM (8:30) housekeeping let themselves into my room without announcing themselves. My room was exceptional, overlooking the iconic corner of Powell and California. I think, considering the status and prestiege of the hotel, and location, as well as the price, this hotel could do alot better. With excellent front desk staff like Scott Ober, they probably will. In house housekeeping and wait staff need a refresher course on Marriott Hotel service, however.

No issue with the noise at all.

Maybe use Hotels.com to reserve for a better price, because by the time you are finished paying all the hotel taxes, your bill will be $100 higher than the price the hotel quotes to you.

Room Tip: Maybe use Hotels.com to reserve for a better price, because by the time you are finished paying all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suspect309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012 via mobile

Great situation. The hotel staff are wonderful, welcoming and helpful. The room was lovely and clean with a sumptuous large bed. My only comment was that it was a little noisy street side with the cable cars passing from 6am ....but that's part of San Francisco's charm.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbrown35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHIPPANY
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Overnight valet parking $55. Great view even from 2nd floor. Not extortionate mini (big) bar prices. Woken by 6am by the street car outside.

Room Tip: Get away from the streetcar
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowcarbuncleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

I stayed here for a conference a few months ago. I was really impressed with the size and style of the room. This hotel isn't showing its age like the Mark Hopkins next door. It's very close to the famous Tonga Room, so I highly recommend going there. Also, it's an easy downhill walk to Union Square. The conference rooms are downstairs (I think basement level). It was a nice place for a conference, but the in-house AV team totally screwed up the video projection for our conference when it came time to break the sessions into two smaller rooms after lunch. They spent 45 minutes and never got the projector on. Really unacceptable for the price companies pay for conference rooms and AV service technicians. I did also have trouble getting them to email me a receipt after I'd checked out.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Nob Hill
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#15 of 229 in San Francisco
2,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#68 of 229 in San Francisco
3,910 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanford Court San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Court San Francisco

Property: Stanford Court San Francisco
Address: 905 California Street, Nob Hill, San Francisco, CA 94108-2201 (Formerly Renaissance San Francisco Stanford Court Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#40 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,370 - ₹ 32,663
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanford Court San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stanford Court San Francisco is fresh, fashionable and at the center of everything savvy visitors want to see and do. Enjoy sweeping views of the city, the bay and the majestic Golden Gate Bridge from our convenient location atop historic Nob Hill. Discover the best of San Francisco's charm and character while enjoying our contemporary boutique hotel as your home base.An ideal location, we are conveniently situated in Nob Hill close to premier shopping, dining, and attractions in Union Square. We are steps to the historic cable cars, a short walk to Chinatown, Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square and the Ferry Building.393 newly-renovated rooms and suites, offering cool, contemporary accommodations. Three cable car lines running directly in front of the hotel, waiting to whisk you to San Francisco’s hottest neighborhoods and landmarks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stanford Court San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Stanford Court Hotel San Francisco
Renaissance Hotel San Francisco
Renaissance San Francisco
San Francisco Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing