We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Fish and Chips”

Crab House at Pier 39
Reserve with OpenTable
Crab House at Pier 39 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #333 of 6,266 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 25 - US$ 100
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Fisherman’s Wharf
Transit: F-Line & #15
Description: Great view & SF's famous Dungeness Crab served in seriously addictive garlic sauce make us the go to spot on scenic Pier 39 for casual dining.
Reviewed 22 August 2016

We were lucky and had a wait shorter than the 30 minutes we were told. In addition, we got a wonderful table next to the window overlooking the water, seals, etc. The service was very good as well. True, it is not cheap, but the food was really, really good. The highlight (we did not have crab legs) was the fish with the.fish and chips....among the top two or three I have ever had.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dabbler45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bart M, General Manager at Crab House at Pier 39, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2016

dabbler45, thank you for taking the time to leave us with a review!

We're glad you had such an amazing visit to our restaurant! Getting seats next to the window always makes for an awesome view. Combining that with our great service and delicious food makes for an awesome dining experience.

Once again, we appreciate the time you've taken to leave us with a review. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,911)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

316 - 320 of 1,911 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2016

Definitely one of the best meals we had during our time in San Fran. The service was excellent, and the menu had a lot of possibilities. I got the Dungeness crab, and it was incredibly fresh and well seasoned (but not in a way that overpowered the natural taste)! Would definitely go back when possible!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank eiviee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2016

Some friend recommended this spot for the big crab platters. We went and had a very good meal. Location is right in tourist central on pier 39. If you ask me that has factored into their prices but there are other spots there to keep them at least a bit honest. Very recommended to make a reservation if you will eat during peak times. We also had crab cakes that were very good but a bit small. But just a big ole feast of crab. Service was very good for a more tourist spot. Not really fine dining though but the atmosphere is very nice and relaxed. We enjoyed it.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JohnnyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bart M, General Manager at Crab House at Pier 39, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2016

Thanks for sharing, Johnny!

We're so happy to see that you enjoyed your meal at Crab House at Pier 39. It's great to know that you appreciated our location as well as the excellent service you received from our staff. Serving our guests delicious cuisine is of utmost importance to us and we're glad that you were satisfied with the quality of your meal.

We look forward to hosting you again the next time you're in San Francisco. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2016

The iron grill crab with the various combo of shrimp or other seafood items is a must. It is probably the best value out of the other items on the menu. If you want to try proper SanFran crab, this is the place.

Thank S C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2016

Touristy area with high prices but it was delicious. Crab was perfect. Alfredo (shrimp and crab dishes) was fantastic.Chowder in bread bowl was a big hit. Had to splurge at least once in San Fran and this was it!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JazetsJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bart M, General Manager at Crab House at Pier 39, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing the great review. We're glad that you enjoyed the fresh, flavorful crab you were served at Crab House at Pier 39. It's wonderful to know that you were also satisfied with the other dishes you tried - we think our Chowder in a bread bowl is a must-have!

It was our pleasure having you join us for a lovely meal and we look forward to hosting you again when you return to San Francisco. Have a beautiful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crab House at Pier 39 also viewed

 

Been to Crab House at Pier 39? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing