We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (249)
Filter reviews
249 results
Traveller rating
47
98
58
24
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
47
98
58
24
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews haight ashbury golden gate park victorian style continental breakfast two bedroom suite wine and cheese inside room street side wine reception boutique hotel few blocks ucsf neighborhood wholefoods cereal fi cable
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 249 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

If you are looking for rude service, small rooms and a VERY dated hotel this is the place for you.

We thought the hotel may be a bit run down, but booked it due to its proximity to our daughters apartment. What a mistake....

Rather than write a book I will simply encourage all to stay away.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Howard_Silverstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

Me and my newly made fiancé stayed for two nights. Staff were all very helpful, hotel itself is old but great with lots of character. We had a room facing golden gate park which was very spacious. Breakfast was fine, something for everyone. Also nice to have complimentary wine and cheese weekdays in reception. Staff went out of theyre way to help with something I requested, which we were really happy with! Couldn’t complain about a thing, would definitely recommend!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank dannyboyuk88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

We stayed here for a weekend on our way back to Norway.
This is a boutique hotel with old -fashioned style. Service level of personnel at reception desk varied from almost rude to very friendly.
We had a deluxe room, which was spacious, with ok bed, desk and bathroom with good shower. Hotel and rooms are in old-fashioned style with flower wallpaper (repaired in places), but with a lot of atmosphere. Although our rooms faced street and Golden Gate Park, traffic did not disturb us. No air condition but not much need for that in SF. One chilly night we actually had to turn on electric radiators, which worked fine. Breakfast is buffet style with limited selection, but good coffee and a waffle iron to make your own waffles. Location is perfect for exploring Golden gate Park area.It is a 3 star hotel, but it can be recommended. Strong points atmosphere and location.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norwegiansunlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018 via mobile

When we first arrived at Stanyan Park Hotel we were disappointed with the staff. No-one offered to help us with our bags, in fact they didn't even help to hold the door open for me as they watched me struggle to hold the door open at the same time as pushing a luggage trolley through the door. Not a great start. We were pleasantly surprised by the accommodation itself, however very quickly realised there was no air-conditioning and the only way to get fresh air was to open the windows. However with there being no screens/rails on the windows this was not an option as we were on the 3rd floor and the windows were all quite low. We were travelling with a 3 year old and a very inquisitive 1 year old so these windows were very unsafe and all needed to be locked closed on our arrival into the suite.
When we arrived back to the hotel after spending a day sight seeing we were shocked to find the entire apartment was filled with Marijuana smoke due to a convention nearby. With no air conditioning there was no way for us to vent the smoke out of the apartment. After an hour in the apartment my 2 older children & myself were experiencing a headache & asthma symptoms and we determined that the accommodation was no longer safe for our 4 children (especially our infant son) and needed to vacate the property immediately.

The staff member on duty that evening was a lovely man who was very apologetic about the situation, however there was really nothing that he could do to improve the situation for us enabling us to stay.

However the hotel have refused point blank to refund any costs other than the taxes for one night. We were booked to stay for 3 and only stayed for 1.

They have been rude and unreasonable in their responses to our travel agent and quite frankly if I could give them a zero I would.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank tashsview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018

Very helpful staff, printing out itineraries for the day!
However, the escalator was out of order, fixed the 3rd day,
challenging for a person with difficulties walking.
Love the character of an old house though.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view!
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ahutif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews