We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“two very annoying details, for what they are worth...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental San Francisco
Ranked #36 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 2 June 2012

The hotel is very nice and classy and the staff is courteous but I left annoyed. This is why: I had a problem getting a shuttle (because it was before concierge was on duty). The staff's attitude was to tell me to wait for the concierge -- I could not. I tried to hire a shuttle myself but they were sold out. In desperation I actually called a neighboring hotel to ask about using their shuttle. They helped me hire a shuttle. I just felt like the staff at the intercontinental could not be bothered to help me because that was the concierge's job. I did not want to plead with them either...who would want to be put in that position?

The second complaint will make sound like an old fogey. The oatmeal they served me was dreadful. Surely enough people who eat oatmeal stay here? My recommendation is for them to get instant oatmeal because what they are doing now is overpriced warm water with half cooked oats in it.

For these two reasons I would probably try my luck elsewhere next time. Things dont have to be perfect. But effort and attitude are telling details that can make a difference, especially when you are freaking about getting to the airport.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cbc1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

Dear cbc1969,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to the InterContinental San Francisco. I am delighted that you found our hotel very nice and classy. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. However, please accept our sincerest apologies for the issues you had with the transportation and food during your stay. I hope we will have the opportunity to host you again on a future visit.

Once again, thank you for your review.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,965)
There are newer reviews for InterContinental San Francisco
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,859 - 1,863 of 2,965 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2012

A great hotel if you are on a business account. Service is terrific and staff are very friendly and helpful. All class.

However, until this hotel changes its ridiculously out-dated policy of charging for internet, I wont be returning.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RenfieldP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 July 2012

Dear RenfieldPonsford,

Thank you for your stay and leaving us feedback. I am pleased you liked your room accommodations as well as our friendly staff service. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I’m sorry you were not fully satisfied with the internet service charges. We appreciate your feedback as this will help us improve what we offer. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

nice hotel but not 4.5 stars...The location is a bit off-the-beaten path of Union Square, but very close to Nordstroms and Market Street. The staff was nice and friendly. We did not eat in the restaurant. The room was small, well-appointed and had a good view and nice modern art. The pool-spa area was disappointing to me...very small, indoor, no steam room and not very inviting. The work out room was adequate and larger than many so I give that a thumbs up. Overall the experience was nice, but I still don't think it garners a 4.5 rating...4.0 would be more appropriate.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bajalover2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We stayed here over Memorial Day weekend, and thought it was just perfect. We arrived very early on Saturday morning, and the gentleman at the front desk was so nice about letting us into our room early. This may not be standard practice, but you sure remember the hotels when they allow it. We were very tired from traveling, and really appreciated being able to drop off our bags and clean up before heading out to see the sights. The hotel is very nice, our room on the 29th floor had an amazing view of city. Dorjan, the bellboy, was super friendly and helpful as well. We came looking to get a great night's sleep, and certainly found it here since the beds are very comfortable. The only drawback for this place is the location, since it is kind of a walk to Fisherman's Wharf. We didn't mind at all, it was worth it, but if you are not one for walking, then this is probably not your place. It is very close to the Powell St. BART exit though, so that made it easy to get to from SFO. Overall, we really appreciated the great service and excellent night's sleep.

Room Tip: Let them know you're okay with a shower instead of a bathtub, the room is beautiful!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Beautiful hotel with the warmest team of hospitality professionals, especially Guest Relations and the Club Lounge team. They all make you feel so at home, it really is hard to leave! Thank you ICSF for yet another relaxing stay! I recommend this hotel to everyone for everyone reason! Flawless, chic, and very personal!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gottaheartb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#21 of 229 in San Francisco
1,271 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,310 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#25 of 229 in San Francisco
5,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#23 of 229 in San Francisco
3,277 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#37 of 229 in San Francisco
4,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental San Francisco

Address: 888 Howard Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#27 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: ₹ 12,704 - ₹ 50,815 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental San Francisco 4.5*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental San Francisco is the Bay Area s newest upscale hotel destination. The 32-story glass tower sparkles high above the city, standing sentry over the South of Market (SoMa) area. The smoke-free hotel is convenient to everything, including the Moscone Convention Center, Union Square, Chinatown and the Powell Street Cable Car Turnaround. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing