We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful view” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental San Francisco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
InterContinental San Francisco
Ranked #31 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Volpago del Montello, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

I was at 22th floor and the view was really amazing. The grappa bar is really original.

Room Tip: ask for the highest floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoredanGasparini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,800 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,406
    951
    284
    94
    65
See reviews for
484
872
190
935
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (599)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Murieta, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

Stayed at the Intercontinental for a conference. Arrived late evening and requested a high floor away from elevators. We were put on the 27th floor but right by the elevators but it was fine...no noise at all, which was our concern. The hotel is very clean and the personnel were friendly and accommodating. When I returned from my morning speed walk a staff member handed me a bottle of Evian as I came through the door. Very nice touch. The hotel is a five minute walk to Westfield Center and Union Square. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

I recently stayed at the Intercontinental. It was comfortable and clean, which is really all that matters, but there was nothing special about it. Judging from the room alone, it could have been Hilton or the Marriott. There was nothing I found particularly defining about it.
I understand that the hotel is around 3 yrs old, and considering it was built next door to the convention center, I believe it was built for mostly business travelers in mind. The pool is just a lap pool with 2 lanes, so not that much room for a leisurely swim. The hot tub was nice but always filled with people.
The ladies at the front desk were friendly and helpful. The concierges were also friendly and helpful in person. I did call down and ask for Thai food, and they suggest 2 places. When I looked them up on yelp, one of them had a very low rating from the city board of health!! A quick review of health ratings for the restaurants that they suggest, would make them better equipped to recommend decent, healthy restaurants.
The real shocker at the hotel was parking. It is $65 per night!! I asked them if they were going to clean it, Perhaps it should get a bed, a robe and slippers too. Valet understood the shock on my face and was willing to direct me to a close parking lot for half the price, but there is absolutely no need to charge that much for parking.
Overall, a business traveler hotel, don't bring your car!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Dear Stephanie S,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We are glad you liked the hotel location and hope you liked the clean and comfortable room accommodations. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Regards,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

The previous weekend to staying at the Intercontinental San Francisco, I stayed at the sister hotel in SF, the Mark Hopkins on Nob Hill. This kind of spoilt me and made it hard for anything else to follow.

Likes:
The location for a start, it was two blocks away from Market Street, so made it convenient for shopping, eating, public transport.

The hotel was uber modern, room likewise, with big screen HDTV and Keurig coffee maker (albeit faulty), wouldnt make coffee, just hot water for tea, so tea it was.

The view from my corner room was stunning.. 180 degreee city views, with floor to ceiling windows, again, stunning...

Dislikes:
As I look like a remnant from a 70's rock band, I got treated like I shouldnt have been there, staff looked sideways, didnt know whether to speak. Unlike the Mark Hopkins up the road where you are treated like a star.

Lots of stuffy people around, black suits, curly wire ear pieces, looking important, with no interaction. Same with the doormen, a bit indifferent, sometimes you get a greeting, sometimes not, most of the time you have to open the door yourself.

A real noisy afterwork bar at the end of the lobby.

A real big one was you couldnt sleep in after 8am, because the housemaid servicing the rooms around you were in and out of the rooms letting the doors slam closed onto the extended dead bolt bar, to prevent the door shutting, so it was a constant, bang... bang... bang... In the end I just got up.

Same for putting your "do not disturb" on, the staff would still knock on the door, or ring you up, so no getting an afternoon napp.

The checking in/checking out process was uneventful, staff almost mechanical. Dont get me wrong, they werent rude, they were efficient, did their job well, just not particularly welcoming.

Im a Platinum Ambassador member with this chain and see lots of hotels in the Intercontinental group, this is a great hotel, let down by the lack of that personal warm experience, like you get up the road at the Intercontinental Mark Hopkins.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Musclebearnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Dear Musclebearnz,

Thank you for your review regarding your experience. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention and apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced.

We strive to exceed our guests’ expectations and create memorable experiences. We take all feedback seriously. It helps us gauge what we are doing right and what we need to improve on and sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG.

Sincerely,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed here for three days and everything went to plan. The hotel is well located and it's easy to get to all the main tourist sites. There are some nice small restaurants around a 10-15 minute walk away. Our room was a good size on the 12th floor with a reasonable view. The TV picture was also nice and clear unlike a few places we stayed on this trip. The bathroom was a good size with excellent water pressure. Check in was friendly and pleasant and check out was incredibly efficient. The only downside was the occasional noise from the nearby fire station. We did not eat at the hotel or use any of the facilities. If I could get a room here for the same price again I would definitely stay here again, the only reason for not giving it a 5/5 is a slight lack of wow factor compared to other places we stayed at on this trip for roughly the same price. We were concerned about poor service due to previous reviewers mentioning Expedia guests were not given much love. We did not share this experience during our stay and all our staff interactions were positive.

Room Tip: As high a floor as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spymon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,804 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
#23 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#30 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#18 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,835 reviews
SoMa
The St. Regis San Francisco
The St. Regis San Francisco
#9 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#36 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental San Francisco

Property: InterContinental San Francisco
Address: 888 Howard Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,399 - ₹ 36,471
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental San Francisco 4.5*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental San Francisco is the Bay Area s newest upscale hotel destination. The 32-story glass tower sparkles high above the city, standing sentry over the South of Market (SoMa) area. The smoke-free hotel is convenient to everything, including the Moscone Convention Center, Union Square, Chinatown and the Powell Street Cable Car Turnaround. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your InterContinental San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing